We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oasis of calm...and very good service!”
Review of Hostal Solar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostal Solar
Ranked #5 of 170 Arequipa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Oasis of calm...and very good service!”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We had a wonderful stay here. Our room was 302 at the top of the hotel with great views. The roof terrace where we had breakfast was lovely and sunny and fine staff were very friendly and helpful. If you can, try and get a room higher up as they are lighter.

Room Tip: Try to get a room higher up for better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iain H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    62
    7
    5
    1
See reviews for
21
71
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

You have to be buzzed in.
Once inside by reception there is a private courtyard.
On level 2 where you have breakfast is where the view is. All I can say is WOW. Snow capped mountains!
Rooms are basic but comfortable. Town is a short walk. There is however a nice bakery almost opposite the hostel entrance. The bakery is very cheap and tasty.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tdonno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

This is the best hostel we have stayed in for a long while. Beautiful courtyard and balcony make you want to give up on sightseeing and trekking and just laze around the hostel. Big clean rooms, reasonably priced. Very secure and only about 4 blocks to the main plaza. Great service as well - what more could you ask for!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Babbatronic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

This hostal offers nice clean rooms, super friendly service, good breakfast, and extremely convenient location. You can walk all over town to many of arequipa's main attractions. The staff was readily available, very helpful, and always friendly. They even helped me with my bus ticket and a colca canyon tour.
I would recommend Hostal Solar to any of my friends. Looking forward to visiting again this summer. Oh, and the owner is a rad WW kayaker too!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Rooms and bathroom are nice and clean and at least mine had no window to the street so it was quite as well.
The staff was really helpfull and the breakfast was good ( but you have to pay for extras like pancake).
Recommend!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonasze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed here twice on our Gadventures tour. The first visit we were given a lovely light, bright, airy room on the 1st floor next to the breakfast terrace. Beds were comfy with a good ensuite bathroom and it was pretty quiet.

Our second room was a triple on the ground floor. While the room was clean, it was dark and a little musty with the only window being a large sliding window that opened onto the main corridor that leads from reception to all the other rooms so it was pretty noisy and we felt safer with the window shut!

A couple on our trip got on a room on the third floor where they had their own terrace and amazing views out towards the mountains.

The terrace has a good view of the volcanoes and was a nice place to meet for a drink and then for breakfast. Although breakfast was pretty basic it was more enjoyable as you were eating outside in the sun.

The hotel has free wifi, although the signal was fine in our first room, our second room seemed to be a bit of a dead spot but the internet area was just across from our room so you could pick it up again there.

Once you've got your bearings the hotel's pretty easy to find and in a good, central location within walking district to most sights. There's also a couple of small shops nearby selling food and drink supplies as well as pharmacies to pick up your altitude sickness tablets should you need them!

Room Tip: The higher the room the better - especially those with an external window!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizbeth26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed at Hostal Solar for four nights while in Arequipa. The hostal is conveniently located near the main square and all the mayor tourist attractions. The biggest plus for this hotel is the nice roof terras were the buffet breakfast is served and were you can enjoy a nice break from the noisy Arequipa traffic during the day (buy your own drinks outside, the bar was always closed when we were there). The room was pretty nice with a nice hot shower, but the air was a bit musty (we were on the ground floor). Maybe they need to air them out a bit more often.
All in all we had a great stay. The last day we left at 7am to go to the Colca canyon and there was no breakfast although the posted signs said the breakfast would be served from 6am. No big problem since the shops outside were open at this time, but if you want to leave early you might want to let them know in advance.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rvanlooy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
0.4 mi away
Los Tambos
Los Tambos
#2 of 97 in Arequipa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casa de Avila - For Travellers
0.3 mi away
Las Torres de Ugarte
Las Torres de Ugarte
#7 of 97 in Arequipa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Posada Nueva Espana
Posada Nueva Espana
#10 of 97 in Arequipa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Casa de Melgar Hostal
La Casa de Melgar Hostal
#12 of 97 in Arequipa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marlon's House Arequipa
Marlon's House Arequipa
#11 of 170 in Arequipa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Solar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Solar

Property: Hostal Solar
Address: Calle Ayacucho 108 Cercado, Arequipa, Peru
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 170 B&Bs / Inns in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hostal Solar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best place in town to meet people with great atmosphere. We characterize for a great service, security and fair price. We are a Colonial house endowed with maximum comfort located four blocks from the main square. Our room have private bathroom with 24 hours hot water, cable TV, telephone and internet WiFi. Come and enjoy our roof terrace BBQ every weekend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal Solar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing