We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Wonderful colonial style building” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Andina Private Collection Arequipa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Andina Private Collection Arequipa
Ranked #8 of 91 Hotels in Arequipa
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
55 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Wonderful colonial style building”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This city centre hotel is very conveniently located for those wishing to walk around the old streets and sites. The general areas are situated in an old mint building and the rooms are in a modern addition at the back. The bedrooms are a good size and well-equipped and the other rooms are a spacious, stone architectural delight. The restaurant serves up good, but rather pricey. evening meals (and even pricier fizzy water!). The breakfast buffet has plenty of choice - although it is very cold sitting eating outside in the Arequipa winter and the waiters tend to hover over one too closely.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pseudonymity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    534
    270
    64
    17
    9
See reviews for
146
470
37
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
255 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We were in Peru for 23 days, and stayed at many, many hotels, and I can highly recommended a stay at Casa Andina PC. It was a splendid experience.

From the moment our driver dropped us at the gates we were treated with great care and respect. Our bags were quickly gathered from the van, as we were seamlessly ushered to the office for a quick check in. Shortly after we were off to a wonderful 2 room suite in the historic part of the building (room 102) which is in the inner courtyard. I was a little concerned about the noise from the courtyard, but the walls of the room were very thick and this was not a problem. The very polite and attentive bell boy gave us the the history of the hotel, and answered the many questions we peppered him with in PERFECT English as he explained all the room functions. He even came back to open the door when we came back from dinner, as I could not manage to get the old fashion key to work. As some have noted, this may not have 5 star linens, or bedding, but it is visually lovely, in a great location, and offers very comfortable accommodations.

Breakfast offered many choices, and we really enjoyed the wonderful omelets cooked on the outdoor heated patio. We did not eat in the dining room for dinner, as we had other recommendations. The dining room did look beautiful, but there were very few people dining when we were there for 2 nights.

If you do stay and are not on a budget give Zig Zag restaurant a try, it's a nice stroll from the hotel. It is very safe to go out at night in the old town area.

Bottled water was provided in the rooms, along with robes, and a safe. The main courtyard is a fabulous place to rest, recover after a day of travel or site seeing. Sit out on the lovely couches and enjoy a drink from the bar.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelwithnise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights in a Senior Suite (#102). Given the price and "private collection" brand, we expected more. No serious issues, just doesn't compare to some recent luxury stays elsewhere. No question the hotel architecture is beautiful in the common areas and suite. However, some details are lacking. The king bed wasn't overly comfortable, sheets not highest quality, pillows tired. Other things you come to expect in higher end hotels weren't there..."Bose" audio system, quality coffee maker (instead of kettle and instant coffee pouch), turn down, granite, etc. Also, aside from the amazing ceiling, the bathroom looked like one you might find at a 3-star hotel (eg. acrylic shower tub). Concierge was helpful but not always properly informed. Breakfast was good with average service.

The location is excellent. This may be the best hotel in the area but for the price would consider other options next time.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DZ44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaAndina_CS, Propietario at Casa Andina Private Collection Arequipa, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear guest,

We kindly appreciate your time in sharing with us your recent experience at our hotel.

We regret that we did not meet your expectations and we sincerely apologize for the inconveniences that you found within our rooms. It is very important for us to provide our guests with the best quality and service experience that reflects our brand. Therefore, we will certainly take into consideration every single one of your comments.

On the other side, we are pleased to know that you enjoyed our preferred location, as well as our breakfast.

Once again, thank you for choosing Private Collection Arequipa, and we hope to receive you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

The Casa Andina Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princes Risborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
271 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Lovely old building with decent sized rooms just 3 minutes walk from main square. Rooms are modern and clean and spacious.

Staff very helpful and arranged chemist to bring tablets to hotel for me. Also made restaurant booking.

Upper terrace is sun trap with great views of the volcanoes. Free WiFi in rooms and 2 internet PCs as well.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
122 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

What a pbeasure !!! I booked a suite and this a simple one of the nicest hotel i went to.

Really well located into arequipa historic center.

Friendly staff.

Breakfast is really good

And the suite we had was so big!!

This is a really Nice experience in peru.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thierry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbrook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

the original building of this hotel is, as the reviews say, beautiful and interesting. Unfortunately most of the rooms are in a ugly, featureless, us-motel style building out back - with tired old furniture and windows that don't open (meaning in our case we were able to enjoy the smell of cooking on the landing). We found it very disappointing.

Room Tip: insist on the old part or, in our view, don't go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Benenden2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaAndina_CS, Propietario at Casa Andina Private Collection Arequipa, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear guest,

We appreciate you shared your experience at our Private Collection Arequipa, since this represents an opportunity for improvement.

We regret we didn’t meet your expectations this time. We would like to mention, that the main building is made of Arequipa’s emblematic volcanic stone “sillar” and it dates from the 18th century, when it used to be the city’s Mint House. Most of our rooms, except form our suites, are located on an adjacent building that was constructed for lodging purposes. However, we are sorry to know that it did not meet your expectations. Regarding the windows, they are sound proofed and this is the reason why they cannot be opened.

Kind regards,

The Casa Andina Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

If you travel to Arequipa, you gotta stay in this hotel.
We enjoyed our time there, the hotel itself is build with white stones, it think it was an old monastery. which gives this magical atmosphere. I highly recommend. Service wonderful and the breakfast we love it!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank appost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Libertador Arequipa
Hotel Libertador Arequipa
#3 of 91 in Arequipa
4.5 of 5 stars 622 reviews
0.3 mi away
Los Tambos
Los Tambos
#1 of 91 in Arequipa
5.0 of 5 stars 941 reviews
0.3 mi away
Katari Hotel at Plaza de Armas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel
0.3 mi away
Casa Andina Select Arequipa
1.0 mi away
Casa Andina Classic Arequipa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Andina Private Collection Arequipa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Andina Private Collection Arequipa

Property: Casa Andina Private Collection Arequipa
Address: Calle Alfonso Ugarte 403, Cercado, Arequipa 01, Peru
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Arequipa
#6 Romantic Hotel in Arequipa
#6 Business Hotel in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Andina Private Collection Arequipa 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Andina Private Collection Arequipa is raised on the old "Casa de la Moneda" (old Mint), a national historic landmark built in 1794, what makes our hotel more a living museum than a hotel. It's strategic location only a few blocks from the Plaza de Armas in Arequipa makes it the ideal choice for business and leisure travelers. It features 40 rooms - 100 % non-smokers, among an Imperial Suite and two Senior Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Casa Andina Private Collection Arequipa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Andina Private Collection Arequipa Hotel Arequipa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing