We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, but the localization…”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Posada Nueva Espana
Ranked #10 of 97 Hotels in Arequipa
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, but the localization…”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

The website Booking says the hotel is about 500m from the Plaza de Armas, that's not true, it's about 1km and some meters, just check on Google Maps. If I knew it, I would have looked for a hotel closer to the Plaza.

Positive points:
Clean rooms
Lovely staff
Good breakfast

Negative points:
It's not so close to the Plaza de Armas, the owner said that the path until there is not dangerous, but I didn't feel safe walking around there at night. It's about 15min walking.
The room we stayed at was a little bit dark

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana Carolina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    56
    9
    7
    1
See reviews for
43
121
28
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

Considering the excellent reviews on Tripadvisor, we were surprised and disappointed by our stay at Posada Nueva Espana. Many reviewers commented on the lovely service, but the worst thing about this place was the service! The hotel owner, Antonio, lacks care or concern for guests and misleads them (at best) or lies to them (at worst). He put us in a room which had construction overhead, without warning us in advance that this would cause noise early in the morning, and that the water would be cut off without notice. When we asked for another blanket because we were cold, he seemed very inconvenienced about it. When we asked to move to a less noisy room, he did not explain that this room did not have wi-fi (he had warned us about this in the first room, but not the second). It turns out that there WAS wi-fi, he had just disconnected it from that section of the hotel, and when we asked about it, he was reluctant to explain and said that we could use the other wi-fi, but that it occasionally dropped out. What he meant was that he unplugged it without warning. Eventually he explained something about this wi-fi interfering with the other one, used by the other guests, and that he wouldn't want the other guests to complain (what about us?!?). My husband was unwell during our time there, and although I explained this to Antonio, he did not once ask about my husband's wellbeing.

Other than the appalling service and the noise of construction, the hotel beds were small and uncomfortable, with sheets that didn't fit them properly and slid off the mattress, and thin pillows. The rooms were reasonably clean, but could have been maintained better (the wooden floor had splinters, the walls were cracked, and the lamps were poorly wired with ill-fitting lampshades thrown over the top of them). The breakfast is hearty, including a lot of delicious fresh fruit, but there is no real coffee: only instant. The hotel is a 15-minute walk to Plaza de Armas. Considering the range of hotels of equal or better quality (and much lower price!) available in the old city centre itself, I cannot recommend Posada Nueva España to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Morphile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

Antonio was wonderful with help on travel tips and arrangements. Rooms are nice. Our only complaint was thatthe Wi fi is weak in the rooms and that we did not have enough hot water in the family size room down stairs. Antonio had this fixed the same day.
Overly we had a great stay there and would come back again. Mainly due to the helpful staff.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markbergman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

This restored colonial building is a charming, relaxing place that has it's own unique history - very much in keeping with the Spanish colonial architecture that Arequipa is famous for.

The rooms are of a good standard considering the price, the staff and the family who own and run the hotel are very friendly, helpful and accommodating. Yes, the location can be hard to find but if you take the time to make a mental note of your surroundings as you leave you will find that although it's hidden away, it's not difficult to find your way back after exploring the city centre - which is less than 15 minutes walk away (and a very enjoyable 15 minutes walk at that) and of course, the hotel owner also gives you a map along with helpful tips of how to make the most of your time in Arequipa. The hotel's location also means it is just 5 minutes walk away from Yanahuara, one of the oldest parts of the city with great restaurants (El Nuevo Palamino), plenty of Spanish colonial buildings built with the local white volcanic rock and good views of the El Misti, one of 3 volcanoes that dominate the city's skyline.

The hotel has a very pleasant courtyard and eating area plus there is free wifi throughout the building.

My only criticism is that, as practically all the rooms look out into the courtyard, if you happen to stay whilst a group of late night drinkers are staying, you might have trouble getting an early nights sleep but, having said that, we never had any problems with sleeping.

Overall, a great hotel for the price in what is easily my favourite Peruvian city.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank globalvillageidiot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

A beautiful old colonial house with a great atmosphere. We felt like being at home during our stay here, actually we really felt like being part of the family! Close to the city centre and just few meters from nice restaurants. Probably the best hotel we ever stayed...!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IlMede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

We are a family of four - Mum and Dad with our children aged 13 and 12. We spent 4 nights at this hotel and thoroughly enjoyed every moment of it. We had an excellent room; clean, comfortable, quiet and plenty of hot water. Breakfast on the terrace was always a great way to start the day before heading off to explore the city, the centre of which was within comfortable walking distance. Antonio and his father (grandfather) were fantastic hosts, giving us lots of relevant information, accommodating; arranging transport, storing luggage, organising laundry and adding to the overall enjoyment of our stay. Add to this the very reasonable rates and I don't think you can go wrong. Of our five week journey through Peru this stay was definitely one of the highlights.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oslo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

The hotel is very nice, the staff is fantastic, if you ask for any help the matter whatever..they do everything to help you. It is quiet area during both day and night. We had some wonderfull days at this hotel :)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank vivi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
0.5 mi away
Los Tambos
Los Tambos
#2 of 97 in Arequipa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
0.5 mi away
Las Torres de Ugarte
Las Torres de Ugarte
#7 of 97 in Arequipa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Boutique Villa Elisa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Casa de Avila - For Travellers
0.7 mi away
La Casa de Melgar Hostal
La Casa de Melgar Hostal
#11 of 97 in Arequipa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Nueva Espana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Nueva Espana

Property: Posada Nueva Espana
Address: Calle Antiquilla 106 | Yanahuara, Arequipa, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Arequipa
#5 Best Value Hotel in Arequipa
#8 Family Hotel in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada Nueva Espana 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada Nueva Espana is an antique colonial building located in the traditional neighbourhood of Yanahuara. Yanahuara is located on the left side Chili's river and the particularity are the small streets and the small flowerpots at the walls outside the houses where you will find our old house built in 1810 showing beautiful architecture with two blocks of rooms. One of them is a modern complex and the other one with traditional rooms. We are close to the commercial zone and touristic places to visit in town. We are just 12 minutes walking from Plaza de Armas. On the road you will croos Bolognesi bridge where is possible to see the 3 volcanos in Arequipa: Misti, Chachani and Pichu-Pichu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Posada Nueva Espana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Nueva Espana Arequipa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing