We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Relaxing, quiet ancient retreat near main square” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Casona Solar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Casona Solar
Ranked #7 of 163 Arequipa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Relaxing, quiet ancient retreat near main square”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

Wow. This hotel was once the house of some early Peruvian president or such, and it is just a great place to stay for the price and location. First, the staff and managers are all nice and interested in helping you enjoy Arequipa -- which is a laid back city with food and strolling and nearby places to hike and visit. The rooms have nice showers, clean rooms, around a back courtyard with a cactus garden and some interesting birds. I could hear a football game cheering in the distance, but there were no street sounds from our room. It was probably the ultra thick walls - which kept it climate controlled, too. The breakfasts were quite good and generous, and the common areas were relaxing, too, and that's where I got free wifi (wifi couldn't pierce the room walls). I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. I'd recommend it to cheap travelers wanting to splurge, a romantic couple, or to travelers who like a nice hotel for a decent price.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Love22saywa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    73
    21
    9
    8
See reviews for
35
92
19
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

Great location 2 blocks from main square and reasonable price. Beautiful old house in white rock with beautiful internal courtyard. Modern bathrooms with lots of water pressure. Triple room easily fits family of four.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Luis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

I stayed at this charming hotel with my daughter for 3 nights and loved the place. The service was terrific and friendly, the room was very clean and comfortable, and the breakfasts were very good. No complaints at all. I recommend it highly.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brucegottlieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
99 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

We were recently in Arequipa for a wedding and stayed at this charming inn downtown. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the location is excellent for seeing the sights of downtown Arequipa. The building has been restored and gives and very authentic feel of what an old colonial house looked like.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank E52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

We left our luggage behind in this hotel for doing a trip in the Colca Canyon. When we came back to pick up our luggage, the lady offered us a coffee. we refused the coffee because we were in a hurry towards the busterminal. But she didn't let us go without something, so she gave us desserts for on the go!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank anderS7491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York, USA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Great experience at casona solar. The building is an amazing colonial structure. My room was just incredible with amazingly tall ceiling and newly renovated bathroom. Local friends say location is not very safe at night. I had no problems.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Level Contributor
66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Room was nicely decorated, very clean and spacious. Location very good and the overall feel of the place much nicer than a hotel. Staff friendly and helpful. Wheelchair accessible with soma help (tresholds).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kratky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
0.2 mi away
Los Tambos
Los Tambos
#2 of 92 in Arequipa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa de Avila - For Travellers
0.4 mi away
Las Torres de Ugarte
Las Torres de Ugarte
#5 of 92 in Arequipa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Katari Hotel at Plaza de Armas
0.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel
0.5 mi away
La Casa de Melgar Hostal
La Casa de Melgar Hostal
#13 of 92 in Arequipa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casona Solar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casona Solar

Property: Hotel Casona Solar
Address: Calle Consuelo 116 | Cercado, Arequipa 04002, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 163 B&Bs / Inns in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casona Solar 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A colonial hotel with 300 years of history.Hotel Casona Solar is a beautiful restored colonial gentleman’s house build in 1702 in the centre of the colonial city of Arequipa. Hotel Casona Solar has the atmosphere that Arequipa had in the 18th century. The thick walls are made out of the white volcanic stone Sillar and all rooms have the so typical high arched roofs and big doors that enter one of the two central courtyards. All rooms have modern bathrooms with toilet. In our bar we serve every morning between 6 AM and 10 AM a breakfast buffet.In our big garden you can enjoy the blue sky and the 320 days of sunshine that Arequipa offers year in year out. The average day temperature is 25 degrees Celsius and rain is rare. After a long day exploring Arequipa and the surroundings you can enjoy the cool mountain evenings at our fireplace while having a snack and a drink.On just a 2 minutes walking distance you will find the ‘Plaza de Armas’ one of the most beautiful main squares of Peru. Also the neoclassical cathedral, the monastery of Santa Catalina, the mummy Juanita and the typical colonial buildings in classical Spanish style are one step away. You can always see from every point in the city the perfect conic 5822 meter high volcano El Misti.In 1980 hotel Casona Solar recieved the title national momument by UNESCO and INC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Casona Solar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing