We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casa de Avila - For Travellers
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Mansion Riviera(Arequipa)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tierrasur Hotel(Arequipa)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Yaravi(Arequipa)
View Hotel
Inkanto Hotel(Arequipa)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (662)
Filter reviews
662 results
Traveler rating
391
205
51
10
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
391
205
51
10
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspanish lessonscooking classcooking schoolbeautiful gardenperuvian cooking experiencecolca canyonlarge courtyardlovely place to relaxeggsread a bookshort walkbreadplenty of blanketsloved this hotelrelaxing stayevery morningfew blocks
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
215 - 220 of 662 reviews
Reviewed June 27, 2014

This hotel seems really Nice but it is way too expensive for what you get!
We just stayed there And for 55$, the wifi dis not work because there were too many people, there was no hot water And since all rooms give on the garden where you have breakfast, you get awake at 7 am by people who make breakfast (that don t try to be quiet).
And generously, They offre to refund 5 NS! What a joke! Avoid this place.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aline A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Owner at Casa de Avila - For Travellers, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Thank you for taking some time with your review. Even this is the worst evaluation we have received ever. My excuses and the excuses of all the staff in the hotel. Our main concern is you to feel comfortable and have no problems while staying. During your staying the whole city had a crash of Internet Service provided by Movistar (fire burned central tubes). We tried to provide internet using another connection but seems it was not enough. We regularly provide a 6Mbps Internet connection wifi using a router and two repeaters covering all the garden. Breakfast is served in the garden, and sorry if somebody made too much noise that early. We are fixing that, but I think the initiative of taking breakfast in the garden won´t be changed. Its great to have nature, sun, birds to begin the day. Our hot water service warranties a 100 to 120 F hot water provided by 3 gas water heaters. Sorry if that is not enough. And yes, I think 5 dollars refund is not enough if our service was not what you were expecting. We can refund the total. Please get in touch with our office. Your advise is helping us to improve our service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

My daughter and I stayed here for a few days at the end of April. We found the hotel employees to be very friendly and helpful, the rooms adequate and the gardens peaceful and lovely. We were up and ready to leave early each morning, and found that the breakfast setup was generally slow in setup and rather confusing. It wasn't clear to us what was included in our 'continental' breakfast (which was skimpy) and what the prices were for what wasn't. We kept fruit and nuts in our room to tide us over until lunch.

Also, we booked an overnight Colca Canyon tour through the hotel service. Again the pricing was confusing, and we ended up paying for the night in the hotel while we were away. So ended up paying for a night's accommodation in two different places. (The Canyon tour was good)

All that said, I'd still recommend. We felt comfortable and secure here. The price was good enough despite the confusion over the charges.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Owner at Casa de Avila - For Travellers, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Thanks for the review
You are right, during those dates we were in transition of taking breakfast to the garden. And could be confusing for some guests. But what about the idea of taking breakfast in the garden and start morning with sun, nature, bird singing?. Now the service is settle and its going much better.
Breakfast includes: two kinds of juice, coffee, milk, rolls of bread (2 each) butter, jelly, olives and cheese. Serve yourself style. A portion of fried eggs (2) or scrambled, or pancakes or fruit salad is 5 soles extra (1,8 dollars!)
We help our guests with Colca Tours using reputed local operators. And yes, if you don´t sleep in the hotel you don´t pay. Only requirement is you should take your luggage and keep it for free in our luggage room. We will be pleased to do any correction if needed in your bill. Please contact us.
You are the kind of guest we love to have! enjoying the garden, and feeling like in their own house: safe and relaxed. Thanks again for your support.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

A place I really liked. Very friendly and helpful service, a wonderful garden, walking distance to plaza de armas, clean rooms and a good breakfast. Here you get a very good value for your money. I stayed here a few days on my journey from Lima to Cusco and - as I liked it very much - I also spent a few days on the way back to Lima.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Irene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Lovely little hotel in Arequipa, great ground and nice to relax in, rooms are clean and spacious, shower was hot (often hard to find in Peru). Excellent cooking and pisco sour classes at the hotel which lots of people whom don't stay there come to do - if you stay at there you get a discounted rate! Easy walk to main historical centre and staff very friendly and helpful. All in all highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Meera R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

The "hotel" or I would rather say hostel is located around 8 minutes by foot to plaza de armas.
We had room number 7 which was located on the ground floor. We booked the room with the king size bed. The room looks a bit old fashioned, the door closed not appropriately and you can hear really everything. Your neighbours on the first floor, ground floor, in the morning the staff when they prepare the breakfast etc.
We spent 3 nights at the end of May there. So the nights are a bit cold and the rooms are cold too. For an electric radiator you have to pay additionally.
Be also aware that the shower is not hot, but lukewarm to cold.
The garden with the big tortoise where you can have breakfast or your Spanish lesson was the highlight for us during our stay in Casa de Avila!
You get continental breakfast and for additional options (eggs, fruits, sandwiches) you have to pay extra. At the end of our stay (doing the check out) they told us that fried eggs were included. So check your "package" first. If you have your breakfast a little later (8.30 am) the staff is not able to keep up. Means the buffet is empty and you have to ask for everything: butter, hot water, cheese, fruits etc.
The receptionists are friendly and helpful. They speak really good English. If you would like to book the cooking class, need a hair dryer, information etc. they help you out.
All in all price-quality ratio is ok. Because it's cheap.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank schristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Manager at Casa de Avila - For Travellers, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Being the lowest review we received this year, we apologize for all inconviniences. Keeping rates low is one of our goals, but we never ment to be cheap. We will imediately check the door of the room and fix it. Yes, besides Continental breakfast, eggs and pancakes are $3 extra. We do refill breakfast from 7.30 to 9.30am several times but I am sure we will have to be more careful in the future. We provide heaters as extra in all our regular rooms, price: 5 extra dollars. Thank you for all your observations, we will do our best effort for not to do such a mistake again. We are one of the 2014 Certificate of Excellence Winner and we want to keep it. Correcting all your observations is a must.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews