We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish modern cuisine”
Review of MAP Cafe

MAP Cafe
Ranked #28 of 729 Restaurants in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $60
Cuisines: Peruvian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Stylish modern cuisine”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

The food was great - a bit strange dining in a sort of glass-walled portakabin, but good for a lunch.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank vapourtrail-london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,090 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    776
    215
    67
    21
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Beautiful food, great taste!”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

The presentation at this restaurant was one of the best I've seen. The food was fantastic, though in hindsight the flavors were rather forgettable. Though the price of our meal was fair, it was quite expensive for Cusco and we had meals at other restaurants that were much more memorable and enjoyable and cost far less. Nevertheless, I would go again for the ambiance, experience, and solid food.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MAF1125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Ambitious fusion but overpriced”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I had lunch here by myself. I ordered the foie gras and ceviche. The foie gras was interesting as it came with 2 frozen apple ravioli. Not sure that the pairing worked for me. The ceviche dish was good but since they were out of crayfish it came with cooked shrimp. Isn´t ceviche supposed to be raw fish? Their selection of wines by the glass is not good. There was one Cabernet available for 20 soles and low quality. The service is good although it took a long time for them to get going at first. I was the first one there for lunch a bit after 12 and there was just another french couple right after me. I had to wait a a bit longer than usual for the wine. The prices are about what you would pay in San Francisco or New York when you convert to dollars but the level of expertise does not quite match. The first waiter I had seemed happy to be there but the other one had a bit of an attitude.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Traveller454545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Outstanding Meal with Memorable Flavors”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We had an outstanding meal here, with some of the most memorable flavors I have ever had. It was excellent, start to finish. Even the oil and vinegar combination they poured to dip the bread in was amazingly delicious. We were a party of 8 so we sampled menu of the menu items, and all were at least very good, with many outstanding. They feature local ingredients and flavors. I would strongly recommend this restaurant if you visit Cusco.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LoveMBinLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best food we had in Peru”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

MAP Cafe is outstanding. For starters, the space is beautiful - a glass box in the square inside the MAP. The food was amazingly good - far better than what we have had a travels to major cities in the U.S. I would save my pennies to go here as often as possible...if only they were in San Francisco. The service was perfect. It is a really beautiful and unique space. It is expensive, but definitely worth it!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MAP Cafe also viewed

 
Cusco, Cusco Region
 

Been to MAP Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing