We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great way to travel from Puno”

PeruRail Titicaca Train
Ranked #27 of 858 Tours in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Type: Rail Tours, Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Enjoy the beautiful Andean landscape of Peru on board of a luxury and magical way to travel between Cusco and the Lake Titicaca. Travelling in the PeruRail Titicaca Train is a unique experience, a route between mountains, clouds, snow-capped mountains and puna finishing in the majestic Lake Titicaca. Its coaches involve you in an environment extremely decorated with the elegant style of Pullman trains of the decade of 1920. Its tourist shows, the 5-fork lunch, dining cars, observatory-bar car outdoors, among other attractions.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“great way to travel from Puno”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

10 hours of old worldly orient express style travel.
food was good, some light entertainment and amazing views.
Early morning start, and pulled into Cusco as it got dark, but we were well rested.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Davidfromireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeruRail, Community Manager at PeruRail Titicaca Train, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Mr. Davidfromireland,

We are happy to know that you had a great time aboard the Andean Explorer train returning back to Cusco and we are glad that you enjoyed the ride. The route Puno to Cusco is one of the most amazing ones and it is even better if you have a pleasant trip where you can combine good food, on board entertainment and an excellent service. We want to thank you for your comments and hope we see you soon for another unforgettable experience with PeruRail.

Sincerely,
The Andean Explorer Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,926 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,186
    417
    162
    68
    93
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico
1 review
“Great service and super entertaining”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Upon our return to Cusco from Aguascalientes, we were exhausted. All we wanted to do was sleep, but to our surprise, there was a "fashion show" scheduled to go on during the train ride. The crew members were the models and needless to say, they were hilarious! They made us laugh, dance and forget how tired we were earlier that day. Hands down, best service we received throughout our trip.

Our crew were Milagros, Victor and Wilberth...Thanks guys! Keep up the good work!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gaby0915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fun and Beautiful Day in Peru”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

This was quite an experience. Takes the whole day and is certainly an adventure. While you can fly/taxi in 2 hours...this longer trip lets you relax and see the entire countryside on a safe, comfortable and relaxing train ride. A few stops along the way, a delicious meal, first class service and some on board entertainment make the day seem more like an attraction than traveling. Rear car is open for great views and fresh air while you ride. Only thing is we wished the train could have gone a bit faster at times through the open country to cut down on the 10 hours.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Jay K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeruRail, Community Manager at PeruRail Titicaca Train, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Mr. Jay K,

We are delighted you had a wonderful day travelling with us aboard the Andean Explorer train. We are very happy to know that we contributed to making your day and we want to thank you for sharing your feedback with our community. We hope to see you back soon and we are always at your service.

Sincerely,
The Andean Explorer Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ohio
Level Contributor
110 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Amazing scenery and great service”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

The Perurail train station was one of the best buildings we were in on our trip. It was comfortable, clean and efficient. The train ride travelled through diverse, beautiful scenery from green farmland to mountains to jungle. Along with this beautiful ride we were treated to a meal served on colorful table clothes with real china and silverware. It was a relaxing, very enjoyable trip with some of the most georgeous scenery we had ever seen.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank onthegoCincinnati_OH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeruRail, Community Manager at PeruRail Titicaca Train, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Mr. / Mrs. onthegoCincinnati_OH,

It is a pleasure to receive your comments and we want to thank you for sharing them with the Trip Advisor community. We are glad that you had an amazing time aboard the Andean Explorer train and that your visit to Cusco was really memorable for you. We are always trying to offer our passengers the best possible service so they can enjoy and have fun along the ride especially with the incredible scenery that Cusco has to offer. Once again, thank you for choosing PeruRail and we hope we can see you back again for another amazing experience with us.

Best regards,
The Andean Explorer Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, England
Level Contributor
105 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“The only way to travel”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

An experience not to be missed. Not the quickest way from Puno to Cusco - we were overtaken by tuk-tuks!! - but certainly the most interesting. Able to walk around and into observation car with its open rear. Went through market where some traders spread their wares between the rails. Wonderful scenery, excellent cuisine served with panache.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Spendingitnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeruRail, Community Manager at PeruRail Titicaca Train, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Mr. / Mrs. Spendingitnow,

It is very good to know that you had a great experience traveling aboard the Andean Explorer train on your trip from Puno to Cusco, even though you were overtaken by the tuk-tuks. As you mention, it is very interesting to have the opportunity to walk around, visit the market and also enjoying the wonderful scenery while traveling. For us, it is a pleasure to receive your feedback because we can continue improving our services to provide the best quality service for all our passengers. We hope we can see you back again for another unforgettable experience with us.

Sincerely,
The Andean Explorer Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed PeruRail Titicaca Train also viewed

 
Cusco, Cusco Region
 

Been to PeruRail Titicaca Train? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing