We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Posada Misti House
Nearby Hotels
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Los Tambos(Arequipa)
$99
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Casa Arequipa(Arequipa)
$64
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$60
$52
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$52
$47
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Posada Nueva Espana(Arequipa)
$48
$31
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Hosteria(Arequipa)
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$88
$85
Travelocity
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (135)
Filter reviews
135 results
Traveler rating
64
38
20
6
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
64
38
20
6
7
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 135 reviews
Reviewed January 2, 2011

We booked here due to all of the rave reviews on here....however, like the previous review, we did not feel safe in this hostel. The location was great and we felt completely safe in that sense, however, the locks to the rooms probably could have been picked with a hair pin, or a good shove and the door would have been open, plus you couldn't leave anything valuable with reception as they advised it would be safer to keep it on us. The views from our room were great, however, if you book a room and it's on the roof terrace be warned that it's a bit of a communal meeting point and if you don't mind people playing the bongos, panpipes, guitar and didgereedo...add to that someone juggling and dropping the balls against your door...then you'll be fine! I think the worse thing about this place was the cleanliness, our bunks had clearly been slept in and the sheets not changed, there was a blatant imprint on the pillows and crumbs in the bed....we moved out and in to 'Home' hostel which, for the same price, was at the other end of the scale on cleanliness plus you got breakfast...oh, and there was a great bar...you didn't have to find someone to take the padlock off the fridge!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lululock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2010

For a hotel rated so high, it was a surprise to see that it wasn't up to that standard. Yes, it is centrally located to the town square and the staff were friendly, the rooms were just sufficient and my wife and I did not feel all that safe. Compare this hotel to the Casa de Avila hotel on the other side of the square at a slightly higher cost but with breakfast included and you will find that the Misti house is far behind. We don't usually write unfavorable reviews but we objected to the high regards that were given to this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rasa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
posadaMistiHouse, Propietario at Posada Misti House, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2011

Hello:

My name is Fernando Polanco, I am the owner of the Hostal Posada Misti House, I read the comment and makes me wonder, that the host develops its critics have argued that despite the Misti House has good location, friendly staff, and standard rooms, say the house of Avila Hostel (Hostel references that I consider good) where, after staying, was much better, including breakfast, FOR ONE SMALL DIFFERENCE: If you see the price of Casa de Avila, the link will forward the final will see that the small difference in the case of the standard double room at Misti House price is 15 dollars per room price in Casa de Avila is 26 dollars the difference is about 11 dollars for the same room, and if we talk Superior room of the difference would be 17 dollars, since there is room price of 32 dollars, we do not include breakfast for the simple reason that in the same building there are more than 2 options for breakfast and to offer a small kitchen our guests.

The position of Posada Misti House, as you will realize in the other comments, positive, has the same to be considered a central location, safe, clean, friendly staff, terrace, free internet and kitchen, he included a Continental breakfast only raise our prices our price averaged $ 1 since this is the cost of it, but for the reasons mentioned above do not include it.

As mentioned above, there are reasons for considering Casa de Avila a good option, but as is shown no reasons of comparison because the price is almost double that of ours, the location of Misti House lodge is one block from the plaza de armas no the case of Casa de Avila, usually do not respond to views expressed in forums but as I think is a bad comparison made from every point of view, in the end are the guests who judge by price location and facilities the best choice.


Fernando Polanco
Posada Misti House
Arequipa Peru

Hola:
Mi nombre es Fernando Polanco, soy propietario del Hostal Posada Misti House, lei el comentario y me causa extrañeza que el huesped elabore su critica diciendo que a pesar de que el Misti House tiene buena ubicacion, el personal amable, y las habitaciones eran standar, diga que el Hostal casa de Avila(Hostal que por referencias considero bueno) donde despues se alojo, estuvo mucho mejor , con desayuno incluido,POR UNA PEQUEÑA DIFERENCIA: Si ustedes ven el precio de Casa de Avila, en el enlace que les envio a continuacion veran que la pequeña diferencia, en el caso de la habitacion doble standar en el Misti House el precio es de 15 dolares por habitacion el precio en Casa de Avila es de 26 dolares la diferencia seria de 11 dolares por la misma habitacion, y si hablamos de la habitacion Superior la diferencia seria de de 17 dolares, ya que alli la habitacion tiene el precio de 32 dolares, nosotros no incluimos desayuno por la sencilla razon que en el mismo edificio existen mas de 2 opciones de desayuno, aparte de ofrecer una pequeña cocina a nuestros huespedes.

La calificacion de Posada Misti House, como se daran cuenta en los demas comentarios, favorables cuenta con esta misma por ser considerado un hostal centrico, seguro, limpio, con personal amable, internet y cocina gratis, El incluiir un desayuno Continental en nuestros precios solo elevaria nuestro precio un promedio de 1 dolar ya que este es el costo del mismo, pero por las razones que anteriormente mencione no incluimos el mismo.

Como dijimos anteriormente existen razones para considerar Casa de Avila una buena opcion, pero como queda demostardo no hay razones de comparacion ya que practicamente el precio es el doble del nuestro, la ubicacion del posada Misti House es de una cuadra de la plaza de armas en el caso de casa de Avila es de 5 cuadras de la misma plaza normalmente no contestamos opiniones vertidas en foros pero como creo que es una comparacion mal hacha desde todo punto de vista, al final son los huespedes los que juzgaran por ubicaion precio y facilidades su mejor opcion.


Fernando Polanco
Posada Misti House
Arequipa Peru

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2010

I fully recommend this as the best place to stay in Arequipa for anyone on a budget....the price is amazing for what you get and the service you get, I paid twice this for many hostels across Peru that did not even come close to the quality.

Location is perfect....steps away from the plaza, it's safe, clean and the owner is extremely accommodating, whether storying luggage, finding a taxi or helping with any information. STAY HERE

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theJCW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2010

great view with the rooms on the terrace,
bedrooms very clean with TV
good service with internet, small common opened kitchen

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tantrum99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2010

Posada Misti is one of the most basic accomodation I've stayed but I gave it a go since I was on a budget for this trip and it came highly recommended on TA. The first thing that struck us was the extremely helpful and friendly Freddie who works there. Nothing was too much trouble and he was always there with a big grin on his face.

The room and bathroom (we had an ensuite) were REALLY basic but pleasantly clean with strong hot shower. The atmosphere at the hostal was relax and everyone seemed really at ease sitting in the small common room and staircase chatting.

We really enjoyed our stay there and for the price we paid, it was a steal. Location is fantastic too. 2-3 blocks to the main square with endless restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Anastacia7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews