We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel in a great location.”
Review of Hostal Solar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hostal Solar
Ranked #7 of 175 Arequipa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 23, 2011

After 2 nights of bad hotels this hotel was a welcome change. Clean, inviting and charming. My room had this neat balcony and the breakfast was excellent. Highly recommend a stay.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mybincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (156)
There are newer reviews for Hostal Solar
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 156 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2011

We had a triple roomon the second floor right next to the rooftop terrace where breakfast was served. The staff was very friendly and organized our tour to Colca Canyon and our bus trip to Cusco. Including storage our luggage during our tour. The rooms were clean and bright and the shower was amazingly hot. The only downside was they asked us of we wanted scrambled eggs with the continental breakfast and later charged us $2 for them. Strange when you can get a whole breakfast for that price with real coffee instead of instant. Overall great and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beelann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2010

The hostel is simple but welcoming and clean, nice common areas, a 5-10 mins walk to the Placa de Arma. The rooms are functional but reasonably spacious; nice water pressure which we appreciated after hardly any in the hostel we had before. A special perk is that the breakfast is being served on a terrace with a view on Misty mountain. We had a room close to this terrace but were not disturbed at all by the breakfast arrangements.
We were especially impressed by the exceptionally helpful service of the staff. We arrived very early but were anyway given a room immediately, so we could take a nap after a very bumpy bus ride. They gave us several excellent tips for restaurants (don't miss Chicha, spectacular!) and they stored our luggage safely during our 3-day tour to Colca Canyon. On top of everything, they gave us another room for an hour when we returned, so we could take a long hot shower, change and re-pack before taking the bus again the same night - for free!
The only negative point maybe was a bit patchy internet/wifi in the hostel; there is an internet cafe right next door.
Overall highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunne13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2010

This hostal is conveniently located 5 min walk from the centre. Its very clean, staff is friendly and helpful. Rooms are spacious and bright and ours had a lovely balcony with chairs. Breakfast has a nice selection and its served on a beautiful roof terrace which overlooks the city. They also have a very efficient laundry service. Good value for money and would definitely reccomend it!!

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Micol_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2009

Three of us stayed in Hostal Solar for 2 nights on our visit to Arequipa.
The hostal is located about 4 blocks or 10 minutes walk away from the city center. Its very close to the St Catalina convent and all sorts of restaurants and shopping area. Although it looks pretty nondescript from the outside, the inside is very clean and spacious with a very cozy courtyard, dining area on the roof and a nice living room with free internet. Our triple room was also very clean and cozy and the staffs all speak excellent English and were very helpful. I would recommend this hotel if you're looking for a budget option in Arequipa. Its a great value at a great location. They also provide free pickup from the Arequipa airport which worked flawlessly.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmx117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2009

I had an excellent stay at Hostal Solar. The room was clean, and there was good water pressure and hot water in the shower. Service was one of the best I've experienced at a hostel--everyone was friendly and extremely helpful. It is a very bright and clean place overall. Location is close enough to the plaza, just a short walk away.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tmak21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2009

loved the view of el misti volcano from our room. helpful staff and good location.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HullViewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
0.3 mi away
Las Torres de Ugarte
Las Torres de Ugarte
#6 of 101 in Arequipa
508 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casa de Avila - For Travellers
0.8 mi away
Posada Nueva Espana
Posada Nueva Espana
#10 of 101 in Arequipa
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Casa de Melgar Hostal
La Casa de Melgar Hostal
#15 of 101 in Arequipa
397 reviews
1.1 mi away
Beausejour Boutique-hotel
Beausejour Boutique-hotel
#1 of 175 in Arequipa
156 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Casona Solar
Hotel Casona Solar
#3 of 175 in Arequipa
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Solar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Solar

Address: Calle Ayacucho 108 Cercado, Arequipa, Peru
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 175 B&Bs / Inns in Arequipa
Price Range: $41 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hostal Solar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best place in town to meet people with great atmosphere. We characterize for a great service, security and fair price. We are a Colonial house endowed with maximum comfort located four blocks from the main square. Our room have private bathroom with 24 hours hot water, cable TV, telephone and internet WiFi. Come and enjoy our roof terrace BBQ every weekend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hostal Solar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing