We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely Take The Train”

PeruRail Andean Explorer
Book In Advance
Book a Tour
Ranked #17 of 803 Tours in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Type: Rail Tours, Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Enjoy the beautiful Andean landscape of Peru on board of a luxury and magical way to travel between Cusco and the Lake Titicaca. Travelling in the Andean Explorer is a unique experience, a route between mountains, clouds, snow-capped mountains and puna finishing in the majestic Lake Titicaca. Its coaches involve you in an environment extremely decorated with the elegant style of Pullman trains of the decade of 1920. Its tourist shows, the 5-fork lunch, dining cars, observatory-bar car outdoors, among other attractions.
Manchester
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Definitely Take The Train”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Reading some of the negative reviews here, we were really in two minds as to whether to take the bus or train. Luckily, we opted for the train - it was a fabulous day. The scenery is great; perfect leisurely speed; and a real luxury feel to the carriage - which was not full so we could shift seats. Staff were lovely, and the fashion shows, Andean band, bar demonstrations, etc are all held in the observation car, so you are not disturbed by them unless you want to be. The train and service ran a bit late but if you're a stickler for absolute punctuality, then you're on the wrong train and the wrong continent. Holidays are for relaxing and this was perfection - reading, taking photos, playing cards, staring at mountains, and continuous at-table service. Our travelling companions took the bus. They got to Cusco 30 minutes before us, and missed out on one of the best rail journeys in the world.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Dashworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeruRail, Community Manager at PeruRail Andean Explorer, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Mr. / Mrs. Dashworld,
We feel very proud to hear that you had an amazing travel experience aboard the Andean Explorer train and that you enjoyed the journey to its fullest. We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments and recommendations with the Trip Advisor community, and also for choosing PeruRail as your travel option in this opportunity. We hope we can have you back for another wonderful adventure in Cusco travelling with PeruRail.
Best regards,
The Andean Explorer Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,371 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    943
    263
    103
    33
    29
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Memorable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

We had some apprehension on travelling on a train for 10 hours.Boarding in Cusco we were allocated settee style seating with a table.The chairs are very comfortable and the interior of the train creates a relaxed atmosphere. Our apprehension had soon passed as we took advantage of the observation car to view the stunning scenery. Passing through towns and villages the friendliness of the people waving at the train was great. Service was excellent, the staff although limited, appeared to have a set routine when serving meals which worked well. During the journey we were given a fashion show, dancing, music and shown how to make a Pisco sour. With these activities the time was broken up really well and it proved to be a most memorable journey. Would recommend this trip without any hesitation.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Nigel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeruRail, Community Manager at PeruRail Andean Explorer, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Mr. / Mrs. Nigel G,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments and recommendations with the Trip Advisor community and we are glad to hear that you had a memorable journey aboard the Andean Explorer train. It is a pleasure to know that we have fulfilled your travel expectations, as we work really hard to achieve this goal. We hope we can have you back for another wonderful adventure with PeruRail and with all that Peru has to offer.
Best regards,
The Andean Explorer Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pune
Level Contributor
170 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Out of the world experience - remember to keep your camera ready !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Wow !! We had such a great time from macchu picchu to uranbamba - in Peru !!
The service in the train is awesome !! Great snacks and coffee !! Ad the view as the train rolls to destination is fabulous. Remember to keep your camera ready , !!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rekha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nagasaki, Japan
Level Contributor
91 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Panoramic view on the way to Machu Picchu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

This train has transparent roof so you can see the Andes cordillera on one side and the river and some Inca ruins on the other side. The staff is friendly and they serve you refreshments and a sandwich on the way.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Martha N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
94 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Travel in time and luxury”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

What a fantastic way to discover the vast highlands between Cusco and Lake Titicaca! I loved it! From the minute you step into the train with its Orient Express wood design you know you are in for a wonderful trip. The 10-11 hour trip is expensive compared to other transportation means in Peru, however it is really worth it. You will see nature change between the different micro-climatic zones of Peru with a peak at 4300 meters above sea level! The train is comfortable, however be sure you ask the attendants at the station before embarking if you have a seat that is adjacent to main doors- this brings in cold breeze in winter and is simply annoying!
I also recommend bringing some snacks since the first meal served is about six hours after leaving Cusco, depending on where you are seated. I was sitting towards the last wagon and I was served food more than one hour after the advertised time. The other meal is supposed to be tea time however this arrived as we were arriving to Puno. The staff is excellent, but I felt that they were overworked and for the entire duration of the trip they were literally running around the wagons to ensure everyone is being served. Why are there not more people hired, given the steep price of the tickets? Some of the passengers were annoyed by the slow service, but I just admired how much a few attendants could do in one wagon and continue to smile.
Some of the highlights of the trip include watching nature from the back wagon's observatory deck- it is a wonderful experience. Another big moment was entering some of the towns just before Puno where you go right through markets.
Time passed by very fast and I would highly recommend this voyage. The only improvement required is for the service on board to improve.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Flying M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeruRail, Community Manager at PeruRail Andean Explorer, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Mr. / Mrs. FlyingM,
We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your journey travelling aboard the Andean Explorer train and that you had a fantastic experience. In PeruRail, we work hard constantly to improve the quality of our service, because our passengers are very important to usOnce again, thank you for your preference with PeruRail and also for your feedback and time to share it with the Trip Advisor community and us. We hope we can have you back aboard our trains.
Best regards,
The Andean Explorer Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed PeruRail Andean Explorer also viewed

 
Cusco, Cusco Region
 

Been to PeruRail Andean Explorer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing