We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely garden”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa de Avila - For Travellers
Ranked #5 of 97 Hotels in Arequipa
Certificate of Excellence
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A lovely garden”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

After wandering or touring, what a great place to return to! The garden is quiet and pleasant, with its resident tortoise who appears to be obsessed with sneakers. Fun to sit back as a group discovers the joys of Peruvian cooking in one of the Casa's classes - more fun to actually take a class. We took two and learned much, including the secrets of the Pisco Sour.

The hotel is within an easy walk of the center of town, but on a quiet street with several kinds of restaurants. The breakfast is basic, but for a few sols you can add waffles or eggs. The rooms are all around the garden. . Everyone at the Casa was unfailingly pleasant and seemed to enjoy being there.

They also offer language classes - which gives the garden a studious air, very quiet, which added to the pleasant sense of this sunny, calm oasis in busy Arequipa.

Room Tip: When we were there, there was external noise - from some construction, and some 4 a.m. fireworks - r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crowdedfalafel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    190
    48
    10
    4
See reviews for
79
258
63
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Loved this place for the hospitality and wonderful garden. The owner, who is friendly and always around, knows how to staff a hotel. Thanks to Franco, Nati, Tati, Rachael, & Lady for taking such good care of us despite our endless questions. We loved the staff and were sad to say goodbye.
We stayed in one of the first floor rooms next to the kitchen closet. The room was fine but quite chilly. The showers are warm but not really hot. These are not deluxe accommodations but you will feel welcome and the location is close enough to the plaza to walk but far enough for quiet. We booked a great trip to Colca canyon through the hotel and ended up taking the cooking class when we came back. The class was so much fun and we loved the market trip. They also have language classes in the garden. The garden, complete with turtle mascot, is a great place to relax, make plans or meet other travelers. Breakfast is good. Eggs, pancakes and other items are available for a small up charge. Go and enjoy this friendly place.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank designcunning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
281 reviews
169 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Thought the hotel looks a little old and used from the outside, inside the rooms are actually very nice, clean and new! Good blankets, good bed and new tv. Big plus is the large and pretty garden with chairs and sunshades in the middle of the hotel! Service at the reception was exceptional! Especially the girl called „Lady“ was superfriendly and helpful! Breakfast was ok, great fresh juices, but eggs were for an extra charge :(

Distance to the main square is about 10 minutes and another 5 to the Santa Catalina.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iliveinmexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Hotel located really near with the historical center of Arequipa. The room was clean, quiet, with heater. Breakfast was big enough with food choices. Staff were very helpful, polite and friendly. You can even do a spanish and yoga classes there. Beat place in whole Peru where we were stay ever.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yulia_Kolomiets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014

I loved this hotel. The garden was a big reason I made a reservation there, but everything about this hotel was friendly and comfortable. The staff were incredibly helpful. The room was comfortable and attractive. The breakfasts were good especially when we realized there were 2 chefs there to make us additional items beyond the continental breakfast served. We stored luggage there while on a Colca Canyon trip with no problem. We enjoyed the Peruvian cooking experience a lot and as part of that the Pisco sour "class" led by the owner of the hotel. We recommend you try Casa de Avila.

Room Tip: Take advantage of the breakfast menu offered that is over and above the continental. We did not real...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Everything was great. The food, service, rooms and cleanliness were all above and beyond anywhere else for the value. I will recommend Casa de Avila to anybody. The location was also AMAZING. It was just a five minute walk to the plaza de armas.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mornt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valdosta, Georgia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014

We picked this hotel from reading other reviews on Trip adviser and are very glad we did. We have a 5 yr old and he really enjoyed the GARDEN AND YARD area to watch the Turtle and talk to people and run and play.
The staff are some of the most accommodating hotel people I have ever met.
The room was OK and good sized with a nice Bathroom and shower. Dated but clean. Breakfast was included with bread, jam, cheese, fruit, fresh juices etc

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rrgeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
0.3 mi away
Los Tambos
Los Tambos
#2 of 97 in Arequipa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
0.5 mi away
Las Torres de Ugarte
Las Torres de Ugarte
#7 of 97 in Arequipa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique Villa Elisa
0.7 mi away
Posada Nueva Espana
Posada Nueva Espana
#10 of 97 in Arequipa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Casa de Melgar Hostal
La Casa de Melgar Hostal
#13 of 97 in Arequipa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Avila - For Travellers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Avila - For Travellers

Property: Casa de Avila - For Travellers
Address: Av San Martin 116 | Vallecito, Arequipa 00001, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 97 Hotels in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa de Avila - For Travellers 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de Avila is a beautiful yet affordable Mansion Hostel. With all private rooms circling the courtyard garden. An oasis of green and tranquility. A social room, book exchange library and cafeteria in the garden ar part of the facilities available. Our staff is always willing to help you with your needs. Friendly environment. Several kinds of rooms to fit your needs and budget. All with free WiFi, hot showers 24/7, linen and towels. Very clean. It s also headquarter of the famous Peruvian Cooking Experience, the best hands on activity in the city. We also host a Spanish School. And our tour operator sister company gives us the chance to offer you the best local tours with great prices and service. It’s a family owned business, which in Peru means we have a stronger compromise to serve as best as possible to our guests. Welcome, you are invited to our house! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Casa de Avila - For Travellers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing