We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfactory stay”
Review of Prisma Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Prisma Hotel
Ranked #96 of 170 Hotels in Cusco
Reviewed November 23, 2011

Pros: clean, Wifi in the room, staff are helpful. You can leave luggage in storage
Short walk to the plaza. Near a store for cheaper water and snacks.

Cons: no elevator, so if you're on the 3rd floor up, the altitude makes climbing the stairs so hard it leaves us out of breath each trip.
- a bit noisy since room faces the street

In summary, room was good enough, and had a relatively comfortable stay.

Room Tip: Try to get a floor on the first floor
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trosete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (493)
There are newer reviews for Prisma Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

258 - 264 of 493 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2011

After reading some peoples reviews on here I was already in the mind set that it was going to be a complete dive before I got there and I was thinking that I would have to get another hotel. But I was surprised. We stayed here for 2 nights as part of a GAP trip on the Inca Trail. Perfectly adequate for a pre/post tour hotel. I have had much worse in Europe! Rooms were clean and basic. TV, good showers (took a while to warm up) WIFI, bed was a bit hard, small shop downstairs for water etc. Good safe area close to the square. The restaurant was good and food nice. Front desk staff a little rude. We stayed the first night on the 4th floor at the rear of the hotel - this was good and quiet. Second night was on the 2nd floor overlooking the courtyard. This was not as good as there was no fresh air and quite loud from people in reception.

I would say if you get a good price for this hotel its fine however I am sure you can find better in Cusco. However great for GAP people.

Room Tip: at the rear of the building, not street fronting or overlooking the courtyard/reception
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gwillieis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Pros- Central. It is clean and the staff are very friendly.Secure and good location. WIFI ok and hot water comes eventually. It is noisy from being in a city and other guests coming and going. Great base for the Inca Trek.
Cons- Hard beds which is ironic as the street is full of mattress shops.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonJames2050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2011

My husband and I had the unfortunate experience of staying in the Prisma Hotel due to it's affiliation with Gap Adventures. We had booked to do the Inca Trail through Gap which ment we were to stay 2 nights at this dodgy hotel as part of the tour. We wanted to acclimatize for a few days before our trek so we spent 3 nights in the hotel before the trek and due to a mix up with our travel agent were there for another 3 nights after the trek, so 6 long nights in total.
The hotel is extremely noisy so don't expect to get any sleep. If it's not from people talking, slamming doors or stomping up and down the stairs it's from the traffic noise out side, and the incessant honking of horns.
The second night we were there we heard alot of comotion outside our door and a man yelling at someone to get out of his room, we found out the next morning that a woman had entered his room using a key, he said she appeared to be a prostitute, he ushered her down to reception but we are not sure what happens from there. Every night after that we slept with chairs and suitcases behind our door. We could not wait to leave.
The staff were extremely rude and ignorant and did not want to help with anything.
The restaurant in the hotel had decent food at cheap prices so we ate there most nights because we didnt want to walk the streets, only problem was having to deal with the waitress, she was rude and serving us seemed to inconvenience her greatly, everything was done with a grunt and a sour look on her face. We tried to order a second round of cocktails the night we returned from our trek and she bluntly said "no, I can't", we were shocked and ended up going to our room.

If you have the choice to pick your own hotel in Cuzco, do yourself a favor and spend a few dollars more and stay somewhere decent. If you are on a Gap tour, I'm very sorry!!!

We will never return to this hotel or recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 1761995traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

We stayed here for two nights as part of a GAP tour. It was almost like they knew they were booked up for the year with the poor suckers from a GAP tour and didn't have to try anymore more.
The rooms were standard (very dated), the beds were hard, the rooms were noisy (ours was near reception), the free internet was slow, and the staff were some of the rudest I met in Cusco (the restaurant staff at breakfast being particularly bad!)
On the plus side, they shower pressure is good (much needed after the Inca Trail) and the location is ok.
There are better (and cheaper places) to stay in Cusco, as we found out after we checked out!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amandypandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

we arrived in Cusco, and I had no idea of a couple of things,
1.the city is huge,
2. many of the shops, houses, etc are so very old.

The Prisma was not what I expected on an old street. It is an oasis! a gem amongst the old buildings; the atrium in the foyer with the balconies around it is light, refreshingly welcoming, and a lovely 'space' to be in, with the height of the roof so far above, and daylight streaming in. All of the rooms I saw were immaculate. Our room was big, very clean, lovely bed linen( it does make a difference after 2 days travelling and no sleep) and the bathroom spick and span, great shower. Our friend's rooms were the same. The staff were very helpful, especially when arranging for something for us to do one Sunday when a lot of tourist stuff is shut, they even told us what to expect to pay for a taxi, arranged the taxi - we did a day trip to Chincero. The food is awesome, especially breakfasts, fruit, cereals,great rolls, coffee, juice in abundance, and avocado, cucumber, cheese, etc. Coffee and hot milk are replenished quickly, a range of teas and coca leaves is always there. We did a trek for 4 days, and left our bags in a holding room, it is both secure, and cheap. Make sure though to pay the porter a tip, 10% is the going rate, and it is very little for a tourist! I also left them with a couple of souvenirs from my country. The hotel is close to the Plaza de Armes - short walk up the road and along a couple of streets, there are cafes galore, the supermarket over the road and up a block or so has everything, including icecreams, and the bread particularly is fantastico. We had dinner one night at the hotel, try the trout! Beautiful meal, I only had a mouthful, but should have ordered it, I had a pizza, it was good too though!Highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room higher up and on the left hand side as you head into the hotel side with a view as lo...
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kiwigoingabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2011

Stayed here on 3 seperate nights. The first two were part of a GAP adventures package. The 3rd was private (after returning from Puno) and cost us 50 USD - overpriced in my opinion.
Staff are generally helpful and have reasonable English though more complex requests can be met with baffled looks.
Very busy hotel with lots of tour groups coming and going and plenty of banging and crashing from 5am as the tour groups get ready to leave. Pack earplugs if you want a lie in. Breakfast starts at 0530 which is good for the day of your tour.
Rooms are pretty tired and like much of Peru, the drains in the bathroom can pong quite badly but thankfully not all the time.
Showers are hot and powerful which is exactly what you want after treking.
Lots of stairs and no lift and the internet access if you don´t have wifi is limited to one or two old and wheezy machines.
Did the job for a few days but I wouldn´t rush back. The continual use by tour groups probably means they have relaxed their standards a bit.

Room Tip: Maybe floors 2 or 3 would be a good bet. 4th floor is a real pain with loads of stairs, no lift and...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MattandPollyW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.2 mi away
Imperial Cusco Hotel
Imperial Cusco Hotel
#100 of 170 in Cusco
125 reviews
0.3 mi away
Antares Mystic Hotel
Antares Mystic Hotel
#82 of 170 in Cusco
224 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Garcilaso
Hotel Garcilaso
#66 of 170 in Cusco
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 170 in Cusco
1,492 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa de Mama Cusco Recoleta
0.1 mi away
Tecte Guest House
Tecte Guest House
#83 of 170 in Cusco
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prisma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prisma Hotel

Address: Calle Matara 394, Cusco, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 170 Hotels in Cusco
Price Range: $56 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Prisma Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 328
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Prisma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prisma Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing