We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't leave Cusco without their Capchi de Setas”
Review of MAP Cafe

MAP Cafe
Ranked #30 of 703 Restaurants in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $60
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Don't leave Cusco without their Capchi de Setas”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

I went to this place twice during my stay - pretty unusual for me to visit the same place when I travel as I tend to want to experience different things. It was the Capchi de Setas, their signature wine based soup with a quinoa studded puff pastry that drew me back. Great service and ambiance too.

I also went to the #1 rated restaurant in Cusco on TripAdvisor but in my opinion MAP Cafe is so so much better.

Note that in the evening they have a set dinner menu (you can choose from starters, main course and desserts). There is a cover charge if you want to order a la carte for dinner. It's okay if you want the full meal (the soup is in the starter section), but if you only want to try the soup and perhaps have a light meal, go for lunch for great value.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelMontage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,052 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    747
    207
    66
    21
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent experience!”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Came here because my friend from Vancouver swore by it, and recommended the restaurant since I'm such a foodie.

Tucked away in the back of a museum, the floor to window ceilings capture the Cusco night perfectly in this quaint, intimate restaurant. Being a I was thoroughly impressed with the food, and the service. It's a five star restaurant for sure. It was our first night in Cusco, so we couldn't eat too much food at risk of altitude sickness, so Yuri, our waiter, let us order off the a la carte menu. We got the pork and the salmon, both of which were amazing.

Be warned that it is quite a pricey restaurant: 165 for a 3 dish prefix - on the a la carte menu, each dish was only 40-50 solas - not too shabby.

If you love this place, try it's sister restaurant called Inka Grill! Inka Grill isn't on the same level of fine dining, but again, the food was spectacular. Enjoy!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mccheung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“An unusual restaurant with fantastic food”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Set menu price for 3 courses, all of which were excellent. This restaurant was one of our favourites as it was in a quirky location and offered guinea pig!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank JSOCBrentwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levis, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A reputation who is real.”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We had a wonderfull dinner at this design restaurant. Ambiance is romantic, quiet ( the most quiet of all our dinner in 3 weeks ) who is really appreciate. The food was very good, nice presentation, good choice on the menu and the wine was perfect. Attentionate service, just at a good pace. The best dinner we had during our trip in Peru.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank drmartine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson AZ
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Elegant dining experience”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

This restaurant is a candle-lit glass box with a wooden floor set in the courtyard of the Museum of Precolumbian Art. We got there at 7 PM and we were the first diners to show up, which meant that we had the waiters all to ourselves until others started arriving closer to 8 PM. The service was attentive and excellent, the ambiance wonderful, and the meal memorable. The lucuma gazpacho appetizer and alpaca entree were different but really good. The price was a fixed 165 soles/about $70 US per person for a 3 course meal without wine or tip. It was a truly elegant meal comparable to fine meals we've had in in foodie cities like NYC and Portland. If you're in Cuzco, you should try it. It's easily the best place to eat in town.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Akafay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MAP Cafe also viewed

 
Cusco, Cusco Region
 

Been to MAP Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing