We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, bright and lovely continental breakfast.”
Review of Prisma Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Prisma Hotel
Ranked #90 of 172 Hotels in Cusco
Reviewed April 3, 2012

I first stayed at this hotel in December 2009 while travelling with GAP Adventures. I returned again in April 2010 and stayed solo.

This is a great hotel, very clean and bright. My only suggestion when booking a room is to ask for an exterior room, as some do not have windows.

Great continental breakfast, wide selection of hot and cold.

Room Tip: If you're interested in a double bed, ask for a matrimonial suite. These are normally on the top...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CanadiansLovePeru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (512)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

255 - 261 of 512 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2012

Stayed here at the beginning and end of the G Adventures Inca Trail tour. It was a clean hotel, centrally located with nice sized rooms and bathrooms. We had two different rooms, one which faced onto the street and one with only an internal window so either a bit dark or noisy seems to be the choice.

The one lady at reception was always pretty grumpy but they did manage to wash 16 peoples dirty laundry overnight which was a welcome surprise.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traubs23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Prisma Hotel was a great place to stay for a few days. Nice buffet in the morning for breakfast. The rooms were nice and clean. Some rooms have flat screen TV's. No elevators. I stayed on the 3rd floor which was okay, but was out of breath because of the altitude by the time I reached my room! Some minor repairs during the day so a little noisy, but no big deal.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tavieg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights as part of a G adventures tour. The hotel is in a good location a short walk from the main plaza. The reception staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were large and extremely clean but not overly modern. The noise level is variable and depends on the location of your room (away from stairs is best) and the staff happily moved us when we complained about noise level. Breakfast spread was tasty. Overall we thought it was a charming small hotel and we would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

We stayed here before and after our Inca Trail with Gap Adventures and the hotel was fine, we werent expecting 5* luxury but what you do get is cleanliness, comfort and friendlines all the essentials really. The hotel doesnt have a lift, so that can pose somewhat of a problem especially with the change in altitude and being shattered but having done the trek whats a few flights of stairs lol!! We handed in some laundary and it was done within 24hours and wasnt expensive either. Our bathroom window also opened into the hallway (like stated in another review) which wasnt great but just put the tv on loud! The hotel location is great as you can walk to the square and all the restaurants and bars. Free wifi which is always useful.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sara_UK2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

We stayed here twice while traveling on an arranged tour with G Adventures (formerly GAP adventures). Our first night was when we arrived in Cusco, prior to our Lares Trek, and then the second night was several days later after our Lares Trek.

Our first impression of the place was favorable, friendly desk staff, fluent in English. Helpful doormen unloaded our bags from the shuttle to the lobby. They brought us coco tea while we gathered in the lobby to discuss our trip with our guide.

We soon realized the impact the altitude would have on us, as we had to carry our luggage up the 3 flights of stairs to our room. There are no elevators, and the hotel staff doesn't do this for you. Our room was outfitted with 2 twin beds (even though we were a couple) but we didn't complain. The bathroom window of our room opened into the hallway. This was a little odd knowing that everyone walking in the hallway could hear what is going on in your bathroom. The bedroom window opened to a middle courtyard below, and to the room directly across from us. No privacy there. The room was spartan. Just a bedside table to share and then a table and chair.

Our second room was on the other side of the hotel, which seemed more updated. this room had a double bed, an updated bathroom, a beautiful balcony overlooking the town, and a flat screen TV. How there are 2 totally different standards of accommodations in the same building I have no idea.

There is also a restaurant where we had dinner, this experience was standard. We were just too tired to go anywhere else. The restaurant also serves as the location for our complementary breakfast. I heard a rumor about eggs, but I never saw anyone eat them. There were hot cereals, puffed cereals, fruit, yogurt, breads, deli meats and cheeses, and spreads. There is always an assortment of teas (including coco tea).

The front desk was kind and will hold any of your valuables in a sealed envelope and in a safe at your request. We also kept our items in a storage room while we were on the trek, and we had no problems with security and getting everything back in the condition we left it.

This place is adequate as it was included in the price of my tour. If I were an independent traveler, I might look for something with more amenities and privacy.

Room Tip: The rooms on the left side of the hotel are newer/nicer than the ones on the right side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wrldxplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2012

Hotel was ok - it was part of a package pre-Inca Trail with Gap Adventures, I expect it probably costs c.$50 per night. Our first room smelled a bit damp and breakfast was not fantastic, but ok for the money. We stayed for the nights we had paid for but moved elsewhere (Rumi Punku Hotel) for a more luxurious recovery post-Inca Trail.

Room Tip: Try and get one with a view. Ours faced in to the lobby and had the potential to be quite noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Unumizu Cusco
Hotel Unumizu Cusco
#49 of 172 in Cusco
323 reviews
0.5 mi away
Amaru Hostal
Amaru Hostal
#35 of 172 in Cusco
792 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mirador de Santa Ana
Mirador de Santa Ana
#66 of 172 in Cusco
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Imperial Cusco Hotel
Imperial Cusco Hotel
#98 of 172 in Cusco
131 reviews
0.3 mi away
Antawasi Hotel
Antawasi Hotel
#78 of 172 in Cusco
211 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Golden Inca
Hotel Golden Inca
#40 of 172 in Cusco
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prisma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prisma Hotel

Address: Calle Matara 394, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 172 Hotels in Cusco
Price Range: $55 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Prisma Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 328
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Prisma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prisma Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing