We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great temple of gastronomy”
Review of MAP Cafe

MAP Cafe
Ranked #26 of 727 Restaurants in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $60
Cuisines: Peruvian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Newark, Delaware
2 reviews
“Another great temple of gastronomy”
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

Very creative imagining of traditional Peruvian fare with international touches, yet very accessible. Was told this is the best foodie spot in Cuzco. If there's anything better here, I'd be surprised. Service was great--hats off to Yuri, who was always available and helpful, but never a lurking presence. And set in a great museum (which is relatively young, though the interpretation seems dated--indigenous art is in, so curators don't need to vindicate ad naseum as they do here). Memorable part of a day off from trail riding in the surrounding mountains.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Erik R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,090 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    776
    215
    67
    21
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lima, Peru
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent andean dinner... amazing "capchi" soup”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

This is a beautiful small restaurant inside a museum, with a first class service and excellent food.

We tried the shrimp hot ceviche, a great variation of the coast dish, smooth aji flavor on the shrimp and onions.

After that we had the best dish in the menu: the "capchi de setas". It's a thick soup traditional in the central and southern Andes. It had some international twists... which made it a delicious dish, definitely will go back to MAP Cafe at least for this soup!

For main dishes we had a guinea pig and also a traditional "adobo", something like a pork stew. Both came with various local side dishes.

Very good wine menu (compared to other restaurants in Cusco) and a great chocolate+aguaymanto desert.

It's a little pricey but it's worth it by far. The best restaurant in Cusco in my opinion.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

A clear rectangular glass box within a gorgeous museum courtyard, the food & staff are simply outstanding. Wonderful ingredient combinations, a melange of traditional & modern, with beautiful plate presentation and desserts that are worth the extra hours in the gym.
Do not miss this one.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sandra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Don't leave Cusco without their Capchi de Setas”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

I went to this place twice during my stay - pretty unusual for me to visit the same place when I travel as I tend to want to experience different things. It was the Capchi de Setas, their signature wine based soup with a quinoa studded puff pastry that drew me back. Great service and ambiance too.

I also went to the #1 rated restaurant in Cusco on TripAdvisor but in my opinion MAP Cafe is so so much better.

Note that in the evening they have a set dinner menu (you can choose from starters, main course and desserts). There is a cover charge if you want to order a la carte for dinner. It's okay if you want the full meal (the soup is in the starter section), but if you only want to try the soup and perhaps have a light meal, go for lunch for great value.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelMontage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent experience!”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Came here because my friend from Vancouver swore by it, and recommended the restaurant since I'm such a foodie.

Tucked away in the back of a museum, the floor to window ceilings capture the Cusco night perfectly in this quaint, intimate restaurant. Being a I was thoroughly impressed with the food, and the service. It's a five star restaurant for sure. It was our first night in Cusco, so we couldn't eat too much food at risk of altitude sickness, so Yuri, our waiter, let us order off the a la carte menu. We got the pork and the salmon, both of which were amazing.

Be warned that it is quite a pricey restaurant: 165 for a 3 dish prefix - on the a la carte menu, each dish was only 40-50 solas - not too shabby.

If you love this place, try it's sister restaurant called Inka Grill! Inka Grill isn't on the same level of fine dining, but again, the food was spectacular. Enjoy!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mccheung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MAP Cafe also viewed

 
Cusco, Cusco Region
 

Been to MAP Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing