We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfied!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Posada Nueva Espana
Ranked #10 of 100 Hotels in Arequipa
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Satisfied!”
Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

Highly recommend! Probably one of the best placecs we've been while travelling in Peru. Nice owners always available ad helpful, nice place and silent location. Rooms always clean and well furnished. Hot water and WiFi working well. Can't complain!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Elisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    61
    10
    7
    1
See reviews for
47
129
29
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2014

We cant agree moreč with all the reviewers wha just loved this place, so did we. Owners are very nice people and Jose´s ability to talk differrent european languages makes him one in a million in South America. he was always quite helpful as well as the others, even when they did not spek english. breakfasts were allright as was the shower, but i had not much sleep in there. beds vere quite hard to my liking, i had to do some practice in the morning to be able to go on, but was not able to sleep more then some 5 hours in there

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManaPet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2014

though this hotel is over the bridge from the city center, it is packed full of charm and style. well worth the extra walk. Run by 3 generations of the family who are friendly and helpful. The rooms are spacious, cool and quiet. they look out into the courtyards of the hotel. Breakfast is served on the roof with views of the city and the surrounding volcanoes. Arequipa is a beautiful city of white stone colonial buildings

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

Don't wanna bother you with the details. Places like this is the reason to why I travel the world! 5 points from Denmark!

(Very) hot water
Great included breakfast
Good wifi
Great beds
Private rooms and showers
Fresh and clean towels and bed linen

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Blicher69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a couple of nights before and after a Cayon del Colca trip. The posada itself is very colorful, peacefull and has an authentic feel. The rooms are spacious and clean. The beds were however are bit on the small side and we didn't have hot water one morning.

The family who owns and runs the posada are extremely friendly. Although they do not all speak English, they try their best to communicate clearly. They were very helpfull and flexible. For example, they arranged that our laundry was done in only a couple of hours so we would be able to go on the Canyon del Colca trek one day earlier and it was no problem to change our reservation at the posada at the last moment. The breakfast was fantastic with eggs and fruit etc. It is a 10 minute walk to Plaza de Armas, or a 7 soles taxi ride. We would come back here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cath123_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile


This family run hotel couldn't be more welcoming and friendly. The traditional style building has a warm feeling and it is only a ten minute walk from the main square. The free internet was and big plus as was the helpfulness of the staff when assisting with my queries. If I am lucky enough to go to Arequipa again I will definitely be staying here.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 27, 2014

A beautiful 200 year old home in a relatively quiet part of town. 20 minute walk to city center, but they will arrange taxis without any problem. Lovely courtyard with traditional Spanish flooring. Rooms were clean, comfortable, and the shower was large and had plenty of hot water. The 'papa' is a character and will talk your ear off (in Spanish) about what I gather was his experience marching with Martin Luther King. Breakfast was decent, but nothing exceptional. The manager/son? was quite charming and helpful and very concerned that everything was to our liking. The place had a great 'feel' - we would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
0.5 mi away
Las Torres de Ugarte
Las Torres de Ugarte
#8 of 100 in Arequipa
501 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casa de Avila - For Travellers
0.7 mi away
Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Los Tambos
Los Tambos
#2 of 100 in Arequipa
1,088 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Casona De Jerusalen Traveler's Hostel
1.1 mi away
Hotel Boutique Villa Elisa
Hotel Boutique Villa Elisa
#1 of 100 in Arequipa
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Nueva Espana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Nueva Espana

Property: Posada Nueva Espana
Address: Calle Antiquilla 106 | Yanahuara, Arequipa, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Arequipa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Arequipa
#8 Family Hotel in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada Nueva Espana 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada Nueva Espana is an antique colonial building located in the traditional neighbourhood of Yanahuara. Yanahuara is located on the left side Chili's river and the particularity are the small streets and the small flowerpots at the walls outside the houses where you will find our old house built in 1810 showing beautiful architecture with two blocks of rooms. One of them is a modern complex and the other one with traditional rooms. We are close to the commercial zone and touristic places to visit in town. We are just 12 minutes walking from Plaza de Armas. On the road you will croos Bolognesi bridge where is possible to see the 3 volcanos in Arequipa: Misti, Chachani and Pichu-Pichu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Posada Nueva Espana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Nueva Espana Arequipa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing