We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not recommendable at all”
Review of Hotel Asturias

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Asturias
Ranked #34 of 101 Hotels in Arequipa
Reviewed December 5, 2011

This is a hotel whic has som negative things, such as the noise, as it is located near bars and clubs it is very noisy all night. Also, in the street are a lot of people driking and they are relieving themselves near the hotle entrance.

Rooms are nice but we wrote lines above made us go to another hotel the next day

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jordivsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 86 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2011

We thought the hotel was great. Only complaint was that the room was a little cold at night. Good location close to some great restaurants

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Riksmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2011

I stayed at this hotel in dec 2010 for 4 days and the location is very good. price was a little high but they gave me a better deal. The rooms are small but ok. The breakfast was not bad. It is served on the first floor, made to order. The place is empty with only few guests eating breakfast. small Tv in the room but they have but cable. It is not a 3 star as they say but the staff is 3 star.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nietosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2010

It was our first visit to Arequipa and stayed 4 nights at this hotel. We liked it very much because of its location on a quiet street, close to restaurants and the main Plaza of the city. Staff was very helpful at all times. Rooms are not very spacious but cleanness and quietness is more important to us. Very good internet access in the room.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tutty256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2010

Hello amigos,
here we stayed for a more luxory service. We travel budget but every now and then I can use a hot thub.
Good service, friendly people, right into the city center of Arequipa.
We also had a great panoramic city view.

regards,
Helen

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelenAckerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2009

It is a very nice place, located 2 blocks from the main plaza. Has a good breakfast included in the price (eggs, toast, juice, coffee, butter and jam) but it is not buffet, so if you have to leave early, make sure you have enough time for them to cook it (brekfast starts at 7am).
Rooms are ok (don't expect a 5 star hotel room), cable TV, queen bed, small fridge and a good bathroom.
Some problems though:
1. No air conditioning or heating (We did not need them during December)
2. The hotel is located next to Santa Catalina's convent, so, you will be awaken by bells at 6am, 6.30am, and 7am.

Btw, if you like adventure sports, ask for a guide, there are options such as bungee jumping, rapel descend, rock climbing, trekking by the Misti.
(there is a tourist agency inside the hotel that is helpful, and trustworthy)

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gabovm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2009

Even though we only had 1 night in Arequipa (enroute from Lima to Puno), we really enjoyed our time here and the hotel. I wish we could have stay another night or so.

Coming from Lima, it was definitely a breather here in Arequipa. Like other developing cities, the street in Lima was quite saturated in exhaust from cars and buses. Air in Arequipa was cleaner but not when in a busy street filled with taxis.

The hotel is well located: steps from the center plaza and almost right across from Monasterio Santa Catalina. We also took the tour of Juanita (Ice Maiden Mummy) in the museum near the plaza.

Our rooms were on the 4th floor and we had a great view of Arequipa's skyline. Rooms were clean and bedding was fresh and comfortable.

The only down side is the elevator was being repaired while we were there and we had to climb all those stairs. Hopefully they had finished fixing it by now.

Breakfast was basic, coffee, dinner rolls and jam.

Next day we took the 4M-Express van to Puno. It turn out to be a nice bus ride through the mountain and lagoon.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Conde de Lemos Arequipa
Hotel Conde de Lemos Arequipa
#28 of 101 in Arequipa
15 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Crismar
Hotel Crismar
#33 of 101 in Arequipa
93 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel San Agustin Posada del Monasterio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Casa de Avila - For Travellers
0.1 mi away
La Hosteria
La Hosteria
#16 of 101 in Arequipa
287 reviews
0.1 mi away
Las Torres de Ugarte
Las Torres de Ugarte
#6 of 101 in Arequipa
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Asturias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Asturias

Address: Calle Ugarte 211 | Cercado, Arequipa, Peru
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Arequipa
Price Range: $60 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Asturias 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Transfer FREE !!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Asturias reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asturias Hotel Arequipa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing