We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa de Avila - For Travellers
Ranked #5 of 99 Hotels in Arequipa
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing stay !”
Reviewed August 2, 2014

We stayed 3 nights at Casa de Avila at the beginning of our trip to Peru, and we weren't disappointed ! The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was really nice, really clean (one of the best room we stayed in during our 3 weeks trip). We had a room on the first floor and it was really quiet...we didn't get disturb late at night or in the morning by people walking in the garden. Also, the shower had plenty of hot water so no problem on that side ! The hotel is located at about 10 minutes walk from the main plaza, so it's not too far, but far enough from the noise and the traffic. I would highly recommend this hotel for your stay in Arequipa :)

Room Tip: Any room is great !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Junglemilie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Owner at Casa de Avila - For Travellers, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Thank you very much! I am letting all our staff know about your opinion. Their hard work is mainly devoted to make you feel as you are describing in the review. Hope you can be back any time. Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    192
    48
    10
    4
See reviews for
81
265
64
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

Very Attentive Staff (best so far in Peru) that did there best to make the stay very pleasant and personalized. Relaxing garden and great room (value for money). One minus; during our 6 night stay the water went cold twice (including our departures day at 5 am so no time to have it fixed) ouch!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Offies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamar, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2014

We stayed here for three nights. The atmosphere from the common garden area and staff service levels is this place's obvious strengths. Our room was quite plain and small, facing the garden. Room was not cleaned from one day to the other, but this might be the normal here...? Wifi worked not in the room, but very vell outside in the garden area. The staff members at this place is clearly well trained on paying attention to the needs of their clients. We received many advice on our stay in Cusco and for excursions in the vicinity. At times their interest in our wellbeing seemed almost a bit "forced", but the level of service level we witnessed is nonetheless a priceless quality about this place. They work very hard to serve their customers and we appreciated that very much. We were even invited to see the town along with the manager and other visitors, but we had to turn this offer down, as we were too tired that night. A highlight here is the breakfast in the garden area under the bright sun of cusco. We also tried the Peruvian cooking experience which they offer here. Very memorable! Our best recommendations for this place!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sigurd_Solhaug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, England
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

The rooms are spacious and kept very clean. The garden is the big selling point for this hotel as it's beautifully kept and full of sun loungers as well as tables and chairs. We enjoyed heading out to sight-see early in the day and then coming back to enjoy the sunshine in the the afternoon. The hotel sells snacks and beer in the reception so it's a bonus to be able to enjoy a drink in the sunshine!

The hotel is ideally located if you don't want to be right it in centre of Arequipa as it's in a quiet and safe suburb but still only a 10-15 minute walk from the main plaza.

The breakfast buffet is really good and there is the option to pay for extras such as pancakes (where are really really tasty!) and eggs, bacon, omelets etc which only work out to be about £1 extra.

We stayed for five nights and during that time we signed up for the Cooking Experience and opted to do the market visit/tour and pisco making lesson too. It was all excellent and was great that it was all run at our hotel. The market tour was really interesting and we had the opportunity to taste lots of different and unusual fruits and some other sweet snacks. The cooking was great fun as everyone was made to feel involved in the process and the outdoor kitchen is an ideal location. The hotel also offers Spanish lessons and yoga classes which give the hotel quite a unique buzz during the day.

The staff were always really helpful and friendly. On our first morning the shower wasn't getting hot but I let the receptionist know and she promised to get it sorted within 15 minutes (the showers are gas heated). By the time I'd had breakfast and come back to the room the water was lovely and hot and continued to be so during the remainder of our stay. The receptionist thanked me for letting her know as I'm sure they get fed up of people not bothering to say when there's a problem then coming on TripAdvisor and giving negative feedback when it's then obviously too later to do anything about it!

We were sad to leave Casa De Avila as it felt like the perfect place to come back to after a day of sightseeing.............plus it's such a lovely surprise when the resident tortoise turns up!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scalaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2014

We were very satisfied by the courtesy and competence of the staff, as well as from the hotel itself which is clean and excellently furnished. Breakfast is served in the elegant third floor with an exclusive and simply pleasant atmosphere. It is located 10 - 15 minutes walking from the city centre.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alessandra_Vienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Stayed there in june 2014. Nice, clean hotel with a beautiful patio. Friendly and helpful staff, good breakfast buffet. They offer tours, too. We chose the 3 day private tour to Colca Canyon. Our guide was Frank Delgado. He was born in the Colca Canyon region and knows a lot about the culture, plants and animals in this area. Nice, professional guy, very highly recommended as a guide !

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cusco, Peru
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Only stayed here a night, but the staff was very friendly and helpful. We shared a private room and bathroom, which had a tv. Very relaxing garden outside. Walk to the downtown was about 10-15 minutes. I would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank tiffany l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Manager at Casa de Avila - For Travellers, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thanks a lot. Too bad you didn´t take longer to enjoy garden, weather and cooking experience. We will keep on doing as best as we can to help you providing a good service at reasonable prices.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
0.5 mi away
Las Torres de Ugarte
Las Torres de Ugarte
#8 of 99 in Arequipa
493 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel
0.3 mi away
Los Tambos
Los Tambos
#2 of 99 in Arequipa
1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Arequipa
1.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique Villa Elisa
0.7 mi away
Posada Nueva Espana
Posada Nueva Espana
#10 of 99 in Arequipa
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Avila - For Travellers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Avila - For Travellers

Property: Casa de Avila - For Travellers
Address: Av San Martin 116 | Vallecito, Arequipa 00001, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 99 Hotels in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa de Avila - For Travellers 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de Avila is a beautiful yet affordable Mansion Hostel. With all private rooms circling the courtyard garden. An oasis of green and tranquility. A social room, book exchange library and cafeteria in the garden ar part of the facilities available. Our staff is always willing to help you with your needs. Friendly environment. Several kinds of rooms to fit your needs and budget. All with free WiFi, hot showers 24/7, linen and towels. Very clean. It s also headquarter of the famous Peruvian Cooking Experience, the best hands on activity in the city. We also host a Spanish School. And our tour operator sister company gives us the chance to offer you the best local tours with great prices and service. It’s a family owned business, which in Peru means we have a stronger compromise to serve as best as possible to our guests. Welcome, you are invited to our house! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Casa de Avila - For Travellers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing