We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable”
Review of PeruRail Titicaca

PeruRail Titicaca
Book In Advance
Book a Tour
Ranked #28 of 878 Tours in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Type: Rail Tours, Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Enjoy the beautiful Andean landscape of Peru on board of a luxury and magical way to travel between Cusco and the Lake Titicaca. Travelling in the PeruRail Titicaca Train is a unique experience, a route between mountains, clouds, snow-capped mountains and puna finishing in the majestic Lake Titicaca. Its coaches involve you in an environment extremely decorated with the elegant style of Pullman trains of the decade of 1920. Its tourist shows, the 5-fork lunch, dining cars, observatory-bar car outdoors, among other attractions.
Lancs UK
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Unforgettable”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Lonely planet says don't waste your money on this trip...NONSENSE...this is an unforgettable experience.five star luxury..cocktails..lunch..afternoon tea..fashion show..dance and music exhibition and scenery to die for. Room to move around..an observation car..a separate bar area.It is not cheap but is worth every penny.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank wheeler1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeruRail, Community Manager at PeruRail Titicaca, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Mr. wheeler1945,
It is an honor to receive your comments and we are glad to know that we have exceeded your expectations. We are very happy to hear that you had a wonderful and unforgettable experience aboard the Andean Explorer train, and also that you enjoyed the journey from start to finish. Thank you, once again, for choosing PeruRail on this occasion and we really hope this will not be the last time to have you aboard our trains.
Best regards,
The Andean Explorer Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,931 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,189
    417
    162
    68
    95
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Easiest 10 hour train ride you'll ever take-- a great experience”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We took the Andean Explorer Train between Puno and Cusco and it was a GREAT experience. Instead of feeling like we lost a day of our trip in transport, we felt like we had spent the day on a tour. The train itself is lovely, outfitted like something out of an old movie, with wood paneling and details. The seats are quite comfortable.

The day is designed to keep the traveler interested. From live music in the station lobby, to dining service and activities schedule throughout the day (live music, dancing, a cocktail class, etc), There's an open viewing car in back where you can take in the spectacular scenery. Really a delight.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jessica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeruRail, Community Manager at PeruRail Titicaca, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Mrs. Jmagic73,
It is a pleasure to receive your comments and we are very happy to know that you had a wonderful experience aboard the Andean Explorer train. We are glad that you enjoyed the journey to its fullest and that you liked all the services we offer on board. We would like to thank you for choosing PeruRail as your travel option on this occasion and for taking the time to share your feedback with the Trip Advisor community and us. We hope we can have you back for another amazing adventure in Peru.
Best regards,
The Andean Explorer Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
1 review
“Vert good staff ni Pérou rail”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Thank you very much a henry, mirla, and Pablo for their smile and positive energy !! Good trio for us ni thaïs train ! Claire and lucie (the 2 french tourist)

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Claire18075015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Wonderful views, nice service”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Pricey but worth the money (note that the ride is much cheaper in the Puno-Cuzco direction). The train has coaches with restaurant seating and a carriage at the end, which is half bar--half viewing platform (open-air platform at the end -- wonderful on sunny days).

The ride is slow and very bumpy. The service is good, the food adequate. Drinks not included (some wine available with lunch).

The journey is doable in a mechanical wheelchair. The staff proved accommodating. The easiest way is to spend the ride in the lounge car (with the added bonus of an easy access to the viewing platform) because the restaurant cars have no space for wheelchairs, which necessitates transferring to the fixed-position restaurant seating at tables.

Beware that the door to the lounge carriage is very narrow. The door to the restaurant carriage is somewhat wider, but the passage between different carriages is narrow again. Most wheelchairs will not fit through, and wheelchair-bound passengers will need to be carried through.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank kratky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeruRail, Community Manager at PeruRail Titicaca, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Mr. kratky,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your travel experience aboard the Andean Explorer train and we are glad to know that you had an enjoyable journey traveling with PeruRail. We hope we can have you back for another great adventure aboard our trains.
Best regards,
The Andean Explorer Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina del Rey, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Machupicchu was amazing!”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

The food the train served was horrible. The people were overall nice. The tour guide we were given spoke mostly Spanish and was very crowded. The views were amazing. I really enjoyed the trip to Cuzco, Peru

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jag1sr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed PeruRail Titicaca also viewed

 
Cusco, Cusco Region
 

Been to PeruRail Titicaca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing