We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just like home”
Review of Posada Misti House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Posada Misti House
Ranked #38 of 173 Arequipa B&B and Inns
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
“Just like home”
Reviewed February 12, 2012

this hostel was awesome, the owners were more than helpful for booking buses, tours. they had hot showers, a kitchen though small it had all the basic things. It is in a great location close to the main square and supermarket.

We had a few issues due to mass amounts of rain we couldnt get to our bus. The owners were very accomidating in getting us a cab, phoning the bus company ect. they were extremely helpful. they aloud us to stay the night and all day with no issues until we were able to catch our bus the following evening.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeremy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    38
    19
    6
    7
See reviews for
9
34
35
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
1 review
Reviewed December 17, 2011

It is a friendly and nice place to stay, and also a good location. My mistake was that I booked a private room and ended up in a dorm that was empty anyway, for more than double the price.If I had just walked in and took the bed it would have much cheaper! Live and learn.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dale E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington, USA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2011

I need a place with hot water for shower, a firmish bed, wifi and a great location. The Misti has all of these and didn't burn my wallet, I would stay again. Owner family are very friendly, rooms are basic, power, hot water, good wifi and did I say the location and cost were great?

There are two flights of stairs to get you and your bags up, but otherwise its fine. There are many "hostals" or "B&B's around the Misti, most are upwards of $50 or more dollars and come with carpeting and a nicer looking bathroom, but the Misti works just fine.

Room Tip: Two flights of stairs to go up. There is a wall outlet behind the small table between the beds. I tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RustySmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2011

PROS: Nice and helpfull staff, nice location, everything we expected (hot water, wireless)

CONS: The bathroom was a little bit dirty (with hair);
when they sold us the 2 days trip to the Cola Canion they promised us there would be hot water and wireless internet at the hotel we would stay in that night (at Chivay), and there wasn't any of those.

I would stay at the hotel again, but would book the trip with some agency.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renata B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2011

The hostel was very relaxed and all the staff were really friendly. There was a nice atmosphere and felt very secure and safe. We were able to come and go as we pleased morning and night and if there was anything we needed the staff were very willing to oblige. The rooms were comfortable and clean as well as the facilities. Arequipa itself is beautiful and relaxed, we stayed much longer than we first planned as we loved the area so much. There is so much to do in and around Arequipa both for the active and slightly more laid back person.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy111186402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed May 13, 2011

For it´s price, it is well above what you can ask for. We slept in the dorms, and still it´s quite at night and peaceful during the day. It s about ones block from the main plaza, and the hostel is surrounded by good food.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pepperytotz09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2011

The staff was amazing!!! Had so much fun with them. Funny, so helpful! Answered all of our questions, when they werent sure, they called somewhere to fidn out. They offer tours to Colca canyon, rock climbing, misti volcano and others through the hostel no need to go searching for a good agency! Clean place, near the plaza, internet access, many rooms. Nice look out on top a cute little patio. Hot showers (after a minute or so of the water running). Had an amazing time and would go back in a heartbeat! Will miss them!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank missmarly14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
0.4 mi away
La Casona De Jerusalen Traveler's Hostel
0.6 mi away
Bubamara San Lazaro Hostel
Bubamara San Lazaro Hostel
#23 of 173 in Arequipa
11 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Posada del Virrey
La Posada del Virrey
#80 of 178 in Arequipa
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
475.3 mi away
Park Hostel
Park Hostel
#20 of 173 in Arequipa
63 reviews
0.1 mi away
Posada de San Juan
Posada de San Juan
#34 of 173 in Arequipa
35 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostal Uspalay
Hostal Uspalay
#44 of 173 in Arequipa
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Misti House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Misti House

Property: Posada Misti House
Address: Calle Alvarez Thomas 204-A, Cercado | A una cuadra de la Plaza de Armas, Arequipa., Arequipa 04000, Peru
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Posada Misti House 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada Misti House offers you a quiet, safe and clean place to stay And just like our slogan says: we are 'your home away from home'Just one block south from the main square, we have rooms with private bath, common bath and dormitorySince 2004, we are growing for you, improving the quality of our services.We have created a cable TV room with movies, games, book exchange and where you can share a conversation, coffee or beer.Nowadays, all our rooms include breakfast and wi-fi service; and everyone enjoys the terrace, kitchen and hot water all day long.Our staff are known as friendly and helpful and they offer you 24 hours attention. We will help you to plan your travels around Arequipa and Peru.In Posada Misti House, you will find a good place to sleep as well as a house where you can learn and share with fresh and happy people from around the world.Make you stay in Arequipa better, and enjoy Misti House with us.WelcomeBeatriz y Fernando ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your Posada Misti House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing