We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hostel I've ever stayed at!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hospedaje Turistico Recoleta
Ranked #16 of 480 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We had a really nice spacious for the three of us. It was the cheapest hostel out of the three hostels that I stayed in Peru, but this one had the highest quality by far. What made it so memorable was that all their staff came out to celebrate our friend's birthday at breakfast. They sang the happy birthday song and gave her a flower. It was very sweet of them. VERY HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sammyy1004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (360)
There are newer reviews for Hospedaje Turistico Recoleta
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 360 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2013

I stayed at Reoleta Hostal twice - once before and again after trekking to Machu Picchu. The guys that run it are incredibly friendly and are genuinely happy to help in any way they can. The building isn´t huge, so has a nice homely feel about it and the whole place is kept really clean. It´s about a 10-15 minute walk to the central plaza and the neighbourhood feels very safe (as I found pretty much all of Cusco to be). There´s free wi-fi throughout (although the signal was weak in one room I stayed in) and there´s also free coca tea on offer to help with the altitude. Luggage storage is free and I had absolutely no qualms with leaving it for 5 days while I went trekking. Will definely stay again if I find myself back in Cusco!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stu808940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for four nights in March 2013 and absolutely loved it. The staff were fantastic, couldn´t have been more helpful and friendly. We stayed in a double room with private bathroom, which was really big, clean and had hot running water. The place has a nice laid back atmosphere and is ideal for the slighty older traveller (25+) and couples. The location is a mere 10 minute walk to the main Plaza and there are a number of places to eat in the vicinity that are a little cheaper than the main square. Would definitely recommend! In the three months we´ve been travelling this is probably the best hostel we´ve stayed in!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed with Javier and his great team for a week whilst in Cusco. we booked a fantastic Sacred Valley tour through them and when off exploring lake titicaca we left our luggage there to find it in our new room on arrival at 4am, definately a nice suprise.

Rooms are large clean and have shelves and places to hang your gear. both rooms we have had included private bathroom.

Breakfast is included which gets you started for the day.

The other guests have been awesome and we have chatted to many over breakfast or on the terrace.

Its 10 min walk to the plaza and 5 to San Blas which is an awesome area to explore.

The owner Javier and his team are very friendly, smiling, up for a chat and eager to help or offer advice.

I really like this place.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I spent one week in Hospedaje Recoleta during the beginning of my stay in Cusco. The hostel is run by very friendly people, the rooms are cozy and the whole place is kept very clean. Simple, but delicious breakfast is included in the price. Also, you have unlimited supply of coca leaves to reduce the symptoms of altitude sickness. it takes just 15-20 minutes to walk to the center of Cusco and there are several good and not overpriced dining options in the area. The hostel is more like a house, calm and peaceful. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdamPotega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed in a private room before and after our inca trail trek. The guys running this hostel are very genuinely friendly and helpful. They offer to store luggage while off adventuring at no cost and we had quarks that it would be safe with them.
The rooms are very clean and breakfast is nice. It is a 10-15 minute walk to the centre but was not an issue at all.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Tom N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

I kept returning here after a trek and twice more after going into Bolivia. When you're travelling for so long it's nice to get that nice homely feel from the atmosphere of the hostel and the incredibly friendly staff. Javier, Katy and the others were really lovely. The place is clean and has good wifi. The showers are always nice and hot with good pressure. They also let me store luggage there for a whole month. The 10min walk to the center allows you to explore Cusco a little more and going down narrow Recoleta with it's restaurants and mysterious doors is always interesting. There is a nearby market and it's close to the buses for Pisac and Calca. Loved this place and would highly recommend a stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nomad-s23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
1.2 mi away
Cusco Packers Hostel
Cusco Packers Hostel
#1 of 480 in Cusco
562 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ecopackers
Ecopackers
#2 of 480 in Cusco
1,429 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mama Simona Hostel
Mama Simona Hostel
#7 of 480 in Cusco
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Kokopelli Hostel
Kokopelli Hostel
#8 of 480 in Cusco
571 reviews
0.8 mi away
Milhouse Hostel Cusco
Milhouse Hostel Cusco
#11 of 480 in Cusco
757 reviews
1.1 mi away
Intro Hostels Cusco
Intro Hostels Cusco
#17 of 480 in Cusco
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hospedaje Turistico Recoleta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hospedaje Turistico Recoleta

Address: Jiron Pumacahua 160, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 480 Specialty Lodging in Cusco
Price Range: $10 - $29 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hospedaje Turistico Recoleta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hospedaje Turistico Recoleta Hotel Cusco
Hospedaje Turistica Recoleta Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing