We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good basic hotel”
Review of Samay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Samay Hotel
Ranked #101 of 171 Hotels in Cusco
Reviewed May 16, 2011

Me and my girlfriends stayed here for 4 nights total, 2 days before and after inca trail, and it's a good basic hotel, it came with our package with travel agent. We had triple bed rooms, the front desk were not vey knowledgeable about restaurants, but a good stay to rest

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank girlfromconway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (200)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

35 - 41 of 200 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2011

Front desk staff does not seem to grasp that leaking shower stalls flooding bathrooms with toilets make for a need for extra towels to prevent soggy carpets. Flooded rooms will eventually compromise ceiling plastering. It took a while, but I got my extra towels. I didn't want to change rooms in the middle of the night. The front desk guy felt I worried too much. Didn't think I needed extra towels.

But it is a nice location and inexpensive. Just check your shower as soon as you get in the room to make sure it doesn't leak out into the area you will be walkiong around in, like the floor.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissPriss234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2010

My friends and I stayed at the Samay Hotel for 5 nights. The hotel is situated on the main road that leads to the Main Plaza (Plaza de Armas), it's about a good 15 min walk to the Plaza from the hotel. If walking is an issue, a taxi ride to/from the Plaza is only 3 soles. Along the road to the Plaza, you'll find a lot of markets/shops.
The rooms are fairly sized and the beds are comfortable.
The breakfast provided daily was very good and the food was constantly replenished.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Cusco.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jetsetter_NYC2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2010

The hotel is pleasant enough, with clean rooms, linen and bathroom. Showers are good and hot, hairdryer and basic toiletries. Staff were helpful though the two way radio use between staff was loud and annoying at times. Breakfast was very good, plenty of variety and changes of hot selections on most days. However the hotel is a good 20 - 25 minute walk to the main Plaza (I am fit and only middle aged!). As many tours start in Cusco it is often used as a staging point to acclimatise to the altitude and this means that fit or not you are never sure if this is going to affect your ability to walk up hill to the main part of town. So just be aware. A good point is that the main handicraft market is opposite and has wonderful bargains, photo opportunities, and lovely locals to meet and bargain with.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glensy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2010

Stayed at the hotel for 3 nights. Friendly front desk. Rooms are basic but clean and functional. Have a breakfast every morning with plenty of choices. Close to Plaza de Armas. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel051659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2010

I very much enjoyed my stayed at the Samay; I was travelling alone through Cusco and have never felt safer.

The room was very clean, the room service was great, the mini fridge well stocked. The staff was very helpful, friendly and respectful. They woke me up every morning without fail, halied me cabs and gave great recommendations for dinner restaurants.

The heater worked perfectly - I had to call them though everynight for someone to come in and turn it on, which I didn't mind since I was sleeping quite toasty. The washroom was clean, had a blowdryer and running hotwater for very long hot showers/bath.

Their only down side is the location is about a 10-15 minutes walk to the main plaza, but it's an enjoyable walk plus it's on a very busy street Avenida Sol with throngs of locals and tourist milling about.
Wonderful place!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JastravelsToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2010

I would like to say that this hotel was Great for the price point. I don't understand why people would have anything bad to say unless they were inexperienced travelers. You get what you pay for, If you think Peru is like the Caribbean or Mexico, its not! If your not into roughing it a little go to a resort. Samay was Great!!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tskelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.6 mi away
San Agustin International Hotel
0.6 mi away
El Dorado San Agustin
El Dorado San Agustin
#47 of 171 in Cusco
487 reviews
0.8 mi away
Los Andes De America Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Suenos del Inka
Hotel Suenos del Inka
#48 of 171 in Cusco
316 reviews
1.0 mi away
San Francisco Plaza Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel Golden Inca
Hotel Golden Inca
#36 of 171 in Cusco
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samay Hotel

Address: Av. San Martin 206, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 171 Hotels in Cusco
Price Range: $87 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Samay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Samay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samay Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing