We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So so but beter than Monarca around the corner”
Review of Hotel Awki's Dream

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Awki's Dream
Ranked #103 of 170 Hotels in Cusco
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Booked it for 6 nights over a period of 2 weeks. The first night we got there we were shown a room with no windows, fortunately I asked and got a better room. Basic room, looked clean. The problem was lack of hot water in the evening till morning and worst of all the shower leaked, we were a family of 4 and over the two days our bathroom floor was always flooded, aftre complaining repeatedly, the hotel staff did nothing so we cancelled the rest of the nights. Breakfast was ok.
We paiod $90p/n. There is another hotel called Monarca aroudn the corner, which is the worst hotel I have visited, unfortunately from Awki's dreamw e moved to Monarca which was even worse, between the two I would chose Awki's dream.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tashak73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (138)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Awki's Dream
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

66 - 72 of 139 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2012

This small hotel is very well run and clean. Breakfast was quite traditional which i liked and like so many places in Peru cocoa leave are available in the foyer to make tea to help offset the altitude sickness. hotel is reasonable walking distance, 10 minutes from the main centre and food is nearby. We didn't eat here except for Breakfast

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Igfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I stayed at this hotel as part of an Intrepid group. I liked this hotel the least out of all of the hotels I stayed in, in Peru. My room (203) window overlooked an inner cleaning area. The room did not feel clean although I did see staff cleaning. I was afraid to walk on the carpets with socks or bare feet. The TV had very poor reception. The rooms all overlook the lobby so are quite noisy, you will need ear plugs. On the plus side this hotel had the best breakfast buffet of all of the hotels I stayed in. Laundry is also very reasonable here, 5 soles per kilo. There is free Wi-fi. There is no elevator.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJCat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Spent 4 nights at this hotel and very happy to write a positive reveiw. Awki's dream is a small backsteet hotel 10 minutes walk from the main square of Cusco, the hotel and rooms are modern and very clean, bed was most comfortable and bathroom spotless with lovely hot water. The staff are very helpful and always very polite and cheerful, breakfast is of a very good standard too. Overall difficult to find anything to be negative about other than the noise you'll hear if you end up with a road facing room, i moved my room to the back of the hotel as there was availabilty and subsequently slept soundly...

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrahameHportsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Its a nice property but a little too far. About 8-10 blocks away from the plaza. We stayed in this property during high season at the end of july and early august. Hotel is nice and clean with very helpful and friendly staff. Rooms were clean and had heaters that were helpful at night. A few things we didn't like was the noise from early risers that can be heard in our rooms and only one person in the breakfast room cleaning tables, washing dishes, watching the buffet, and cooking during busy season. We were left waiting for a clean table as our time was running to get to our tour. The location seemed ok at first, it was fun to walk in a narrow one way street to the plaza, but the long distance, running out of air and hearing cars honking constantly quickly took their toll on us. Hearing cars honk in the morning in front of the hotel at all times of the day because of the one way street also makes for a rude awakening. So overall it was ok with the cleanliness and the friendly and professional staff, but next time I'll try something closer to the plaza.

Room Tip: Avoid street side. Cars honking early in the morning if you need to sleep late.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simplysadhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights during a trip to Cuzco and the Sacred Valley and was very happy with the hotel. I stayed in 2 different rooms, and found both to be clean and well equipped with a fridge, heater, TV and safe ,although the safe was a bit difficult to use. The bathrooms were nicely finished and the only small issue was that the shower was VERY powerful and hot! The beds were comfortable with lots of warm blankets - in fact I didn't even need to use the heater. I stayed for one night, then went to Aguas Calientes for one night to go to Machu Picchu. They stored my luggage for me, kept my valuables safe, and had my luggage waiting in my new room for my return. The hotel was in a good central location, about a 10 minute walk from the Plaza de Armas. There was a reasonable choice at breakfast, and coca tea was available free at any time. All in all I was very happy with the accommodation.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manic_travel_bug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Hotel overrall is ok, not far away from main square, and if you take the taxe it is about 3-5 soles from hotel to the main square. Rooms were ok, we resided in the fourth floor and there were not that many people in the hotel at this period. So, it was pretty quiet during the night. One and the biggest concern I had, it was that we have some problems with our flight and I had to make call to StarPeru. The receptionist guy could not dial the number, he tried Peru number and two States numbers and all the time He was telling me number is not working. I called StarPeru States number before leaving to Peru and everything was working. So, i think the receptionist guy did not know how to use the phone. Because of it we had to run to the airport to find out what is going on and in case to catch the earlier flight. We still planned to stay half day in Cusco, but because phones are not working in hotel we had to change our plans desperately. Also, we ask hotel for the cab from airport to hotel, and nobody was waiting us when we landed in Cusco, so we took a cab from airport ourselves. The hotel receptionist told us she ordered it. So it was couple of things that dissapointed me about this hotel. Also, breakfast was fine i do not have any complains on this part.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank zydreb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.2 mi away
Wakapunku Hotel Boutique
0.6 mi away
Tecte Guest House
Tecte Guest House
#83 of 170 in Cusco
42 reviews
0.4 mi away
Del Prado Inn
Del Prado Inn
#93 of 170 in Cusco
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Monasterio San Pedro
0.6 mi away
Hotel Casablanca Cusco
Hotel Casablanca Cusco
#149 of 170 in Cusco
92 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Misters Inkas
Hotel Misters Inkas
#144 of 170 in Cusco
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Awki's Dream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Awki's Dream

Address: Calle Collacalle 310 - 312, Cusco Cusco 01, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 170 Hotels in Cusco
Price Range: $72 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Awki's Dream 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located three blocks from the main square in the city of Cusco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Otel, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Awki's Dream reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing