We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place! Clean with friendly staff.”
Review of Hostal Solar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostal Solar
Ranked #5 of 168 Arequipa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely place! Clean with friendly staff.”
Reviewed October 23, 2010

This hostal is conveniently located 5 min walk from the centre. Its very clean, staff is friendly and helpful. Rooms are spacious and bright and ours had a lovely balcony with chairs. Breakfast has a nice selection and its served on a beautiful roof terrace which overlooks the city. They also have a very efficient laundry service. Good value for money and would definitely reccomend it!!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Micol_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    62
    7
    5
    1
See reviews for
21
71
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
dmx117
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2009

Three of us stayed in Hostal Solar for 2 nights on our visit to Arequipa.
The hostal is located about 4 blocks or 10 minutes walk away from the city center. Its very close to the St Catalina convent and all sorts of restaurants and shopping area. Although it looks pretty nondescript from the outside, the inside is very clean and spacious with a very cozy courtyard, dining area on the roof and a nice living room with free internet. Our triple room was also very clean and cozy and the staffs all speak excellent English and were very helpful. I would recommend this hotel if you're looking for a budget option in Arequipa. Its a great value at a great location. They also provide free pickup from the Arequipa airport which worked flawlessly.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmx117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2009

I had an excellent stay at Hostal Solar. The room was clean, and there was good water pressure and hot water in the shower. Service was one of the best I've experienced at a hostel--everyone was friendly and extremely helpful. It is a very bright and clean place overall. Location is close enough to the plaza, just a short walk away.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tmak21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hull
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2009

loved the view of el misti volcano from our room. helpful staff and good location.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HullViewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen op Zoom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2009

Hotel is near Plaza des Armes and bars/restaurants. Hotel had everything you need but. Room and bathroom are clean and not too small. Breakfast is simple.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rikpeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2009

Stayed here in January 2009. We had planned to stay three nights but left after one. Despite numerous emails to the owner confirming that we were coming, when we arrived nobody knew about our reservation. The room that we were given was on the ground floor and whilst very comfortable was very noisy because it was so close to reception. The worst thing was that some money was taken from my partner's bag when we went for a walk after arriving.

Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank kewellBrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 6, 2007

Hi, name is Jordan Dew. I was travelling in Peru For 6 weeks in April and May of 2007. I had a fabulous time there ans saw many beautiful places like Macchu Picchu, Colca canyon, and the Nazca lines. But I must say one of the highlights was staying in the Hostal Solar. It definitely was the nicest place I stayed. The rooms were clean and comfortable. I felt like the showers were the best I experienced in Peru. They have endless hot water and comes out with powerful force. Sufficient to cleanse the desert grime from my weary body. The staff were efficient and helpful. While they aren’t a travel agency, they were able to point me in the right direction to get my trip started to the Colca canyon. They also had extremely valuable information regarding the sights to see in Arequipa, which restaurants were good and which are bad, and with whom to book my adventures both daily and nightly. But definetly a huge highlight was the Saturday evening barbecue. They serve an amazing mix of meats all cooked to perfection and the salads are to die for. This came with a free glass of wine but make sure you ask for the “Magic Inca” pisco sour. It is unforgettable.

Chao, Jordan

  • Liked — bathroom - bbq
  • Disliked — no
  • Stayed May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank kayakerWestVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
0.3 mi away
Las Torres de Ugarte
Las Torres de Ugarte
#8 of 99 in Arequipa
493 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casa de Avila - For Travellers
0.8 mi away
Posada Nueva Espana
Posada Nueva Espana
#10 of 99 in Arequipa
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Los Tambos
Los Tambos
#2 of 99 in Arequipa
1,076 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Casa de Melgar Hostal
La Casa de Melgar Hostal
#14 of 99 in Arequipa
388 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Arequipa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Solar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Solar

Property: Hostal Solar
Address: Calle Ayacucho 108 Cercado, Arequipa, Peru
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 168 B&Bs / Inns in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hostal Solar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best place in town to meet people with great atmosphere. We characterize for a great service, security and fair price. We are a Colonial house endowed with maximum comfort located four blocks from the main square. Our room have private bathroom with 24 hours hot water, cable TV, telephone and internet WiFi. Come and enjoy our roof terrace BBQ every weekend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Hostal Solar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing