We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“arequipa shows its hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Posada Nueva Espana
Ranked #10 of 99 Hotels in Arequipa
Certificate of Excellence
san francisco ca
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“arequipa shows its hospitality”
Reviewed June 8, 2010

we stayed at this hotel for about three days, and i have to say they were most accommodating.
the father picked us up at the bus terminal, what a chatty but welcoming man.
we were able to leave our bags here while we checked out a few days to check out some of the surrounding areas. its a great location, away from the city by 10 minute walk.while we were there they were in the process of expanding the hotel

the owners son was wonderful, he provided us with some great information about where to go and what to see in this wonderful city.
we all sat up one night til about 1am and all chatted while we got a bit hungry he ordered us a pizza ... as he stated anything is possible in ariquipa

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    59
    10
    7
    1
See reviews for
46
128
29
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2010

This hotel, a converted 19th-century home, is located in a residential neighborhood about a 15 minute walk from the main tourist sights. It is away from traffic and tourists. Walking is pleasant and provides glimpses of daily life. The only negative is barking dogs, so bring good earplugs. The owners are extremely helpful.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnvinton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford, uk
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2010

this was a good steer - we wouldn't have stumbled across this excellent place as it is a little out of town. the owner picked us up from the bus terminal in person and made us very welcome. there are great advantages in being out of town, one being that it is in a quiet street with little traffic, but more importantly, the "commute" into the centre on foot (10-15 mins) was one of the chief enjoyments of our stay. After a stroll down a street of old houses that have not had the fortune to be restored like the Posada (which dates from 1810), there is a bridge over a ravine (the puente de Bolognesi) which gives excellent views of the volcanoes that tower over the city, and look different each time you see them. Then, there is a single narrowish street that runs up to the central square (the Plaza de Armas). This is one of the most interesting and charming streets we have ever walked along. Its myriad small businesses, each crammed into adjoining archways, are lively at every hour of the day, and most of the evening. They range from saddlers and leatherworkers, to guitar makers, and there's always someone making something or strumming away. Interspersed with these workshops, there is a great selection of tiny eateries cheerfully competing for the (mainly local) trade. You can get excellent ceviche here, and the set meals include the most delicious soup. By the time you get to the Plaza itself, you are back in tourist-land, and you will get accosted by waiters with menus who will try and get you into their (often empty) establishments to eat indifferent food at literally ten times the price.
The Posada has a great sunny terrace for leisurely breakfasts and the staff are extremely charming and helpful. We could happily have stayed much longer, as Arequipa is the loveliest (and most Spanish) of South American cities we have visited.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank binger555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2010

This Hotel is artistic, close to all the important tourist attractions in Arequipa, The rooms, the dining area, the breakfast terrace, cafeteria lounge, reception hall, and the in-house garden area and the paintings are of excellent quality, when compared with the price per room per night.
The Grandfather, "El Papi", is an expert in making people feel at home and manages to make the guests feel at home with an informal and friendly attitude. He knows a number of Peruvian Legends and International Traditions that one enjoys making conversation with this knowledgeable gentleman.
He and his sons and daughters manage the Hotel very well. They arrange pick up rides from the airport and bus station, irrespective of the lateness of the night. We arrived at this Hotel rather late at night; so instead of making us go through the registration process, El Papi and his son let us retire to our room and rest. The registration process was duly completed in the early morning by El Papi. We just gave him our US Passports and the Peruvian Entry Documents. After the registration, the Passports along with all the connected papers were duly and promptly returned to us by him.
El Papi takes time to explain all the important things to do while in Arequipa. Talks about various tours, the difficulty levels, the total time needed for such tours, and refers us to good tourist agencies.
The people there are kind enough to let us leave our baggage with them after vacating the room, without any additional cost. They also let us stay in their cafeteria and/or reception lounge till our flight/bus departure time. For taking us to the bus station, late at 9:30 P.M., El Papi insists that we go with a taxi driver that is known to him personally, so that we might not be inconvenienced in any respect at the late hour.
The Hotel is a focus of International Community -- many pictures from many countries/civilizations are seen here; currencies and coins of many countries can be sen here; small flags of different countries adorn the walls; paintings made by satisfied young guests (children) deck the log book that El Papi proudly maintains.
In fact, knowing that we (The Prabhakars: Rathna and Rao, Texas, USA) are originally from India, he made us write a few sentences in his Log Book about our experiences in his Hotel, in our own languages. Rathna wrote her observations in Hindi and I wrote them in Tamil.
Simply put, and again reiterating the fact, Hotel Posada Nueva Espana is not just a Hotel, but a Cultural Beehive, not only because of its unique architectural beauty, but also because of the tolerance and open-mindedness of El Papi and his wife and his children, towards people of all countries, color, race, and ethnicity.
We will strongly recommend this Hotel as an excellent price leader in Arequipa for prospective visitors, who are looking for comfort and friendly people at the Hotel.

Rathna and Rao Prabhakar, Texas, USA

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Armadillo2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2010

Nice place in safe and quiet area. Not too far from city center. We payed for private taxi only 3 soles (Around 1US$) to downtown. For us everything was an excelent place. Family run and easy chat. You feel like at home. New year sharing with them in cosy atmosphere.
Cristina from Barcelona-Spain.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CRISBCNBarcelona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 30, 2009

We stayed here for 3 nigths in this lovely and quite place...They picked us up from the airport gratuit. The breaksfast on the patio was wonderful... eggs, fruits, juice of the fruit... delicious. The rooms very comfortables and clean... The very friendly owner and the nice workers... we don't believe they are racist... We have spent some very pleasant days in this beautiful place. We would recommend this excellent hotel, especially to families and couples.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank celesteNantes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lanzerote
1 review
Reviewed November 10, 2009

I am from Spain, from Lanzerote, my wife found by internet this hotel because of its name, NUEVA ESPANA, in Arequipa Peru, but it was just a terrible experience, they are racister, i mean the owners (a family somehow), we saw how they treat the people who works with them, just as slaves because they are indians, I have to add that the owner is a french mand married to a peruvian, he was the worst of all of them. They treat us ok, no problem but please, try another one in the center. This hotel is really far from the center really far and in a dangerous area. Koko y sabrina.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jorge-sabrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
0.5 mi away
Las Torres de Ugarte
Las Torres de Ugarte
#8 of 99 in Arequipa
493 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel
0.7 mi away
Casa de Avila - For Travellers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Los Tambos
Los Tambos
#2 of 99 in Arequipa
1,077 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Boutique Villa Elisa
0.4 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Arequipa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Nueva Espana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Nueva Espana

Property: Posada Nueva Espana
Address: Calle Antiquilla 106 | Yanahuara, Arequipa, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Arequipa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Arequipa
#8 Family Hotel in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada Nueva Espana 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada Nueva Espana is an antique colonial building located in the traditional neighbourhood of Yanahuara. Yanahuara is located on the left side Chili's river and the particularity are the small streets and the small flowerpots at the walls outside the houses where you will find our old house built in 1810 showing beautiful architecture with two blocks of rooms. One of them is a modern complex and the other one with traditional rooms. We are close to the commercial zone and touristic places to visit in town. We are just 12 minutes walking from Plaza de Armas. On the road you will croos Bolognesi bridge where is possible to see the 3 volcanos in Arequipa: Misti, Chachani and Pichu-Pichu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Posada Nueva Espana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Nueva Espana Arequipa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing