We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alejandro Velasco Astete International Airport
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Recommended experiences in and around Cusco
from $46.00
More Info
from $83.93
More Info
from $50.00
More Info
from $479.00
More Info
Reviews (76)
Filter reviews
76 results
Traveler rating
3
15
18
22
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3
15
18
22
18
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 76 reviews
Reviewed May 5, 2018 via mobile

We flew in an out of Cusco. Flying in was fine. Flying out was a nightmare. We went to the airline counter to check out bags and there was a mob of angry people because a flight was cancelled. The airline managed to get these people into a separate line, so we waited in the normal line. Locals kept cutting in front of us in line despite us telling them we were waiting already. There was an airport security guard right beside us letting it happen. When we asked him why he wasn't doing anything about it he just shrugged. Seems like the locals are not welcoming at all and feel tourists should get second class service. The entire airport is overcrowded and lines seem to mean nothing. Also all staff we encountered were unfriendly. Time for this airport to step up its game.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Andrew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2018

Even though the service at this airport has improved, still needs some mayor changes / improvements. The departure / arrival boards, are not updated with new flight information. There is no Wi Fi, unless you have "special card" for the VIP Lounge, or pay 12.00 dollars to have access to the Lounge, which we had to do when our flight was delayed due to fog. Because of the delays, we missed our connections in Lima to Miami, we could NOT get any help from anyone about our missed flight in Lima, not even from the airline that we were flying LIM/MIA, which was LATAM; their excuse was "if you were flying with us to Lima, we'll be able to help you, but since from Cusco to Lima you are in a different airline, there is nothing we can do; maybe in Lima they can help you."
Make sure your flights are within the same airline, such as Avianca or LATAM, they were flying out, even in fog. Peruvian airlines, Viva air, and others were not. We were told, that LATAM and Avianca have modern equipment and better navigation system.
There is no pharmacy any more, but they have first aid station. Very limited food access, only couple of very small cafes.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank Rismun99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2017

No free Wi Fi is available at the airport. Limited food choices. Comfortable seats. Clean bathroom. The departure board (TV screen) only showed the upcoming 3-4 hour flights; you got no idea whether your flight being delayed or cancelled... until 1-2 hours before flying. Given no information on our flight, we initially thought we missed or screwed up our flight schedule. My flight was supposed to be leaving at 4:30pm; it did not show on the screen until 3:50pm; and the flight was delayed. Our flight time was moved to 6pm without any advance notice.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank michaelwong2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2017 via mobile

An airport with limited resources but it works for Cusco. Taxi service out of the airport can be a gamble. I recommend Westerns wait for their Uber to come seeing as it's less expensive then a local hire car/taxi.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank ClosSinde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2017

The most important airportin the southern region of Peru and a passage to Macchu Pichu should be better than that. The airport is small for that big number of tourists. If there is a line in front of the airline desks people cannot get in even. The lines are mied with each other, thetre is no control and the service is slow. I hope they will open the new airport in Chinchero as soon as possible.

Date of experience: June 2017
1  Thank Flyngdtchmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews