We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All you need”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cusco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Posada Del Abuelo
Ranked #143 of 356 Cusco B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“All you need”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Our stay at La Posada Del Abuelo was filled with great service from the owner Rosaluz and accompanying staff. Anything that we needed she was able to accommodate quickly and efficiently. The facilities are not extremely luxurious, but they provide you with what you need-- spacious rooms, cleanliness, attentive staff and local expertise. Although the Abuelo is not centrally located, it provides a place that is quiet at night and is only a short walk to local attractions and restaurants. I would highly recommend the Abuelo for it's friendly staff, location and their unique local breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happycustomer515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    25
    3
    5
    2
See reviews for
14
15
10
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 6, 2013

This is a really quaint place that is just perfect if you're looking to use a bit of your Spanish! It's always nice to see a locally owned place doing well. They were very helpful when we were leaving to go on tours, could leave our luggage and things. Overall I would say it was a very nice experience.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Aaronag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mountain view, ca
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Rosa and all the staff were very warm and helpful, arranging a private taxi for the Sacred Valley, giving restaurant recommendations, and helping with making local phone calls. But keep in mind staff doesn't speak much English but I found it fun to practice my broken Spanish. Value is pretty good for Cusco.

A little bit out of city center-- advantage is it seems quieter than those in the city center, but disadvantage is it's about a 10 minute walk to city center. Walls can be thin if you get a loud group next to your room (as we did for one of the nights we were there). Nothing fancy, but clean and comfortable, with local charm.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wakko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 5, 2012

This is a good mid range locally owned and run option in cusco- the rooms are clean and during our stay we found the staff to be exceptionally helpful. Ordering a taxi, finding out about buses times, getting general information- the staff were only too happy to help. We were able to leave our bags, even when we were staying outside of cusco. It is also in a very safe location and close to all amenities.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Likesanicebreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed with our two children in this hotel. The room was very quiet (which is not easy to find in Cusco), clean and big. We feeled very welcome and received lots of helpful information. Absolutely recommended!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tn950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed here as part of our Intrepid tour, before and after a trek. The staff were very friendly and helpful (despite speaking no English), and our room was clean and spacious. THe downside was that it was very cold, and quite dark (with no window). However, there were plenty of blankets and the shower was wonderfully hot. My firat gripe was that our room reservation (via hotel bookings.com) hadn't been received - while this may well not have been their fault it was frustrating to lose the deposit we'd paid. And secondly, charging an extra dollar for eggs at breakfast (when otherwise it was just dry bread and jam) seemed churlish when we were paying 55 dollars a night. The location was good - approx 15mins to the main square, but passing lots of shops, sights and a market en route. And Cusco is definitely worth a couple of days stay.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank CatOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Let me tell you that this place is one of the nicest places I have ever stayed at, while the prices are very reasonable! The staff are all very attentive to your needs, and the owner (Rosa Luz) will go out of the way to help you with anything you need. For example I got sick when I first got to Cusco from Lima, and she was there to help me arrange doctors' visits and whatever else I needed, she was also able to help me book a last minute trip to Machu Picchu which usually isn't very easy to attain or cheap. But I must add that at any hour of the day you can take a nice long hot shower which believe it or not is actually very hard to find in Cusco. The room/bathroom itself was nice, clean and spacious while the bed was a comfortable size and very warm which is key during July (their winter). They also offer wifi which is great and convenient, and laundry service for extra charge (very reasonable prices). Not to forget the complementary breakfast that they offer from 6-9am which will hold you over till lunch, and the wonderful coca tea they offer for the altitude sickness is great! Overall, I would say that La Posada del Abuela is a great steal, with a great attentive kind staff who will bend over backwards to make you feel at home!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoxySC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.8 mi away
Hostal Pakcha Real
Hostal Pakcha Real
#165 of 454 in Cusco
125 reviews
0.8 mi away
El Tumi de Oro Cusco
El Tumi de Oro Cusco
#49 of 356 in Cusco
53 reviews
0.8 mi away
Inka Club Hostel
Inka Club Hostel
#110 of 167 in Cusco
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Cusco Packers Hostel
Cusco Packers Hostel
#1 of 454 in Cusco
439 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pirwa Colonial Hostel
Pirwa Colonial Hostel
#71 of 454 in Cusco
254 reviews
0.6 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Posada Del Abuelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada Del Abuelo

Property: La Posada Del Abuelo
Address: Avenida Pardo 975, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #143 of 356 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Hotel Class:3 star — La Posada Del Abuelo 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Posada Del Abuelo it is Bed and Breakfast that offers 10 rooms with private bathroom with 24 hour hot water, TV Cable and we offer a complementary buffet breakfast every day in our cafeteria. We are located 10 minutes from the International Airport Alejandro Velasco Astete and 10 minutes waking distance to the Main Plaza. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing