We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“clean and tasty” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Granja Heidi

Granja Heidi
Ranked #55 of 604 Restaurants in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
214 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“clean and tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I would reccomend this for lunch. They often have a lunch special that is a good deal and it is very clean and reasonable for San Blas.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank shulamit657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    275
    91
    15
    9
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beverly Hills, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Charming Place to Eat and Relax”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

My wife and I are staying in Cusco and learned very quickly that one of the best ways to avoid altitude sickness is to eat a larger meal at lunchtime and then eat a very small meal at dinner. We asked our hotel (Torre Dorada) for a recommendation and were referred to the Granja Heidi, which is located just a couple of blocks outside the main Plaza de Armas square.

It´s kind of a hole in the wall place from the street level, but once you ascend to the second floor, you´re in for a treat. The interior is charming. Clean wooden floors and tables. The owner appeared to be German or Austrian and he just seems to be enjoying life. They have a regular menu, or a special (28 soles, which is like $10) that includes soup, a main course, and dessert. A steal.

I believe there´s also free Wi-Fi and there are definitely also magazine racks along the walls, so they invite you to linger and enjoy yourself. Highly recommend.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sebastian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City Gal
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

This meal was one of the best in Cusco, for it's simplicity.

At Altitude, it is best to eat light. The soups at Granja Heidi were delicious and flavourful. I had a side dishes of olives, which came with so many big marinated olives. For barely no extra money, my companion got a whole basket of fresh bread.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank foodiefromupnorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Happily close to our hotel on San Blas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

On our first day in Cusco, at Amaru Hostal, and breathless and lightheaded, we asked the front desk where we should go for lunch. She said to try Granja which was 2 doors down - so very easy to get to. We did. And we came back for more. The ambience is warm and owner Carlos taught us how to deal with the attitude. But forget all that! Carlos' cuisine was stunningly subtle with waves of enjoyable refined flavours. Every meal was good and every meal was one of our best in Peru.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank DondiJoseph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado
Level Contributor
88 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fresh & creative”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

The lunch menu del dia is the way to go for the best value. The owner is very professional and hands on exquisite service & delicious food..very organic & fresh. Place was filled with local business people and more tourists in pm.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank BonGrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Granja Heidi also viewed

 
Cusco, Cusco Region
 

Been to Granja Heidi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing