We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bring your earplugs”
Review of Prisma Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Prisma Hotel
Ranked #93 of 171 Hotels in Cusco
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Good location in Cusco, and a very pretty hotel, although it is not ideal for anyone wanting a good nights sleep before or after completing the Inca Trail due to the thin walls, the early morning tour groups, traffic and the hotel cleaning staff.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (500)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

239 - 245 of 500 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2012

Stayed here with G Adventure. The location is good - easy walking distance to everything. It is impossible to have a quiet room. The street rooms are incredibly noisy, then the back rooms (quiet at night) face a construction zone. So if you want to rest (and you'll need to in Cusco because of the altitude) during the day it is so noisy. The people are fairly nice.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msa23_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Stayed here 3 nights, 2 of which with GAdventure. Fthe location is fine, except it's on a noisy street with construction across the street (they were mixing concret and working in the middle of the night to avoid traffic disruption but they didn't care about the guests staying in the hotel). We barely slept.... The breakfast was so so. Barely any hot food (if you consider sausage is) and coffee was lousy - this is the pretty much the only place we have lousy coffee during our 10 day trip in Peru. Prior to our visit, I sent a couple emails inquiring but had I reply. I got a feeling that this hotel is guaranteed business from GAdventure, they simply don't care much for guest service and experience. By e way, you have to run water for 10 minutes to get warm water for shower. It's a joke considering GAdventure supposed to pride themselves in promoting sustainable resources and being environmentally conscience.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MMALoveTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We had four nights here, it was clean and tidy, with good strong wifi signal throughout. The breakfast is included and is buffet, eat to your hearts content! We stayed in both the main part and the side which G adventures use, the main side was slightly better.

Due to the tours leaving early there is a lot of noise some mornings especially if your room opens onto the covered open space next to reception. We were on top floor and found it noisy.

Staff friendly and helpful, laundry service excellent, drop by 4pm and its back by 1pm next day all nicely folded

Would I go back- yes I would

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Myself and my boyfriend stayed here as part of a G-adventures tour to Machu Picchu. The hotel is, as the title implies, pretty basic, but comfortable enough. We are both pretty tall (I'm 6'1", and he's 6'4"), so the two (single) beds in our room were pretty small for the two of us. But we were very tired from travelling for 16 hours, so when we got in, we passed out pretty fast despite the size of the beds. No elevator, so be careful running up the stairs your first day there (as I did); the altitude made me almost have an asthma attack at the top.
Our first day, the water in the shower was very cold, however the next morning and the last day we stayed there, the water was fine. The included continental breakfast was ok, nothing too special.
The location is good; easily walkable to the main square and many of the tourist attractions in town. Not much in terms of amenities (except for free internet via wifi as well as two computers in two different locations of the hotel), however as a place to sleep and use as a launching point into the town, it's not bad. The staff were all quite friendly as well. Overall, not amazing, but ok as a place to lay your head at night.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LabMonkeyToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We stayed at Prisma Hotel on the first and last nights of a trek we organised with gadventures. Although tour company themselves are very good this hotel is abismal.

Having travelled in South America for two months through Chile, Bolivia and Peru we've stayed in some great value hotels and hostels, but this one just dosn't come up to scratch on any level for the price you'll be paying ($65 US per night for a double).

There was no wifi for the entirety of our stay. The water in the shower of our first room was stone cold and the bathroom smelled of dirty drains. The cleaners began working, moving furniture around and talking loudly at 5am - they seemed surprised when we asked them to pipe down as we were sleeping and could hear every sound through the paper thin walls.

Some of the rooms appeared to look nice enough, but ours looked out onto a corridor so we had to keep the curtains permanently closed. I think the most annoying aspect of our stay was the rude and unhelpful attitude of the reception staff. We were continually told that the wifi was working when every guest we spoke to told us otherwise. When we told them about the cold water in our shower they didn't believe us and sent up the porter to run the water and check it was cold.

This hotel doesn't have the things that it advertises, and there are so many better options in Cusco at better prices that will provide good quality service with a smile.Unless you are on a tour and have to stay here, steer clear.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RTWBB2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Stayed here for a total of 3 nights. The staff is great and very helpful, rooms are good size. If you can get a room on the 4th floor, the view is amazing. However the downfall is there are no stairs so walking the stairs every time, with the altitude can sometimes play it's part on you.
Breakfast was a typical Peru hotel breakfast with juices, breads, fruit etc. Nothing extravagant but it does the job. The staff was great and worked with the local tour company to ensure I had a wake up call (I didn't even ask for it!) as well as having my boarding passes printed for my pick up to the airport. It's about a 10 minute walk to the Plaza de Armas where all the touristy places are. There isn't very much around the hotel, but it is safe. Enjoyed it very much.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melaniese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.2 mi away
Imperial Cusco Hotel
Imperial Cusco Hotel
#99 of 171 in Cusco
127 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Garcilaso
Hotel Garcilaso
#68 of 171 in Cusco
235 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inka Andina Hotel
Inka Andina Hotel
#135 of 171 in Cusco
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Antares Mystic Hotel
Antares Mystic Hotel
#82 of 171 in Cusco
224 reviews
0.4 mi away
Del Prado Inn
Del Prado Inn
#95 of 171 in Cusco
261 reviews
0.4 mi away
Eco Inn Cusco
Eco Inn Cusco
#33 of 171 in Cusco
1,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prisma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prisma Hotel

Address: Calle Matara 394, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 171 Hotels in Cusco
Price Range: $57 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Prisma Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 328
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Prisma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prisma Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing