We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, service and value! We hope to go back.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa de Avila - For Travellers
Ranked #3 of 102 Hotels in Arequipa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 25, 2009

Great valu place to stay in Arequipa. It is only a few blocks fom the Plaza de Armas and yet it is a place in which to rest & relax in the peace & quiet. Staff are very friendly and helpful; they provide excellent value outings (tours,Colca Canyon horse riding, rafting, climbing) and travel service (buses, flights); Spanish school on site; and with breakfast (add eggs for 5S), free tea/coffee/water to drink; free central safe use and internet included. Rooms are not fancy, but clean (good maid service). My back went out while there and they arranged an excellent doctor to come (he brought us to his clinic). We can't say enough about how they went out of their way to help us! The lovely girls at the front always smiling, helpful and fairly fluent in english. Armondo, the owner, is very friendly, helpful and is the "can-do" guy able to arrange almost anything. Thank you Casa de Avila!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank esbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (628)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

371 - 377 of 628 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2009

Our family of 4 stayed here April 2009. The location is great, close enough to the square for convenience, but far eough out of the traffic, close to market. The rooms are quiet and clean, the showers are hot always. The value is great. The prize of the place is the interior garden for relaxation, peace and studying Spanish, all patroled by "Pacco" the friendly tortoise. The staff was superb about storing all our belongings while we were off climbing Misti and trekking Colca. The breakfast is tasty, a convenient, quick way to start the day

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimbooCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2008

The hostal is located within a 5-10 min walk to the main plaza. The rooms are clean and comfortable with cable TV included. We paid $22 for a private double (however they tried to charge a higher rate when we checked out - so be careful on this!) A basic breakfast is included with the option to purchase additionals such as fruit, eggs, etc. Internet is also included. There´s a great garden to laze around in. There was a kitchen however not sure if it was available for guest use.

  • Stayed: November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashah_008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2008

This is such a great place to stay in Arequipa. It is only a few blocks fom the Plaza de Armas and yet it is a place in which to rest & relax in the peace & quiet of an old convent. Staff are very friendly and helpful; the garden is a wonderful place to relax; Spanish lessons are on hand (although we didn't join in); and with breakfast and internet included it is good value.

We met Tanya in Arica who recommended Casa de Avila and we booked right away - we weren't disappointed.

Our double room was really clean and comfortable with a god bathroom & shower.

Stayed: October 2008
Thank scottartanfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2008

Nice garden, good value, clean and tidy, helpful and freiendly staff. Basic breakfast. ROCK SOLID bed was uncomfortable. Thin walls made it very cold at night.

Stayed: September 2008
Thank Nevertouchme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lespino, owner at Casa de Avila - For Travellers, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2008

Yes, Arequipa can turn a little cold at night. The lowest historical temperature in the last 4 years is 9 degrees C. (48 F) celsius with an average of 12 degrees (53F) . Seems colder because sun shines all day, all year long except February. Extra blankets are available for free, and we have heater equipments to rent at your requirement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2008

Extremely friendly and helpful staff, beautiful internal garden, free internet. Beautiful view.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JvB-Ehv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2008

We stayed at the CasaDeAvila in July 2008 and had a lovely stay there. Amando the owner and his staff go out of their way to help and always have a smile on their faces.We loved the breakfast and central garden too.The rooms are simple and clean but ,like most reasonably priced hotels,has no heating and nights can be chilly. This isn't a luxury hotel BUT the service, friendliness and efficiency is five-star.
We had a wonderful time on the Colca Canyon tour organised by CasaDeAvila when we needed help making local phonecalls because of language difficulies they stepped in ..... with a smile.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Sametegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
0.5 mi away
Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel
0.5 mi away
Las Torres de Ugarte
Las Torres de Ugarte
#5 of 102 in Arequipa
523 reviews
0.3 mi away
Los Tambos
Los Tambos
#2 of 102 in Arequipa
1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique Villa Elisa
Hotel Boutique Villa Elisa
#1 of 102 in Arequipa
314 reviews
0.7 mi away
Posada Nueva Espana
Posada Nueva Espana
#10 of 102 in Arequipa
274 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Arequipa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Avila - For Travellers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Avila - For Travellers

Address: Av San Martin 116 | Vallecito, Arequipa 00001, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 102 Hotels in Arequipa
Price Range: $50 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa de Avila - For Travellers 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de Avila is a beautiful yet affordable Mansion Hostel. With all private rooms circling the courtyard garden. An oasis of green and tranquility. A social room, book exchange library and cafeteria in the garden ar part of the facilities available. Our staff is always willing to help you with your needs. Friendly environment. Several kinds of rooms to fit your needs and budget. All with free WiFi, hot showers 24/7, linen and towels. Very clean. It s also headquarter of the famous Peruvian Cooking Experience, the best hands on activity in the city. We also host a Spanish School. And our tour operator sister company gives us the chance to offer you the best local tours with great prices and service. It’s a family owned business, which in Peru means we have a stronger compromise to serve as best as possible to our guests. Welcome, you are invited to our house! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Casa de Avila - For Travellers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing