We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, safe and friendly”
Review of Prisma Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Prisma Hotel
Ranked #90 of 164 Hotels in Cusco
Thunder Bay Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Clean, safe and friendly”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We were on a G tour and were booked into the Prisma before and after Machu Pichu. This spot is close for getting around the hi lights of Cuzco. It was a very safe,clean and serviceable spot with friendly and helpful staff. The WIFI was on par for the course in Peru and the staff always was able to get it going again. Beds, bedding and showers were great. The hidden gem was the dining room had awesome meals at a reasonable price for lunch and supper while the free breakfast was always OK.

Room Tip: Try and request a room off the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asc1291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    151
    207
    56
    16
See reviews for
69
183
54
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

I wonder if this hotel does any business outside of its G Adventures business. First room was truly awful - noisy, small, plywood walls. Better room after our Trek, but definitely would never return on our own. Convenient location, that's about the best I can give this place...

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank HarryB_Ottawa_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cusco hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Prisma hotel staff are really helpful. The rooms are a decent size and are clean. They will do your laundry in 24hours for 6sol a kilo. Brekfast is basic but fine. there is an onsite bar and restaurant for convenience. It is located close to pharmacies and supermarket and within a 10min walk to the main square. THe wifi is fickle and worked best near the main reception area and not at all in the room

Room Tip: Try and get a room that doesnt face onto Matera street itself as the windows are not double glazed a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Em_G555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

This hotel was included in the GAdventures trip my friend and I booked with the Inca Trail as the main element and this hotel was where we were before and after the Trail.

The twin rooms are adequate. However the room I booked for myself to have some space from my mate after three nights on the trail in a tent with him had no external windows and therefore light.

The only thing that really irritated me was the poor quality of the Wifi which I rarely picked up on my Smartphone or tablet in every location in the hotel I was in. I would recommend that GAdventures need to work with the hotel to improve this.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Nothing fancy. This hotel was included at the start and end of my G Adventures Inca Trail hike plus I added an extra day at the end to spend an extra full day in Cusco. This city is extremely noisy so most of the noise came from outside the hotel. Street traffic, garbage trucks, car horns and alarms, dogs, shouting and not to be overlooked, the massive steel doors that guard the alley to the adjacent parking lot that are opened and closed with all the subtlety of a rail switching yard. Those doors were right outside my window so were particularly noticeable.

Having said all that, I found the facilities quite comfortable though the stairs were a bit more challenging after the hike. The beds are simple, a matress on a platform with heavy blankets and TWO pillows. Breakfast was limited but could be augmented with eggs at at cost of 1Sole each - a bargain. Front desk staff were helpful and cheery showing appreciation for my limited use of Spanish - a simple 'por favor' and 'gracias' can carry a lot of weight. And being Canadian I managed the occasional 'lo siento' as well.

The location is pretty good too, a very short walk from a major supermarket (Mega) and less than a 10 minute walk to all the facilities of the main square, and 3 blocks from the train and bus terminals. WiFi was serviceable if a little flakey but staff were more than willing to re-boot the router if you encountered difficulties. I suspect they will replace it in the coming weeks.

This is NOT a resort hotel. It is a pleasant, functional hotel, reasonably well located in an area with all the essential services.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheNortheys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed here as part of a tour with G Adventures and must say the hotel was pleasant and all the staff where very friendly. The issue however is that as after a 4 day trek doing the inca trial when we needed sleep we where woken by noise in the corridors. The doors on the hotel offer no sound proofing and as a result you can hear everything at the other side of the door.

Location wise you are near the main square which is well worth a visit with lots of good restaurants located their.

Room Tip: low floor room as no lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lewish20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed here as part of the G adventures tour to the Inca Trail. I had read several reviews before arriving which had given average to negative reviews so wasn´t expecting much.

However, I was pleasantly surprised. The hotel is central in Cusco so easy to get around on foot. The rooms were comfortable, clean and the beds were warm. The staff were not unfriendly or rude and someone helped us take our bags up to the 3rd floor on arrival. Both nights we stayed here the showers were HOT. THe breakfasts were really good - much more than just the staple bread and jam - fruits, yogurt, cereals, cheese, ham and for a few pesos more, some eggs.

The hotel does have ´thin´ walls per se, but we didn´t find it particularly noisy at early or late hours. The second night we were here after our tour we stayed in a room by the street, and it quiets down after about 9.30pm and doesn´t get noisy again until about 7am so really, not a big issue.

The hotel wifi doesn´t really appear to work anywhere but in the lobby, however there is a computer on the second floor which never appears to be particularly busy.

Overall, a really good couple of nights to prepare for and rest after the inca trail!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emccune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.5 mi away
Ninos Hotel Meloc
Ninos Hotel Meloc
#23 of 164 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,079 reviews
0.5 mi away
Inka Club Hostel
Inka Club Hostel
#114 of 164 in Cusco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.2 mi away
Imperial Cusco Hotel
Imperial Cusco Hotel
#91 of 164 in Cusco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Los Marqueses
Hotel Los Marqueses
#56 of 164 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa de Mama Cusco Recoleta
0.6 mi away
Andean South Inn
Andean South Inn
#100 of 164 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prisma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prisma Hotel

Property: Prisma Hotel
Address: Calle Matara 394, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 164 Hotels in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Prisma Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 328
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Prisma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prisma Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing