We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent Experience & Absolute 'must'”

PeruRail - Titicaca
Ranked #33 of 929 Tours in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Enjoy the beautiful Andean landscape of Peru on board of a luxury and magical way to travel between Cusco and the Lake Titicaca. Travelling in the PeruRail Titicaca Train is a unique experience, a route between mountains, clouds, snow-capped mountains and puna finishing in the majestic Lake Titicaca. Its coaches involve you in an environment extremely decorated with the elegant style of Pullman trains of the decade of 1920. Its tourist shows, the 5-fork lunch, dining cars, observatory-bar car outdoors, among other attractions.
Reviewed August 12, 2014

We used the Andean Explorer to cover the distance between Puno and Cusco on our way to Macchu Pichu. We were rather excited about it the day beforehand and we have to admit that all our exceptations were met. The trip was just wonderful.
The andean experience starts at check in where you are greeted by peruvian mucisians while the friendly staff went through check-in. Everything about check-in is smooth and quick including luggage handling.
Then you board the train. The train is picked out of an old picture book, mahogany interior, art deco details, winged armchair, tablecoths, fresh roses, ... The lot.
The train slowly makes its way out of Puno and then hits the Altiplano. Always at a pace of between 50 to 60 km, sometimes, unforeseen, stopping, which gives you a good possibilty to take the scenery in.
Our guide adviced us to be in the vista waggon by the time the train crossed the city of Juliaca as the train would cross the market street. We shot some of the most beautiful pictures there. The train indeed cuts the market in two in a very narrow street. You can literally touch the goods from aboard the train. People sheer and wave at the train enthusiasticaly.
After a light breakfast of coffee and muesli, in the bar waggon, there's a music show and complimentary pisco's before it's time for lunch. Now, in all honesty, apart from the experience of dining in such beautiful surroundings, the food is nothing special and neither is the tea and bellini's in the late afternoon. Then, that's not what it is all about I guess.
The staff, without exception, is great. Some of them even showing some dance skills while the band is playing.
At la Gaya, half way, the train stops. Here both trains interchange and outside there is a small market of weaving and knitting articles ... Ofcourse !
Everywhere there's an interchange, the train needs to stop as tracks are changed manually. Be prepared for people selling their goods at the vista car. (These moments give you however equally the time to reflect how some of us can afford to travel like this and others need to live a life that is much harder ...)
The train then makes it way to the ever more dramatic scenery of the Andes, partly while the sun sets to reach Cusco in darkness. Turning the antique waggons into something extremely cosy.
Nearlyeleven hours on a train, the old sound and rocking of the train on the rails, the horn to get people and animals of the track, ... Wonderfull and you would not at all have thought it took so long. If international flights could only have part of the charm and entertainment ...
We were seated in waggon A, adjacent to the vista waggon, and from the constant passing of people and camera's to and from the vista waggon, I think I can say we were not the only ones that thought this experience to be great.
We are looking forward to a similar experience from Cusco to Macchu Picchu on the Hiram Bingham Train in a few days

4  Thank Antwerpengl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeruRail, Community Manager at PeruRail - Titicaca, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Dear Mr. / Mrs. Antwerpengl,
It is a pleasure for us to receive your feedback and we would like to special thank you for sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community and us. We are very happy to hear that you had a unique and unforgettable experience aboard the Andean Explorer train and that you enjoyed the journey to its fullest. We appreciate your double preference with PeruRail and we wish a fantastic and incredible journey aboard the Hiram Bingham train.
Best regards,
The Andean Explorer Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,949)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

621 - 625 of 1,949 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2014

Our journey from Puno to Cusco took 11 hours but they passed very comfortably. This is old style Pullman service. Our seats were wooden wing back armchairs. We had a dining table with tablecloth, rose in a vase and a brass table lamp. All was dark, varnished wood, even in the luxurious loo. We left Puno promptly at 8 am. We were served a late breakfast, a decent lunch and afternoon tea. Tea, coffee and wine were served with the meals and everyone was given a complementary pisco sour. At the rear of the train the observation car was great as we could sit or stand and watch the Andean countryside pass by slowly, the average speed was around 25 mph. A slight annoyance was the inevitable pan pipes band and a truly dreadful 'fashion show' but overall the journey was good. Arriving in Cusco at around 7 pm we collected our luggage which had been carried in the luggage van and then laid out on the platform, all clearly and efficiently tagged and checked. A good, relaxing way to travel through the Peruvian countryside.

5  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeruRail, Community Manager at PeruRail - Titicaca, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Dear Mr. Chris H,
Thank you for sharing your feedback with our community and also for traveling with us on this occasion. We are glad to hear that you had a comfortable and enjoyable journey aboard the Andean Explorer train; however, we would like to inform you that we are not allowed to go faster due to regulations of the company that manages the rail tracks to assure a safe journey for all our passengers. We hope to see you one more time having another wonderful journey with us and enjoying the beautiful scenery of the Peruvian Andes.
Best regards,
The Andean Explorer Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2014

This was a really worthwhile part of our itinerary. The trip takes 10 hours, leaving at about 8am. We had seats in the dining car and I was actually surprised by the level of service. The seats were luxurious and the food excellent. We had a light breakfast after departure and delicious lunch and afternoon tea later. Very high quality service and plenty to see during the trip, with ever-changing landscapes and views. The staff even gave a fashion show and a demonstration of the making of a perfect Pisco Sour cocktail - free samples too!!. There are a couple of stops on the way too, for those who like to shop for bargains like alpaca hats or sweaters.

Travel by rail is a great way to see what's going on in a country and this one had an observation car at the rear so it was possible to get really good camera shots or just relax and take in the scenery. Wonderful and highly recommended.

2  Thank McClos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeruRail, Community Manager at PeruRail - Titicaca, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Dear Mr. / Mrs. McClos,
We would like to thank you for choosing PeruRail as your travel option and also for sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community and us. We are glad to hear that you had an outstanding and enjoyable journey aboard the Andean Explorer train and that you also had the opportunity to admire the incredible scenery along the way. We hope to see you soon for a new and exciting adventure aboard our trains.
Best regards,
The Andean Explorer Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Nice train. Weird food. Not very fast. Actually, painfully slow...
But, hey! You gotta get there, right?

1  Thank m14mia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeruRail, Community Manager at PeruRail - Titicaca, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2014

Dear Mr. / Mrs. m14mia,
Thank you for sharing your feedback with our community and also for traveling with us aboard the Andean Explorer train. We apologize for not having met your expectations on this occasion and we would like to inform you that we are not allowed to go faster due to regulations of the company that manages the rail tracks in order to have a smooth and safe journey for all our passengers. We really hope this will not be the last time to have you aboard our trains.
Best regards,
The Andean Explorer Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

The Andean Explorer is a classically restored old train which meanders between Cusco & Puno. To really enjoy the trip it is a must to spend some time in the observation carriage & enjoy the welcome drinks - Pisco Sour & the traditional music & dancing. There is also a fashion parade & lessons on how to make Pisco Sour! A very relaxed way to spend a day. Sure it is more expensive that taking a bus but it is well worth it. Enjoy!

1  Thank Michelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeruRail, Community Manager at PeruRail - Titicaca, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

Dear Mrs. Michelle K,
We are very pleased to hear that you had a wonderful experience aboard the Andean Explorer train and that you enjoyed the journey from start to finish. We would like to thank you for choosing us as your travel option to visit Puno and also for sharing your experience with our community. We hope to see you soon aboard our trains.
Best regards,
The Andean Explorer Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed PeruRail - Titicaca also viewed

 

Been to PeruRail - Titicaca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing