We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time passed very quickly”

PeruRail - Titicaca
Ranked #100 of 987 Tours in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Enjoy the beautiful Andean landscape of Peru on board of a luxury and magical way to travel between Cusco and the Lake Titicaca. Travelling in the PeruRail Titicaca Train is a unique experience, a route between mountains, clouds, snow-capped mountains and puna finishing in the majestic Lake Titicaca. Its coaches involve you in an environment extremely decorated with the elegant style of Pullman trains of the decade of 1920. Its tourist shows, the 5-fork lunch, dining cars, observatory-bar car outdoors, among other attractions.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

This was a pleasant surprise. The food was very good although it wasn't red hot but when you consider where you are not a problem. Wine was good and the coffees. Most people seemed to have problems with their bills. Worth have cash to pay.

Thank Montgomery16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeruRail, Community Manager at PeruRail - Titicaca, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Dear Mr. / Mrs. Montgomery16,

Thank you for your comments and for sharing your experience travelling aboard the Andean Explorer train. The route Cuzco – Puno is one of the best journeys by train of the world, and we work so hard to maintain the high quality in the service to create unforgettable ​journeys for our passengers.
We hope to see you on board again.​ ​
Best regards,

The Andean Explorer Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,984)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"andean explorer"
in 161 reviews
"observation car"
in 167 reviews
"train ride"
in 113 reviews
"fashion show"
in 132 reviews
"peru rail"
in 91 reviews
"orient express"
in 65 reviews
"hour journey"
in 52 reviews
"lunch and afternoon tea"
in 24 reviews
"observation deck"
in 22 reviews
"la raya"
in 29 reviews
"highest point"
in 52 reviews
"viewing carriage"
in 14 reviews
"comfortable armchairs"
in 12 reviews
"bar car"
in 47 reviews
"market stalls"
in 14 reviews
"stretch your legs"
in 13 reviews
"waiting room"
in 25 reviews
Filter

840 - 844 of 1,984 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2013

Taking this train was the highlight of my trip. It's an amazing experience! Indescribable feeling of riding slowly through the Andes just observing life in the rural areas, the crazy small not touristic cities and the beautiful, breathtaking sceneries that change gradually from Cusco to Puno. There's only one, 10 minute stop in La Raya (4000m altitude) and the whole ride lasts 10 hours. It seems long, but it's surely not long enough. Specially if you stay most of the time on the back panoramic wagon. Food is OK and some of the on board attractions can get a bit annoying. Staff is very nice and helpful. I don't think there are rides everyday, but make sure to plan your trip so you can take this train. Unforgettable!

1  Thank MariaChapini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeruRail, Community Manager at PeruRail - Titicaca, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear Mrs. MariaChapini,

We are very happy to know that you had a wonderful experience aboard the Andean Explorer train and that you had the chance to admire the incredible scenery we have along the way. We appreciate you taking the time to share your opinion regarding our service with the Trip Advisor community and us. All our services are thought to offer the best possible service to create unforgettable experiences for all our passengers and we are glad we have fulfilled all your travel expectations in this opportunity. We hope this will not be the last time to have you aboard our trains.

Sincerely,

The Andean Explorer Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

My wife and I travelled from Puno to Cusco on the Andean Explorer this June and considered this train an highlight of the trip to Peru!
Be prepared to step back in time travelling at low speed on an 1919 beautifully restored train. You will pay around US150.00 for the trip one way but this includes lunch, with a glass of wine and an afternoon tea. You simply won´t notice the 10 hours ride. We spent most of the time on the observation car and the changing landscape is stunning. Last but not least there two shows of andean music, a fashion show and a lesson on how to make a Pisco Sauer. Please do not miss this ride!!

2  Thank Murilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeruRail, Community Manager at PeruRail - Titicaca, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear Mr. Murilo,

It is a pleasure to receive your feedback and we are very happy to know that you had an incredible experience aboard the Andean Explorer train. We put all our effort to provide with a quality and first class service all the time and because all our passengers deserve a special care for an exceptional journey. We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments with the Trip Advisor community and for choosing PeruRail as your travel option in this opportunity. We hope we can have you back for another adventure and with all that Peru has to offer.

Best regards,

The Andean Explorer Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I didn't get enough time to book the trail but the train, particularly in daylight, is stunning. A fantastic few hours to sight see on the way to MP.
I travelled in this train and the class below on the way back. There was almost no difference.

1  Thank Angela A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeruRail, Community Manager at PeruRail - Titicaca, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear Mrs. Angela A,

We would like to thank you for your comments and recommendations and also for taking the time to share them with the Trip Advisor community. We are glad to know that you enjoyed the journey aboard the Andean Explorer train and that you had a great time. We are always working to offer our passengers an excellent service with all the comfort and entertainment they deserve for a special adventure like this one. We hope we can have you back soon.

Best regards,

The Andean Explorer Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed June 19, 2013

This train ride was like stepping into the past, when train travel was an event! Your sit in real chairs, at a table set with linens. The food was tasty and everyone was nice. Those who chose to read or even slept, but many of us chose to spend much of the time in the club car (where free Pisco Sours started flowing at 10 a.m!) The last car was open and what an amazing place to stand and take photos. I took so many my battery went by mid day and I had to switch to my phone camera! Midway through you stop for ten minutes and get out, where locals have a small market filled with beautiful goods to buy (with a 14,500 ft snow capped mountain in the background). There were musicians who played (in the club car), dancers, a fashion show and a pisco sour making demonstrations. Lots of us got friendly and had fun passing time in the last two cars. Nine hours flew by...sadly it was already dark as we went by Lake Titicaca, but the lake was still there in the morning!

Dealing with PeruRail from the US is challenging, but I'm so glad I persevered and got this train trip scheduled. So much fun and such a great experience.

1  Thank lslewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeruRail, Community Manager at PeruRail - Titicaca, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear Mrs. Islewis,

We are glad to know that you had a very good experience aboard the Andean Explorer train and that you enjoyed the journey. All our services are thought to offer our passengers a unique and unforgettable experience so they can relax and have fun along the way, especially in a 10-hour journey. We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments with the Trip Advisor community and also for choosing PeruRail as your travel option in this opportunity. We hope we can have you back for another adventure with us and with all that Peru has to offer.

Best regards,

The Andean Explorer Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed PeruRail - Titicaca also viewed

 

Been to PeruRail - Titicaca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing