We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden costs, poor value for money”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Casona Solar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Casona Solar
Ranked #5 of 168 Arequipa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Collingwood
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hidden costs, poor value for money”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

Beware all travellers! Although this hostel is in a lovely spot and the staff are tidy and helpful, prices seem to have gone up hugely from every guidebook and the prices on the hostel website are misleading. Extra charges and hidden costs were added without warning to our bill, and we observed that we were not the only ones that this happened to. We strongly recommend that if you would like good value for money staying in this beautiful city, then DO NOT stay.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Caleb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    76
    21
    10
    8
See reviews for
37
97
21
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

Some guidebooks may show this as Hostal Casona Solar. It's the same place but is defo a hotel now. And a gorgeous one at that, a couple of blocks from the Plaza de Armas. You walk through the front door and instantly you've escaped from the chaos outside. Excellent breakfasts cooked by supremely attentive Abél. Main morning receptionist can appear a bit gruff at first but she lightens up as she gets to know you. Staff generally are very keen to help. We requested an evening check-out and were given the rooms for free for the day. We went away for a trip to the Colca Canyon and they happily looked after our luggage. We booked a double room on our return and were lucky to be given a suite - on the left in the first courtyard as you walk in. The bed was the biggest we've ever slept in! Note that the website isn't completely accurate about the no. and type of rooms available - there's more selection than there appears to be. And they'd got the initial booking a bit mixed up, but sorted it out promptly when we arrived. We'd definitely go back!

Room Tip: Rooms on LHS in first courtyard as you walk in - huge beds!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beanie66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

Wow. This hotel was once the house of some early Peruvian president or such, and it is just a great place to stay for the price and location. First, the staff and managers are all nice and interested in helping you enjoy Arequipa -- which is a laid back city with food and strolling and nearby places to hike and visit. The rooms have nice showers, clean rooms, around a back courtyard with a cactus garden and some interesting birds. I could hear a football game cheering in the distance, but there were no street sounds from our room. It was probably the ultra thick walls - which kept it climate controlled, too. The breakfasts were quite good and generous, and the common areas were relaxing, too, and that's where I got free wifi (wifi couldn't pierce the room walls). I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. I'd recommend it to cheap travelers wanting to splurge, a romantic couple, or to travelers who like a nice hotel for a decent price.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Love22saywa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

Great location 2 blocks from main square and reasonable price. Beautiful old house in white rock with beautiful internal courtyard. Modern bathrooms with lots of water pressure. Triple room easily fits family of four.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Luis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

I stayed at this charming hotel with my daughter for 3 nights and loved the place. The service was terrific and friendly, the room was very clean and comfortable, and the breakfasts were very good. No complaints at all. I recommend it highly.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brucegottlieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
109 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

We were recently in Arequipa for a wedding and stayed at this charming inn downtown. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the location is excellent for seeing the sights of downtown Arequipa. The building has been restored and gives and very authentic feel of what an old colonial house looked like.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank E52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

We left our luggage behind in this hotel for doing a trip in the Colca Canyon. When we came back to pick up our luggage, the lady offered us a coffee. we refused the coffee because we were in a hurry towards the busterminal. But she didn't let us go without something, so she gave us desserts for on the go!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank anderS7491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
0.2 mi away
Los Tambos
Los Tambos
#2 of 97 in Arequipa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Boutique Villa Elisa
0.4 mi away
La Casa de Melgar Hostal
La Casa de Melgar Hostal
#12 of 97 in Arequipa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Arequipa
0.2 mi away
Casa de Avila - For Travellers
0.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casona Solar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casona Solar

Property: Hotel Casona Solar
Address: Calle Consuelo 116 | Cercado, Arequipa 04002, Peru
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 168 B&Bs / Inns in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casona Solar 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A colonial hotel with 300 years of history.Hotel Casona Solar is a beautiful restored colonial gentleman’s house build in 1702 in the centre of the colonial city of Arequipa. Hotel Casona Solar has the atmosphere that Arequipa had in the 18th century. The thick walls are made out of the white volcanic stone Sillar and all rooms have the so typical high arched roofs and big doors that enter one of the two central courtyards. All rooms have modern bathrooms with toilet. In our bar we serve every morning between 6 AM and 10 AM a breakfast buffet.In our big garden you can enjoy the blue sky and the 320 days of sunshine that Arequipa offers year in year out. The average day temperature is 25 degrees Celsius and rain is rare. After a long day exploring Arequipa and the surroundings you can enjoy the cool mountain evenings at our fireplace while having a snack and a drink.On just a 2 minutes walking distance you will find the ‘Plaza de Armas’ one of the most beautiful main squares of Peru. Also the neoclassical cathedral, the monastery of Santa Catalina, the mummy Juanita and the typical colonial buildings in classical Spanish style are one step away. You can always see from every point in the city the perfect conic 5822 meter high volcano El Misti.In 1980 hotel Casona Solar recieved the title national momument by UNESCO and INC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Casona Solar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing