We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very average, over-priced hotel”
Review of Qorichaska Hostal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Qorichaska Hostal
Ranked #100 of 480 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Reviewed April 3, 2011

We had booked to stay here for a few nights but left after one as we found it to be very over-priced with better options for less elsewhere. The room was distinctly average; smallish in size, bathroom okay but water pressure too high. The towels were tatty and no soap was provided.

The guest kitchen was extremely off-putting; a tiny, dark and dingy room with few facilities, dirty dishes piled in the sink and no seating.

One of the main problem was the the temperature as it was really cold, especially at night, and having to sleep with five woolen blankets on the bed in lieu of any heating is just uncomfortable and doesn't make for a good night's sleep.

Breakfast was fine although it was served in the outdoor area or partially outdoor area and so was freezing. Really not worth the $35.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msakr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (132)
There are newer reviews for Qorichaska Hostal
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

49 - 55 of 132 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2010

We checked out quite a few place on the internet and visited a couple other hostals in Cusco, and chose this one. Proved to be a great choice.
We first stayed here for 2 nights and after Machu Picchu returned for 2 nights more. Qorichaska has a good location, and the rooms are nice and kept spotlessly clean. The staff is absolutely great: everyone of them very helpful, always making sure things go fine.

Breakfast is very basic continental but ok, and for 80 soles for a twin room (with the breakfast, wi-fi, hot shower and cable tv) we believe this is one of the best places in central Cuzco. We also had them do some laundry for us, and the clothes came back perfectly clean.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank koiruli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2010

This hostel is absolutely beautiful. It is hidden away on a plain street a couple blocks away from the plazas, with beautiful gardens and balconies. The room and bathroom were very clean. There was free internet at the hostel, and with the police station only a block away, we felt safe walking home at night. The staff was very friendly and had no problem waking us up before 5am to see Machu Picchu. Breakfast was delicious.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lasankofa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2009

Qorichaska is an inexpensive (around $25 US per night) hostel conveniently located near the Plaza de Armas in Cuzco. My daughter and I stayed there for 3 days in December and we were very impressed with the comfort of the simple rooms, the extreme kindness of the accommodating staff, and the really, really good coffee in the mornings. As 2 females travelling alone, it was also important that the facility felt very safe and secure.

This is an excellent choice for the budget traveller. Qorichaska may be slightly more expensive than a true backpacker hostel, but provides very good value for the few extra dollars.

  • Stayed: December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanadaCasper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2009

Qorichaska is a really good choice when coming to Cusco. The rooms are clean and offer lots of space to unpack your bags. I recommend the rooms in the back yard, they are more quiet. The shower is fine, beds are comfortable and have plenty of blankets, so you won't freeze! Rooms have no TV, but there's a tv-room available. Breakfast is common, warm drink included.
The team is friendly and helpful, laundry service is done within 8 hours.
A little 'minus' is the area / the street (Nueva Alta), where there is much traffic and it seems little ugly. Walking distance to Plaza de Armas is about 7 minutes.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kibot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qorichaska, Gerente at Qorichaska Hostal, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2013

Thank you for your comment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2009

I can fully recommend Hostal Qorichaska, located in a old townhouse of 200 years old, just a few streets away from the tourist hub around the Plaza de Armas where life has not yet been too much affected by the tourist trade. The area is safe and quiet. I not only liked the house itself, which has been in the owner's family for generations, but also the very friendly service at the reception desk. Bath towels, toiletpaper and breakfast are included in the price which is a luxury in Peru! Rooms are clean, and breakfast is served at the patio.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Felicity_Brussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qorichaska, Gerente at Qorichaska Hostal, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Thank you for your review of Hostal Qorichaska, we will always be waiting for your return to Cusco and any friend who wants to send.

Good energy sends Qorichaska

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2008

We stayed here for 3 days before embarking on on the Inca trail and also returned here for a further 4 days after.

Facilites included full use of their kitchen, breakfast in the morning, free wi-fi, TV room with cable, hot water 24/7. Free Baggage Storage. 24hr Reception.

All the rooms were around an inner courtyard on two floors. Breakfast was served in the courtyard and we even had it served to our room on a couple of lazy days. The rooms were of a very good size, and we stayed in ones with a private bathroom which was clean.

The staff were extremely friendly, on first arrival we were given coca tea to help with the altitude. They helped with tourist information without pushing you on different tours. It is imprtant to note that they do not run a travel agency as part of the hostal so there is no pressure. The laundry service is very good, we used it on a number of occassions with no problems and our clothes always smelled very clean when we got them back.

We had a member of staff help us with our taxi on our departure where he ensured that we got a fair price to the Bus Station.

The hostel is very safe, there is only one way in and out and the door is always locked and manned.

Overall, we felt this was an excellent place to stay for our time in Cusco with everything we needed.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank dandmsimpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qorichaska, Gracias at Qorichaska Hostal, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2009

Thanks for your comment

Qorichaska Hostal Cusco
Nueva Alta 458 - CUSCO - PERU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
Inka Club Hostel
Inka Club Hostel
#125 of 170 in Cusco
82 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sumayaq Hostel Cusco
Sumayaq Hostel Cusco
#54 of 480 in Cusco
128 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dragonfly Hostels Cusco
Dragonfly Hostels Cusco
#13 of 480 in Cusco
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Samay Wasi Youth Hostels Cusco
0.1 mi away
Mama Simona Hostel
Mama Simona Hostel
#7 of 480 in Cusco
624 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ecopackers
Ecopackers
#2 of 480 in Cusco
1,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Qorichaska Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Qorichaska Hostal

Address: Calle Nueva Alta 458, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 480 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Price Range: $39 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Qorichaska Hostal 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Qorichaska hostel is a colonial style house located in an old historic downtown district of the city of Cusco, about 3 blocks from the "Plaza de Armas", this colonial building has a 300 years old and has authentic stone arches is also restored and perfectly preserved.Finally, a widening of the hostel with a modern building which houses a harmony with the old building, showing its great beauty, both the colonial and modern. So it has a courtyard where travelers can enjoy a pleasant atmosphere and friendly manner of a family of CuscoCusco Hostel, Peru Hostels, Hostales en Cusco, Backers Hostels, Peru Hostales ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Otel and TripOnline SA so you can book your Qorichaska Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing