We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful food - worst waiter service of my life” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Divina Comedia Restaurant

Divina Comedia Restaurant
Ranked #100 of 687 Restaurants in Cusco
Price range: $5 - $50
Cuisines: French, Peruvian, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: We offer to the local, national and foreign customer the best dishes elaborated with high quality Andean-Peruvian ingredients mixed with touches of different countries flavors. Offering a personalized service with warmth. We are the exclusive and first restaurant "Divina Comedia" with lyrical song and Andean show and live piano. We use ingredient selected for its quality and traceability and the production of our totally BIO in Ollantatambo. Opens Monday to Saturday from 12:00 to 15:00 and 18:00 to 22:30 hrs. Areas and capacity: Hall: 60 people / Terrace: 12 people Bar: 40 people (Divino Pisco Bar)
BERMUDA
Level Contributor
191 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Beautiful food - worst waiter service of my life”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

This was restuarant in our hotel - our hotl restuarant. Service was by one waiter. He was plesant enough but seemed preoccupied with being somewhere else. Thechef had to ring several times for him before he would come. Although the 3 of us were his only customers he got an order wrong and that meal had tqo be made again. Not so much of a problem if you are feeling well, but my husband was suffering with altitude sickness and needed to simply eat and go to bed as quickly as possible. The waiter knew this, but was preoccupied and so got it wrong. Also the opera music was too loud and since we were the only customers, we asked if it could be turned off or the volume lowered. He didn't want to.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Summer88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Divina Comedia R, Gerente at Divina Comedia Restaurant, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
We regret that your stay at the hotel sufientemente not been so pleasant to taste.

I would like to remember that many passengers choose to ordering food to the room for which we have a room service, by the very fact of being not so comfortable to go to the hall of the restaurant.

If not staying at the hotel, there was the case, that many passengers were affected by altitude sickness were provided with appropriate assistance including oxygen.

We really misses his commentary on Gaston (the waiter that attended), which by the way is highly praised in reviews of other passengers.

Sorry its not so pleasant experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    233
    76
    17
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sylvania, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Adults and children were happy with our meals!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Our cousin brought us to this restaurant! Thank you Mario!!!!
We wanted to eat like at home....tired of eating out all week. The chefs prepared my children their favorite meals accomodating the ingredients to their needs. The meals were presented beautifully and most importantly the food tasted very delicious!
We spent a great night listening to excellent music!
P.S. The restaurant is very close to Plaza de Armas and the prices were good!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bea d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Divina Comedia R, Gerente at Divina Comedia Restaurant, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Bea D
Thank you so much for this beautiful comment, we are really happy you have enjoyed our classical music show and food. Certainly our location is basically one block uphill from Monasterio hotel.

We look forward to have you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston, Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Interesting place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

We came here thinking that it would be nice to hear some operatic singling. and a meal. We discovered that their singer had found another job. After arriving, the atmosphere turned out to be wonderful with a great selection of classical music. The food was wonderful (trout, lomo de Alpaca) and the service was spectacular.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelingClinton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Divina Comedia R, Gerente at Divina Comedia Restaurant, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear Clinton
We are very grateful for sharing this opinion, as well as are happy you have enjoyed our facilities and food. We are the only one restaurant in cusco that offers this type of show, with live singers and Piano. We are working better day after day for our lovely costumers like you, thank you so much for your recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colonial Quito
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“If only Dante was there too...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

For me...the most important aspect of the dining experience is atmosphere.....and this place has it all. We brought our tour group here for lunch and were not dissapointed. The place oooozzzzes with charm....set in a 300 year old mansion complete with gardens and inner courtyard. So European (the owner is French) yet so classical Spanish Colonial with a Peruvian twist. We were informed that we did not have the much anticipated Flamenco live music performance but were instead treated to a lovely young Peruvian Mezza Soprano and German piano player to treatises such as from Carmen and La Boheme...oh la la!!!!!!

We had the trout with potatos which only a Frenchman could make such a simple dish exotic. The wine was not expensive and niether the meal. The only chararcter missing was Beatrice herself...Dante would be proud. This was definately "Caelo et Terra".

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MATtheEXPAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Divina Comedia R, Gerente at Divina Comedia Restaurant, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear MATtheEXPAT

We are very grateful for sharing this opinion, as well as are happy you have enjoyed our facilities and food. We are the only one restaurant in cusco that offers this type of show, with live singers and Piano. We are working better day after day for our lovely costumers like you. Thank you so much for your recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bologna
Level Contributor
165 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“real positive surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Divina Comedia Restaurant is internal next door Hotel Arqueologo. It has been a surprise, after that we tried other restaurant in Cusco and delightful surprise. Strange thing: the hotel personnel didn't informed us about the internal option and I discovered the rate in Tripadvisor.
A pianist accompanied our dinner, served in a limited number of tables. From our appetizer to the dessert we was very satisfied. Excellent choices.
Wine selection absolutely good, including little size bottle.
A very good experience, with a reasonable pricing. Enjoy it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Grabitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Divina Comedia R, Gerente at Divina Comedia Restaurant, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Grabitaly
We are very grateful for sharing this opinion, as well as are happy you have enjoyed our facilities and food. We are the only one restaurant in cusco that offers this type of show, with live singers and Piano. We are working better day after day for our lovely costumers like you. Thank you so much for your recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Divina Comedia Restaurant also viewed

Cusco, Cusco Region
Cusco, Cusco Region
 
Cusco, Cusco Region
Cusco, Cusco Region
 

Been to Divina Comedia Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing