We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Priceline$60
Vio.com$60
Etrip$60
eDreams$60
Tripadvisor$60
StayForLong
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (846)
Filter reviews
846 results
Traveler rating
531
238
57
12
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
531
238
57
12
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cooking class beautiful garden colca canyon early check the main square ten minute walk laundry service a great place to stay plenty of hot water yogurt armando casa teacher courtyard peru tour trek
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
103 - 108 of 846 reviews
Reviewed June 5, 2018

We loved our stay at Casa de Avila. The hotel is beautiful. The garden area is great to relax in during the day and there is also a sun terrace on the roof. The breakfast in the restaurant was tasty, substantial and there was a lot of choice.

Our room was big, comfy and very clean. The shower was great and the bathroom was very clean with reliable hot water all the time.

The staff are always available to help you with anything you need and are really friendly. In the evening and at night the front door of the hotel is locked for added security although it's in a very safe location and Arequipa felt very safe wherever we went at any time of the day or night.

The location is great and you can walk to the main square in 10 mins or less but it's in a quiet area so you can sleep peacefully at night. They also give you a free map of the town when you arrive and they have an onsite tour desk to help you if you need advice on trips etc.

We also did the cooking course offered at the hotel. It was great and really good value as you get a nice discount as a guest.

I'd definitely recommend staying here.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank giles343
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Armando E, Owner at Casa de Avila - Hotel & Jardin, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2018

Thank you for your recommendation. We are always happy to hear a guest is happy.
Rooms are carefully cared by our staff because we know that is the main issue for your visit. But we also enjoy seeing them enjoying Casa de Avila facilities and services. As the breakfast in the garden.
Safe is the second name for Casa de Avila ! Yes, we care about that and we are also aware about having all the neighborhood safe for guests to walk whenever they want.
Thank you for your visit. And enjoy your life!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2018

My wife and I stayed at Casa de Avila three days in September 2017 and five days in April 2018.
We enjoyed both stays because of (1) the extremely helpful and friendly staff, (2) beautiful well-maintained courtyard, (3) clean and quiet room, (4) its close location to Plaza de Armas, (5) great variety of breakfast/dinner choices offered at its beautiful restaurant, (6) reasonable room prices.
It was great to see (almost every day) and talk to co-owner Don Armando who offered us excellent information about Arequipa.
We’ll definitely stay at Casa de Avila in our next trip to Arequipa.

Room tip: Rooms 36-39 are larger and quieter.
Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Rick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Armando E, Owner at Casa de Avila - Hotel & Jardin, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2018

Couples love Casa de Avila, the Garden Hotel. But they are not the only ones. We had 36% of our guests being women travelling alone and out multiple rooms are always enjoyed to receive travelers with kids.

So good to know which issues are working ok. Not meaning we will keep improving

Prices are reasonable. You can select different kinds of rooms. From our standard to our fancy King. Our service keeps the same quality in all of them. We adjust facilities to whatever you need. And prices keep being competitive with similar hotels.

We don t want to think our business is renting beds. We want you to have a great time while staying with us in Arequipa and please do not hesitate asking any info to help your trip to be unforgetable. Arequipa us unique!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2018 via mobile

Casa de Avila was the perfect place to stay in Arequipa. The room was clean, quaint, and basic. The bed and pillows were comfortable. The courtyard was beautifully decorated with flowers and avocado trees. The staff were very friendly and asked frequently how they could help us enjoy our stay. They had free breakfast with local fruits and bread. My only slight complaint was that the walls between rooms are thin. We could hear our neighbors, but it was a slight trade off for a nice room and prime location. We could walk to Plaza de Armas in 5 minutes. We also paid for their cooking class and learned how to prepare traditional Peruvian food. This was 70 Soles per person, but the experience was worth it to me. Note that the cooking course does not include a trip to the market. You do learn some fun Peru history facts and we were told we would receive the recipes by email. I would recommend this hotel to friends. Thanks for the great stay!

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank GApeachstate
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Cheyenne B, Guest Relations Manager at Casa de Avila - Hotel & Jardin, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2018

Thank you so much for your comment.
We are so happy you have enjoyed your stay with us! The Cooking experience defenitely is a great cultural souvenir by which you will hopefully not only remember our Cooking class but also a bit of the peruvian culture.
Please remember that you are a part of the Casa de Avila family and we would love to see you back one day!
Saludos!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2018 via mobile

I enjoyed my stay at Casa de Avila. It is centrally located with a wonderful attentive staff who spoke very good English. My room was comfortable, however a bit on the chilly side during late evening. The well appointed garden added to the laid back atmosphere of the place. I also noticed that the hotel provides various classes including Spanish lessons and cookery.
I would highly recommend a stay in this friendly establishment.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank 912annc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Cheyenne B, Guest Relations Manager at Casa de Avila - Hotel & Jardin, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2018

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your comment.
Since we value the contact with our guest more than anything, it is very important for us to have good communication. Therefore we not only have Spanish, but also English and French speaking staff.

We are very happy you have enjoyed our courtyard garden! Arequipa has great weater almost 80% of the year so it is good to be able to just sit back and relax in our garden away from the city hassle. Sometimes it indeed gets a bit chilly at night in Arequipa. Therefore we have spare blankets and hot waterbags to offer at no extra charge!

We indeed provide Spanish lessons, dance lessons and the Peruvian Cooking Experience, all on-site! This way you have the chance to learn more about the Peruvian culture, its language and its food.

I hope you will remember Casa de Avila and your stay in Arequipa forever!
Saludos!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2018

This cozy hotel tucked just a few blocks away from the noise and business of the Arequipa historic center is an absolute gem. The rooms are clean and comfortable for a very reasonable price. They are all arranged around a wonderfully landscaped lawn, including fruit-bearing avocado trees. (I forgot to pick one.) There is a large lounge room and very reasonably priced laundry services. But the best is the great breakfast buffet with fresh bread, freshly made juices, scramble eggs (or fried to order), fruit, meat, cheese and the list goes on. All included in the price. What puts to icing on the cake is the very friendly and helpful staff. They treated us like family our whole four days and three nights there. You can also take Spanish, dancing or Peruvian cooking classes there, for an extra fee. We never got around to trying the restaurant/picanteria, but if the food is as good as the breakfast, it would be worth eating there.

Room tip: Second floor rooms have a great view of the courtyard.
Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank cadman57
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Cheyenne B, Guest Relations Manager at Casa de Avila - Hotel & Jardin, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2018

Thank you so much for your kind words!
We are very happy that you have such great memories of Casa de Avila.
We always try to better the experiences of our guests by making them feel at home, so we are very glad to hear that you indeed felt that way! Also, we believe breakfast is the most important meal of the day, so a good start makes a great day, and as you may have noticed, for peruvians, food is very very important for which a big part of our culture is shared through good meals.
Again thank you for your comment and we hope to may receive you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews