We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but noisey!”
Review of Prisma Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Prisma Hotel
Ranked #93 of 171 Hotels in Cusco
Reviewed August 13, 2010

We stayed in the Prisma Hotel as it was the hotel used for Gap Adventures for the Inca Trail. The first room on the first night was huge and spacious on the third floor. The bathroom was also pretty big. However, it was facing onto the street and was very noisey all the way till 2am. Then you just got woken up by people talking too loudly in the corridors. The second room we were assigned (after the tour) was slightly smaller (see photos) and still spacious, this was at the back of the hotel and ALOT quieter!
The hotel staff and were helpful, however, their english is quite poor if you need detailed info, for the general stuff they were very good. Free internet - one computer. There were 2 female bar staff who were quite rude, so watch out. Breakfast is s10, lots of bread if you like bread. Location is great, 15 min walk but why walk when a taxi anywhere is only s3???!!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toadstool_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (500)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

308 - 314 of 500 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2010

Overall, this hotel is good value for money. Located on a slope, if you get a outward-facing room on the 3rd or 4th floor, there are good views of the city at dawn and dusk. It is also within walking distance to most tourist sites in the city. Wireless internet is available at the hotel and the connection speed isn't too slow. The staff are extremely helpful and can speak english. You can pay 10 soles for the buffet breakfast, but in my opinion, you can get better food at the market 2 blocks away at a cheaper price. The hot water may or may not work, but that may be dependent on the number of people using the hot water at any one time. And lastly, there isn't an elevator, but the porters are happy to help with the bags.

In short, good value for money and I enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yiqi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2009

The only thing that this place didn´t have was free internet, but there are places nearby if you need it. Cusco is lovely & this hotel is in a good location to make exploring easy. The staff are helpfull & breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BackpackBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2009

The location is not the greatest but that is a given when traveling with a tour group. The hotel does offer a nice buffet breakfast to start your day. The cleaning staff is a bit oblivious because vacuuming would start at 5am when guests are still trying to sleep. There is hot water for showers which may be a concern in Cusco. I enjoyed the satellite television after a long day in the sun and altitude. There are also 2 public computers with internet access with associated line ups.

  • Stayed: April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jenmito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2009

Stayed in this hotel on two occasions. The first time we got a room facing the atrium and that was a very nice room, The second time we got a very large room facing the street outside, and there was a big difference in these two rooms. If you get a room on the third floor or higher (no elevator) you'll most likely get a good view, Lower floors and you'll be looking into a wall. The staff is friendly and you can store your luggage at the hotels storage a couple of nights without cost. The breakfast is a little from day to day in standard, but keeps a normal Peruvian standard meaning no extravaganza. Hot water 24h/day. No safe in the room, but they have a safe in the reception in which you can store your valuables if you dare. A small gift shop as well as a small bar are in the lobby - so are the internet computers. WiFi is available from the lobby and maybe 2 floors up if you have the "right room". 15-20 min walking to the main square. Some dark alleys close to the hotel, but the fastest way to the main square is well populated with fellow walkers, so it felt safe all the time.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dgjohansson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2009

We stayed here before and after the GAP Inca Trail trip in May 2009. The hotel is very conveniently located within easy walking distance of everything. Our room was on the 4th floor and was one of those that faced inwards into the atrium - because of this it was very noisy at all hours throughout each night (many groups celebrate their completion of the Inca Trail). We had to get up and yell over the balcony for people to be quiet! After hours there is only the doorman on the premises and so no control over rowdy people. That said, the other rooms that face outwards are probably not noisy at all (we had the misfortune to be assigned the same room at both ends of the trip despite asking for a different room) and some have pretty little patios that open up with a view over the Cusco rooftops. The bathroom was a good size and buying water was not that much of a chore - there is a small store in the same block. We ate breakfast at the restaurant and one supper and found it OK (& did not get yelled at for going up for 2nd helpings). The only other downside of this hotel is that 2 of the members of our GAP team had their daypacks with passports, cameras, credit cards etc. stolen from their LOCKED room. When told about this, the hotel management did not seem to offer much assistance to them, only telling them that there is a disclaimer on the door stating that the hotel is not responsible for valuables. So be sure to take all items with you when you go out (we didn't but I guess that we were just lucky).

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trubrit7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2009

Our group of 4 stayed at the Prisma before and after our Inca Trail trek as part of a GAP trip. Beds were rock hard - I was more comfortable sleeping on the thermarest on the Inca trail. No bottled water in the room to drink or brush teeth with so we had to go back out of the hotel at 9pm to buy water! The breakfast was typical Andean/European style but be sure you get everything you want in your first visit to the buffet, otherwise the waiter will give you heck. I wasn't feeling too well our first morning so only had a cup of tea. Felt a bit better after the tea so decided to go back up and get some fruit and bread...ooops! big Mistake. Got yelled at in spanish by the waiter - something about "one breakfast only!" and multiple visits aren't allowed - even for coffee or tea refills. Rooms were quiet, showers and water pressure were typical developing/third world and we used the free internet so can't complain too much. We had no choice but to stay at Prisma since it was part of the GAP trip but if I was to book a hotel myself - I would pay the extra and book something a bit classier.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scubamom33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.2 mi away
Imperial Cusco Hotel
Imperial Cusco Hotel
#99 of 171 in Cusco
127 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Garcilaso
Hotel Garcilaso
#73 of 171 in Cusco
235 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inka Andina Hotel
Inka Andina Hotel
#135 of 171 in Cusco
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Antares Mystic Hotel
Antares Mystic Hotel
#81 of 171 in Cusco
225 reviews
0.4 mi away
Del Prado Inn
Del Prado Inn
#95 of 171 in Cusco
261 reviews
0.4 mi away
Eco Inn Cusco
Eco Inn Cusco
#33 of 171 in Cusco
1,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prisma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prisma Hotel

Address: Calle Matara 394, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 171 Hotels in Cusco
Price Range: $57 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Prisma Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 328
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Prisma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prisma Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing