We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Posada Nueva Espana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Posada Nueva Espana to your Saves list
Posada Nueva Espana
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Antiquilla 106 | Yanahuara, Arequipa, Peru   |  
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 92 Hotels in Arequipa
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A real home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

We agree with everything positive that has been said about this hotel, but we want to emphasize how amazingly comfortable, cozy and clean it was, and how friendly, affable and helpful the staff was. They were so nice that it felt like we were friends.

We want to also address some of the criticism this hotel has gotten regarding its location. Posada is located on the other side of the river Chili, only a few blocks away from the main square. This area is especially nice exactly because it is a little further from the centre, and thus more tranquil than the busy central area. The area is inhabited mostly by locals and is safe and clean. Essentially, it is a very normal neighbourhood.

Room Tip: The rooms located on the side of the inner yard are very quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anu859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
East Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Wow. I cannot say enough good things about our experience at Posada Nueva Espana. Our bus came in at 6am from Cusco and when we arrived at the Posada the grandfather was just coming in with a newspaper. He welcomed us and gave us a room right away and told us to rest and that we could have tea and coffee in a few minutes. It was a full breakfast (we thought)! They did not charge us for being an early check-in either. Then the owner checked us in later and went over a map of Arequipa, showing us how to get everywhere we were interested in going and showing us the shadier area not to go. I loved his honesty! The family lives in an apartment right in the hotel and they were always there to help with anything. We loved the grandfather who told us about a nearby restuarant, Los Capitalos, which is true Peruvian and awesome!
The room was clean and the lady they have hired as the house help was sooo sweet. The next day we got a HUGE breakfast with eggs and fruit and tea, coffee, bread, ect. Our flight did not leave until after check-out time and they let us stay anyhow. Such nice people, a lovely posada, and very close to everything important in Arequipa. You can't miss seeing Mt. Misti too! Many thanks to Posada Nueva Espana's family.

Room Tip: Any room is perfect! They even have cable TV if you need some Spanish lessons!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennykr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

We stayed here before and after our trip to the Colca Canyon.
We had a room in the original part of the house. Perfect!
Clean, quiet and very safe. Super location--nice walk into the
main square. A 3 minute walk to a great supermarket with lots of ready made food.
The owners made sure all our needs were met. Arranged for our 2day overnight tour of the Colca Canyon in a perfect hotel and stored our luggage.
A delicious breakfast served in the morning on the veranda.
Spanish, English, French and German spoken.
WIFI is free and fast.
Do not stay anywhere but HERE when in Arequipa!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phyllis667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I liked being here so much I extended my stay by four nights. From the moment I arrived Grandfather Antonio reminded me that their guests were friends and not strangers - and that's exactly how it was. So much so that he would give me daily coaching on my Spanish, and advice on books to help. My room was cleaned daily and always spotless. The breakfast was gently provided by one of their staff - delicious juice, fruit and choice of eggs...Tonio, son on reception, was hugely helpful with the many sites to see in Arequipa (and there are many!) including ones that are off the beaten track - make sure you go to the Convent of Recoleta near the hotel and see the amazing library. Tonio also helped me book my Colca Canyon trip, advising me of the differences between the different tour agencies. If you are in Arequipa, you can't miss the Canyon - and I was pleased I went for the two night option there, lots of trekking possibilities. Also, don't miss Museo Santuarios Andinos. The hotel is a short walk from the main square - it was a relief to be away from the touristic bustle of the centre and also near a supermarket to pick up any things that I needed. Only a couple of days since I left and it feels too long.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elena2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Don't be fooled by the surrounding neighbourhood. This hotel is charming, the owner very friendly and helpful, and the breakfast delicious up on the outdoor patio. Free wifi, cable TV, and hot showers.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chelsey V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornsby, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed in the family room (1 double, 2 single beds) and everything was perfect. The room was clean, beds comfortable, Wifi fast in the room, quiet , no heating but wasn't necessary. The owners were exceptional , They provided any help we could think of. We could store our luggage for the day we went to colca canyon ad we could leave our valuables in their safety deposit box. Secure parking was round the corner for 15 soles per day. It was a 10 min walk to plaza de armas and a bigger supermarket was 3 min away. The breakfast was outstanding and the best we had so far: a fresh fruit bowl, omelette/ fried egg, fruit juice, bred rolls, butter, jam and a mix of different teas or coffee (instant). The owners even waved us good bye. All in all a 10/10 experience  and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussimaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cusco, Peru
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We got a warm welcome and a lot of information about the city from the staff. We could use their facilities, like kitchen and luggage storage. The room was clean, enough space and it had a nice hot shower. The beautiful terrace with delicious breakfast in the sun was the best! A place to recommend!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nschouenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
0.6 mi away
Los Tambos
Los Tambos
#1 of 92 in Arequipa
5.0 of 5 stars 832 reviews
0.5 mi away
Las Torres de Ugarte
Las Torres de Ugarte
#9 of 92 in Arequipa
4.5 of 5 stars 380 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Libertador Arequipa
Hotel Libertador Arequipa
#5 of 92 in Arequipa
4.5 of 5 stars 438 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Casona De Jerusalen Traveler's Hostel
0.5 mi away
Casa Andina Private Collection Arequipa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Nueva Espana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Nueva Espana

Address: Calle Antiquilla 106 | Yanahuara, Arequipa, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Arequipa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Arequipa
#8 Family Hotel in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada Nueva Espana 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Posada Nueva Espana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Nueva Espana Arequipa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing