We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Way too expensive for what you get!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa de Avila - For Travellers
Ranked #5 of 99 Hotels in Arequipa
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Way too expensive for what you get!”
Reviewed June 27, 2014

This hotel seems really Nice but it is way too expensive for what you get!
We just stayed there And for 55$, the wifi dis not work because there were too many people, there was no hot water And since all rooms give on the garden where you have breakfast, you get awake at 7 am by people who make breakfast (that don t try to be quiet).
And generously, They offre to refund 5 NS! What a joke! Avoid this place.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aline A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Owner at Casa de Avila - For Travellers, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for taking some time with your review. Even this is the worst evaluation we have received ever. My excuses and the excuses of all the staff in the hotel. Our main concern is you to feel comfortable and have no problems while staying. During your staying the whole city had a crash of Internet Service provided by Movistar (fire burned central tubes). We tried to provide internet using another connection but seems it was not enough. We regularly provide a 6Mbps Internet connection wifi using a router and two repeaters covering all the garden. Breakfast is served in the garden, and sorry if somebody made too much noise that early. We are fixing that, but I think the initiative of taking breakfast in the garden won´t be changed. Its great to have nature, sun, birds to begin the day. Our hot water service warranties a 100 to 120 F hot water provided by 3 gas water heaters. Sorry if that is not enough. And yes, I think 5 dollars refund is not enough if our service was not what you were expecting. We can refund the total. Please get in touch with our office. Your advise is helping us to improve our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    195
    49
    10
    4
See reviews for
84
269
67
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2014

My daughter and I stayed here for a few days at the end of April. We found the hotel employees to be very friendly and helpful, the rooms adequate and the gardens peaceful and lovely. We were up and ready to leave early each morning, and found that the breakfast setup was generally slow in setup and rather confusing. It wasn't clear to us what was included in our 'continental' breakfast (which was skimpy) and what the prices were for what wasn't. We kept fruit and nuts in our room to tide us over until lunch.

Also, we booked an overnight Colca Canyon tour through the hotel service. Again the pricing was confusing, and we ended up paying for the night in the hotel while we were away. So ended up paying for a night's accommodation in two different places. (The Canyon tour was good)

All that said, I'd still recommend. We felt comfortable and secure here. The price was good enough despite the confusion over the charges.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Owner at Casa de Avila - For Travellers, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thanks for the review
You are right, during those dates we were in transition of taking breakfast to the garden. And could be confusing for some guests. But what about the idea of taking breakfast in the garden and start morning with sun, nature, bird singing?. Now the service is settle and its going much better.
Breakfast includes: two kinds of juice, coffee, milk, rolls of bread (2 each) butter, jelly, olives and cheese. Serve yourself style. A portion of fried eggs (2) or scrambled, or pancakes or fruit salad is 5 soles extra (1,8 dollars!)
We help our guests with Colca Tours using reputed local operators. And yes, if you don´t sleep in the hotel you don´t pay. Only requirement is you should take your luggage and keep it for free in our luggage room. We will be pleased to do any correction if needed in your bill. Please contact us.
You are the kind of guest we love to have! enjoying the garden, and feeling like in their own house: safe and relaxed. Thanks again for your support.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grafenau, Germany
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2014

A place I really liked. Very friendly and helpful service, a wonderful garden, walking distance to plaza de armas, clean rooms and a good breakfast. Here you get a very good value for your money. I stayed here a few days on my journey from Lima to Cusco and - as I liked it very much - I also spent a few days on the way back to Lima.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Irene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Lovely little hotel in Arequipa, great ground and nice to relax in, rooms are clean and spacious, shower was hot (often hard to find in Peru). Excellent cooking and pisco sour classes at the hotel which lots of people whom don't stay there come to do - if you stay at there you get a discounted rate! Easy walk to main historical centre and staff very friendly and helpful. All in all highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Meera R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiener Neustadt
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

The "hotel" or I would rather say hostel is located around 8 minutes by foot to plaza de armas.
We had room number 7 which was located on the ground floor. We booked the room with the king size bed. The room looks a bit old fashioned, the door closed not appropriately and you can hear really everything. Your neighbours on the first floor, ground floor, in the morning the staff when they prepare the breakfast etc.
We spent 3 nights at the end of May there. So the nights are a bit cold and the rooms are cold too. For an electric radiator you have to pay additionally.
Be also aware that the shower is not hot, but lukewarm to cold.
The garden with the big tortoise where you can have breakfast or your Spanish lesson was the highlight for us during our stay in Casa de Avila!
You get continental breakfast and for additional options (eggs, fruits, sandwiches) you have to pay extra. At the end of our stay (doing the check out) they told us that fried eggs were included. So check your "package" first. If you have your breakfast a little later (8.30 am) the staff is not able to keep up. Means the buffet is empty and you have to ask for everything: butter, hot water, cheese, fruits etc.
The receptionists are friendly and helpful. They speak really good English. If you would like to book the cooking class, need a hair dryer, information etc. they help you out.
All in all price-quality ratio is ok. Because it's cheap.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank schristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Manager at Casa de Avila - For Travellers, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Being the lowest review we received this year, we apologize for all inconviniences. Keeping rates low is one of our goals, but we never ment to be cheap. We will imediately check the door of the room and fix it. Yes, besides Continental breakfast, eggs and pancakes are $3 extra. We do refill breakfast from 7.30 to 9.30am several times but I am sure we will have to be more careful in the future. We provide heaters as extra in all our regular rooms, price: 5 extra dollars. Thank you for all your observations, we will do our best effort for not to do such a mistake again. We are one of the 2014 Certificate of Excellence Winner and we want to keep it. Correcting all your observations is a must.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

I should have written this review sooner, we (the husband and I) stayed here 3 or 4 nights, I can't remember now. What I do remember is being impressed by their courtyard and the peaceful environment (depending on how many people were lounging there) and the cutest tortuga that was like a dog, following me. We stayed for two nights before our Colca Canyon trek then returned 2 nights later to stay 2 more nights. It was a perfect ending to our 24 day backpacking trip in Peru. We booked our. Colca trek through them, easy and simple, picked up at 4am, the front desk person sleeps there by the door, felt bad we had to wake him up to unlock the front door. Did our laundry with them, there was a mix up with the bags, we got someone else's clothes, but that happens, so we weren't upset.

We got to stay in two different rooms, one before the trek and one after. The first was on ground floor, smaller, older. The second was on the second floor, looked renovated, and there was so much more space. Furniture was new. Loved it.

Walking distance to the main square (if you like walking its fine, if you don't, might feel far). Everything about this place just felt great, not sure if that's because we stayed at much worse on this trip, but it did feel like a splurge to stay here as backpackers. Overall would definitely return if we come back to visit Arequipa.

Don't forget to climb onto the roof for the best view of El Misti.

Room Tip: Ask to look at different rooms, they are different sizes and some renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveLIFE00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

After wandering or touring, what a great place to return to! The garden is quiet and pleasant, with its resident tortoise who appears to be obsessed with sneakers. Fun to sit back as a group discovers the joys of Peruvian cooking in one of the Casa's classes - more fun to actually take a class. We took two and learned much, including the secrets of the Pisco Sour.

The hotel is within an easy walk of the center of town, but on a quiet street with several kinds of restaurants. The breakfast is basic, but for a few sols you can add waffles or eggs. The rooms are all around the garden. . Everyone at the Casa was unfailingly pleasant and seemed to enjoy being there.

They also offer language classes - which gives the garden a studious air, very quiet, which added to the pleasant sense of this sunny, calm oasis in busy Arequipa.

Room Tip: When we were there, there was external noise - from some construction, and some 4 a.m. fireworks - r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crowdedfalafel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
0.5 mi away
Las Torres de Ugarte
Las Torres de Ugarte
#8 of 99 in Arequipa
501 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel
0.3 mi away
Los Tambos
Los Tambos
#2 of 99 in Arequipa
1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Arequipa
0.7 mi away
Posada Nueva Espana
Posada Nueva Espana
#10 of 99 in Arequipa
266 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique Villa Elisa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Avila - For Travellers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Avila - For Travellers

Property: Casa de Avila - For Travellers
Address: Av San Martin 116 | Vallecito, Arequipa 00001, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 99 Hotels in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa de Avila - For Travellers 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de Avila is a beautiful yet affordable Mansion Hostel. With all private rooms circling the courtyard garden. An oasis of green and tranquility. A social room, book exchange library and cafeteria in the garden ar part of the facilities available. Our staff is always willing to help you with your needs. Friendly environment. Several kinds of rooms to fit your needs and budget. All with free WiFi, hot showers 24/7, linen and towels. Very clean. It s also headquarter of the famous Peruvian Cooking Experience, the best hands on activity in the city. We also host a Spanish School. And our tour operator sister company gives us the chance to offer you the best local tours with great prices and service. It’s a family owned business, which in Peru means we have a stronger compromise to serve as best as possible to our guests. Welcome, you are invited to our house! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Casa de Avila - For Travellers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing