We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A look to the past”

PeruRail - Titicaca
Ranked #110 of 1,016 Tours in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Enjoy the beautiful Andean landscape of Peru on board of a luxury and magical way to travel between Cusco and the Lake Titicaca. Travelling in the PeruRail Titicaca Train is a unique experience, a route between mountains, clouds, snow-capped mountains and puna finishing in the majestic Lake Titicaca. Its coaches involve you in an environment extremely decorated with the elegant style of Pullman trains of the decade of 1920. Its tourist shows, the 5-fork lunch, dining cars, observatory-bar car outdoors, among other attractions.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

The rail trip is a lovely was to travel from Cusco to Puno and vice versa. Lunch and teatime was included, not to mention a pisco sour after the demonstration. The car was comfortable and a unique was to spend a relaxing day traveling.

Thank Ztriptaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeruRail, Community Manager at PeruRail - Titicaca, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear Mr. Ztriptaker,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments with the Trip Advisor community. We are glad to know that you had a wonderful time aboard the Andean Explorer train and that you liked our service. We are continuously working to provide all our passengers with an excellent service, with all the comfort and entertainment they expect in a special journey like this one. Once again, thank you for your preference with PeruRail and we hope we can have you back again soon.

Best regards,

The Andean Explorer Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,994)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"andean explorer"
in 161 reviews
"observation car"
in 167 reviews
"train ride"
in 113 reviews
"fashion show"
in 132 reviews
"peru rail"
in 91 reviews
"orient express"
in 65 reviews
"hour journey"
in 52 reviews
"lunch and afternoon tea"
in 24 reviews
"observation deck"
in 22 reviews
"la raya"
in 29 reviews
"highest point"
in 52 reviews
"viewing carriage"
in 14 reviews
"comfortable armchairs"
in 12 reviews
"bar car"
in 47 reviews
"market stalls"
in 14 reviews
"stretch your legs"
in 13 reviews
"waiting room"
in 25 reviews
Filter

882 - 886 of 1,995 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2013

Scenic ride and very comfy with breakfast in the morning and a snack in the afternoon plus staff modeling sweaters to buy on the way back to Cusco and tradiitonal Peruvian music playing.

Note that during the rainy season you have to take a bus for half the way.

Thank Poleinahole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeruRail, Community Manager at PeruRail - Titicaca, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Dear Mrs. poleinahole1,

Thank you very much for your feedback and for taking the time to share your experience with our community. It is a pleasure that you had a great time with PeruRail trains and that you liked our service. We want to thank you for your preference with PeruRail and we hope this will not be the last time to have you aboard of our trains to enjoy a pleasant and comfortable journey.

Best regards,

The PeruRail Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We took the Andean Explorer from Puno to Cusco, and headed to the station a little apprehensive of a 10 hour train journey.  The minute we got to the station we were blown away, Peru Rail have this route perfected. The events, staff, services, and food were all excellent. The scenery on route is amazing; from the edge of Lake Titicaca up through the hills to Cusco.

A three course lunch is included (with wine), as well as an afternoon snack. Breakfasts and burgers, teas and coffees are available at extra charge. Large luggage is taken into the luggage carriage, so the passenger carriages are uncluttered. There is also an observation / bar carriage at the rear of the train where you can watch the scenery go by with Pisco Sour in hand. Bathrooms are clean, and there is a short tourist market stop on route in case you need to stretch your legs a bit.

Recommend this journey to everyone, this journey was one of the highlights of our time in Peru.

Definitely try to get a seat away from the ends of the carriage, and in the carriage closest to the bar.

1  Thank GilbertoAndJorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeruRail, Community Manager at PeruRail - Titicaca, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Dear Mr. GilbertoAndJorge,

We are glad you enjoyed your journey and that you had the time to share your comments and recommendations with the Trip Advisor community. It is a pleasure for us to know that you felt comfortable and spent a good time traveling with us. We want to thank you for choosing PeruRail as your travel option in this opportunity and we hope to see you soon aboard our trains and admire​ the amazing Peruvian Andes.

Best regards,

The Andean Explorer Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

What a trip: first class all the way from the food, service, bar, entertainment and cocktail making demonstration. I was even given a present as I got off.

Thank Valerie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeruRail, Community Manager at PeruRail - Titicaca, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Dear Mrs. Valerie K,

We are glad you had a very positive experience in the Andean Explorer train and also that you enjoyed our service. All our services are thought to provide our passengers all the comfort and relax they need for this kind of adventure so we contribute a little to make their experience unforgettable for them. We want to thank you for your feedback and for choosing PeruRail. We hope we can have you again soon.

Best regards,

The Andean Explorer Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

This was one of the highlights of my trip to Peru. The scenery was fantastic and the viewing carriage superb for making the best of all that was on offer. The food and drink are expensive as although lunch and tea are included in the price, during a 10 hour journey, you will want more to drink. The toilets were among the best in Peru!

Thank Yvonnenetball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeruRail, Community Manager at PeruRail - Titicaca, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Dear Mrs. Yvonnenetball,

It is a pleasure to receive your comments and we are happy to know that you had an amazing experience aboard the Andean Explorer train. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and recommendations with our community and for choosing PeruRail as your travel option in this opportunity. We hope we can have you back again for another great adventure and with all that Peru has to offer.

Sincerely,

The Andean Explorer Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed PeruRail - Titicaca also viewed

 

Been to PeruRail - Titicaca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing