We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, nothing special”
Review of Prisma Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Prisma Hotel
Ranked #86 of 171 Hotels in Cusco
Reviewed October 26, 2010

We stayed here on a couple of different nights as part of a 2 week tour with Active South America. I would echo the other reviews here, that it's not a bad hotel, but it's not particularly good either. There's a real variety of rooms - we had a gorgeous big one on the top floor with a balcony and a view, later we had a really tiny one on the 2nd floor. Beds, bathrooms were adequate, breakfast was fine (although I must say the fresh bread was REALLY good). If you're just staying here briefly, this hotel is OK. If you're looking for a longer term base for altitude recovery, or to spend a few nice days in Cusco, I'd recommend spending a bit more and heading to Hotel Torre Dorada Residencial. We spend 2 nights here and everything was really much much nicer. I also recommend that earplugs are an essential part of any trip to Peru. It's a noisy country no matter where you are :-)

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NDGTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (512)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

306 - 312 of 512 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2010

Travelled with GAP Adventures. Hotel safe, comfortable and clean. Good location, helpful staff. Felt safe walking through Cusco at night with lots of shopping and dining close to hotel. Rooms comfortable with some street noise but oh well.... hard to avoid anywhere in Cusco. Safely left excess luggage at hotel during excursions to Inca trail.
Would stay here again without hesitation if returned to Cusco

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ColinDCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2010

It's reasonably good value at $50 a night for a double room and has everything you'd expect of a mid-range hotel, like buffet breakfast and cable TV. Staff are very friendly, but rooms look a bit dated and it's not particularly near the Plaza de Armas - however if you're not a walker, taxis are only three sols and it is quieter here, as Cusco's nightlife is lively. If you're planning to spend most of your time sight-seeing and using the hotel only as a base, it's perfectly adequate. If you want a bit more luxury, be prepared to pay a lot more - Cusco doesn't have the bargains that many other parts of Peru have.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dungenessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2010

We stayed at Hotel Prisma for 4 nights.
THE PROS:
1)The bellboys and housekeepers are amazing and will bend over backwards to help you. They work their behinds off, with a smile no less. Please tip them well. They deserve it.
2) Evening front desk staff (two male and one light-haired female) were awesome - attentive, helpful and extremely pleasant.
3) Laundry is a good value. We had 2 loads done for 15 soles ($5 +/-)

The CONS:
1) The last night of our trip (in room 309), we contracted bed bugs. I have no less than 20 bites on both of my arms alone. There's nothing like enduring 20 hour journey home and having to immediately sanitize your belongings.
2) The two computer/internet stations are outdated, and the connection goes on and off throughout the day.
3) While in Peru, every hotel must see your passport and immigration papers, then you must complete a separate form from the hotel and a photocopy of your passport is made by the hotel. No biggie, except that Hotel Prisma lost our hotel form and had to make a photocopy of our passports 3 times throughout our stay.
4) THE LOCATION IS NOT CENTRAL. Do not be fooled by the website or what GAP tells you. It is granted, within Cusco's old town but absolutely not central. Which means, if you're having dinner at the Plaza de Armas until 11pm (after the police have ended their shift and gone home) please do not walk home alone.
5) There are no safety box in the rooms (the website indicates there is a safety box service, please note it is not an in-room feature) - we stayed in room 309, 310 and 402.
6) Daytime management leaves something to be desired. There is the owner, an older receptionist with a permanent frown and demeanor to match, and a younger receptionist who appears to be doing most of the work. Not a good hospitality combo.

Hotel Prisma is GAP command central for their Incan Trail package, thus the hotel is guaranteed constant bookings. We are admittedly very demanding, but do not expect service from the front desk with a smile. We asked to see 3 different rooms before checking in during our stay, and the receptionist became very surly with us.

Hotel Prisma, due to its affiliation with GAP has no motivation to treat their clients and employees kindly. For $50/night, you can find a much nicer and more centrally located hotel in Cusco.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tarinay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2010

I stayed here at the beginning and end of Gap Adventures trip. Compared with other joining hotels for Gap tours, this one is quite good and a better value, though I still think $50 USD is a lot for Cusco. The hotel was clean, rooms comfortable, and when the wifi was working, it was a good connection. The staff are friendly and there is a good map of the city available at the desk. Breakfast for 10 soles wasn't really worth it. Several of us ate dinner there the night before our trek and the food was mediocre. The Mega supermarket is just up the road and the hotel's location is convenient to the center of town by 5-10 min walk. This is a good place to pick up a cab (easier than Av el Sol) and only 3 soles in town. Overall, a nice place to stay in Cusco.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoamingTheGlobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2010

This is a decent hotel in a fair location in Cusco. The main plaza is about 5-10min walk away through safe streets. It is clean and tidy.
The only faults I have here is that the windows in the rooms do not close properly against their stops therefore, if you have a room overlooking the street it can seem at times quite noisy.
This hotel seems to be a base point for GAP Tours as there are many groups in the lobby and signs from the trek leaders.
The breakfasts are very average though, but the staff are great. I changed my room because of road noise with no issues.
It is a good low cost option for those on a budget if you can remember to get earplugs for the rooms with a street overview.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank funkey_monkey_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2010

this hotel was booked as part of our trip with Gap adventures for the Inca Trail - it was cheap but clean and the front desk staff were very helpful, handly location to walk to shops and restaurants

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.4 mi away
Home Hoteles Casa Arcopunku
0.2 mi away
Imperial Cusco Hotel
Imperial Cusco Hotel
#100 of 171 in Cusco
129 reviews
0.3 mi away
Antares Mystic Hotel
Antares Mystic Hotel
#80 of 171 in Cusco
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Unumizu Cusco
Hotel Unumizu Cusco
#49 of 171 in Cusco
322 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Golden Inca
Hotel Golden Inca
#37 of 171 in Cusco
461 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Mabey Cusco
Hotel Mabey Cusco
#87 of 171 in Cusco
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prisma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prisma Hotel

Address: Calle Matara 394, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 171 Hotels in Cusco
Price Range: $56 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Prisma Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 328
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Prisma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prisma Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing