We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb views”

PeruRail - Titicaca
Ranked #32 of 927 Tours in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Enjoy the beautiful Andean landscape of Peru on board of a luxury and magical way to travel between Cusco and the Lake Titicaca. Travelling in the PeruRail Titicaca Train is a unique experience, a route between mountains, clouds, snow-capped mountains and puna finishing in the majestic Lake Titicaca. Its coaches involve you in an environment extremely decorated with the elegant style of Pullman trains of the decade of 1920. Its tourist shows, the 5-fork lunch, dining cars, observatory-bar car outdoors, among other attractions.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We had paid well over £100 to travel on the Andean Explorer rather than the coach from Cusco to Puno and was slightly dissappointed. Whilst the ambience was excellent and you can see that it is owned by the Orient Express company the service did not match. The carriage was very comfortable with excellent views and at the rear of the train was a bar and a great viewing area. Unfortunately the staff seemed chaotic, the lunch which was announced to be served at 1.00pm finally started at 2.30pm. Afternoon tea due to served at 4.00pm arrived at 5.45pm but fortunately instead of arriving at Puno at 6.00pm it was almost 7.00pm or else we would have had to take the tea off the train with us! Lunch, whilst well presented, was not hot. The staff seemed more interested in trying to sort out everyones extras bill towards the end of the trip and did not seem to have a system to identify what each table had had. However overall the views across the Andean Plain made up for the disappointment although whether I would pay the extra again is doubtful.

1  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeruRail, Community Manager at PeruRail - Titicaca, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear Mr. David G,

We would like to apologize for the inconvenience with our service in your journey from Cusco to Puno aboard the Andean Explorer train, because our passengers are our priority and fulfilling their travel needs and expectations is why we work really hard every day. We appreciate very much taking the time to share your experience with the Trip Advisor community and us, in order to take the corrective actions to provide an excellent service all the time. We are glad to know that you enjoyed the scenery we have along the way, as is one of the highlights of the journey. Thank you for choosing PeruRail as your travel option in this opportunity and we are always at your service.

Sincerely,

The Andean Explorer Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,949)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

839 - 843 of 1,949 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2013

This is a must. Don't travel Cusco to Puno by ramshackle buses if you can avoid it. The distances are huge; the scenery dull; the toilets few and far between! The Andean Explorer is the way to go, even at 10 hours long.
The level of service, in the midst of the usual level of none, is remarkable. Smartly-dressed staff serve the lunch (only moderately good), afternoon tea and drinks at the bar, while you can leave your comfy armchair seat and listen to the live band while drinking your Pisco Sour and watching the Altiplano roll by from the open-ended observation car. It costs, but it's worth it, really.

1  Thank Retyree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeruRail, Community Manager at PeruRail - Titicaca, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Dear Mr. / Mrs. Retyree,

Thank you very much for your comments and recommendations and for taking the time to share them with the Trip Advisor community. We are glad to know that you had an amazing time aboard the Andean Explorer train and that you enjoyed the journey. All our services are thought to provide an excellent service with all the comfort and entertainment for a special journey like this one. Once again, thank you for choosing PeruRail and we hope we can have you back again soon.

Best regards,

The Andean Explorer Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

This is typical of the Orient Express. Travel in comfort and elegance accompanied by good food, excellent service and original entertainment.

The train boarded from 7:30am and departed Pno at 8:00am. The journey to Cuzco took 9 hours but the scenery was interesting and often extremely beautiful. Initially the train slowly travels through the streets of Puno; then skirts Lake Titicaca before reaching Juliaca. The next phase crosses the Andean Altoplain reaching the high point at La Reya for a short stop and opportunity to stretch your legs before the descent down to Cuzco through more fertile valleys.

During the trip we were entertained in the Bar Car by two Andean Folk Groups with dancers; a Fashion Show and a demonstration on how to make a Pisco Sour. The Lunch was brilliant and there was a small snack served before arrival in Cuzco.

We loved the whole experience.

1  Thank LadyMolestrangler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeruRail, Community Manager at PeruRail - Titicaca, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Dear Mrs. LadyMolestrangler,

We would like to thank you for your feedback and also for taking the time to share it with the Trip Advisor community. We are glad to know that you had a memorable experience aboard the Andean Explorer train and that you enjoyed the journey. Once again, thank you for your preference with PeruRail and we hope we can have you back again soon.

Best regards,

The Andean Explorer Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

What a delightful train trip!

This 10-hour journey between Cusco and Puno on Lake Titicaca is wonderful. The train is decorated and styled in early 20th century motif. It's very comfortable with seats taking the form of real armchairs. There is lots of glass in the cars to allow for great viewing of the scenery. There is a bar car that is combined with a viewing platform at the end of the train.

Price includes a very good lunch with wine as well as entertainment, a fashion show, and drink-mixing lessons.

One stop midway at over 4000 meters altitude allowed guests to take photos and view local crafts and people.

The train - as all Peruvian trains are - was very punctual and departed and arrived perfectly on time. Staff were cordial and friendly.

Highly recommended trip.

2  Thank Doug M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeruRail, Community Manager at PeruRail - Titicaca, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Dear Mr. Doug M,

We really appreciate taking the time to share your experience aboard the Andean Explorer train with the Trip Advisor community. We would like to thank you for your preference with PeruRail and we hope we can have you back again for another great adventure in the Peruvian Andes.

Sincerely,

The Andean Explorer Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We had a great time traveling form Punos to Cusco by train. Although 10 hours, it flew by. The staff was superbe, the food great and the view breathtaking. Between the live music, fashion show, bartending classes to learn how to make Pesco, and the stop with the locals to look at their crafts and alpaca, we never had a dull minute. The observation deck was perfect to take photos and mingle with other passengers. The head conductor was great at keeping things flowing and ontime. The staff was very yprofessional and courteous. We would easlly do it again anytime.

1  Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeruRail, Community Manager at PeruRail - Titicaca, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Dear Mrs. Donna M,

It is a pleasure to receive your comments and we are glad to know that you had a wonderful time aboard the Andean Explorer train. We are always working to provide all our passengers an excellent service so they can have a “once in a lifetime” adventure with us. We feel very proud that we fulfilled your travel needs and expectations in this opportunity. We would like to thank you for choosing PeruRail as your travel option and we hope we can have you back again soon.

Best regards,

The Andean Explorer Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed PeruRail - Titicaca also viewed

 

Been to PeruRail - Titicaca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing