We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Satisfied!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Posada Nueva Espana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Posada Nueva Espana
Ranked #9 of 91 Hotels in Arequipa
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Satisfied!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

Highly recommend! Probably one of the best placecs we've been while travelling in Peru. Nice owners always available ad helpful, nice place and silent location. Rooms always clean and well furnished. Hot water and WiFi working well. Can't complain!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Elisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    50
    9
    7
    1
See reviews for
42
110
25
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague
Level Contributor
108 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We cant agree moreč with all the reviewers wha just loved this place, so did we. Owners are very nice people and Jose´s ability to talk differrent european languages makes him one in a million in South America. he was always quite helpful as well as the others, even when they did not spek english. breakfasts were allright as was the shower, but i had not much sleep in there. beds vere quite hard to my liking, i had to do some practice in the morning to be able to go on, but was not able to sleep more then some 5 hours in there

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ManaPet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

though this hotel is over the bridge from the city center, it is packed full of charm and style. well worth the extra walk. Run by 3 generations of the family who are friendly and helpful. The rooms are spacious, cool and quiet. they look out into the courtyards of the hotel. Breakfast is served on the roof with views of the city and the surrounding volcanoes. Arequipa is a beautiful city of white stone colonial buildings

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

Don't wanna bother you with the details. Places like this is the reason to why I travel the world! 5 points from Denmark!

(Very) hot water
Great included breakfast
Good wifi
Great beds
Private rooms and showers
Fresh and clean towels and bed linen

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Blicher69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a couple of nights before and after a Cayon del Colca trip. The posada itself is very colorful, peacefull and has an authentic feel. The rooms are spacious and clean. The beds were however are bit on the small side and we didn't have hot water one morning.

The family who owns and runs the posada are extremely friendly. Although they do not all speak English, they try their best to communicate clearly. They were very helpfull and flexible. For example, they arranged that our laundry was done in only a couple of hours so we would be able to go on the Canyon del Colca trek one day earlier and it was no problem to change our reservation at the posada at the last moment. The breakfast was fantastic with eggs and fruit etc. It is a 10 minute walk to Plaza de Armas, or a 7 soles taxi ride. We would come back here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cath123_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile


This family run hotel couldn't be more welcoming and friendly. The traditional style building has a warm feeling and it is only a ten minute walk from the main square. The free internet was and big plus as was the helpfulness of the staff when assisting with my queries. If I am lucky enough to go to Arequipa again I will definitely be staying here.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

A beautiful 200 year old home in a relatively quiet part of town. 20 minute walk to city center, but they will arrange taxis without any problem. Lovely courtyard with traditional Spanish flooring. Rooms were clean, comfortable, and the shower was large and had plenty of hot water. The 'papa' is a character and will talk your ear off (in Spanish) about what I gather was his experience marching with Martin Luther King. Breakfast was decent, but nothing exceptional. The manager/son? was quite charming and helpful and very concerned that everything was to our liking. The place had a great 'feel' - we would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
0.5 mi away
Las Torres de Ugarte
Las Torres de Ugarte
#5 of 91 in Arequipa
4.5 of 5 stars 444 reviews
0.6 mi away
Los Tambos
Los Tambos
#1 of 91 in Arequipa
5.0 of 5 stars 936 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casa de Avila - For Travellers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel
0.8 mi away
La Casa de Melgar Hostal
La Casa de Melgar Hostal
#12 of 91 in Arequipa
4.0 of 5 stars 345 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Casona De Jerusalen Traveler's Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Nueva Espana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Nueva Espana

Property: Posada Nueva Espana
Address: Calle Antiquilla 106 | Yanahuara, Arequipa, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Arequipa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Arequipa
#8 Family Hotel in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada Nueva Espana 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Posada Nueva Espana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Nueva Espana Arequipa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing