We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't fault it.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa de Avila - For Travellers

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa de Avila - For Travellers
Ranked #7 of 92 Hotels in Arequipa
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Can't fault it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

I stayed here, meeting my sister who had be volunteering in Arequipa for 6 months. I can't rate this hotel highly enough given the price. Sister couldn't either and she'd been there fore 5 months! Free wifi internet, and although basic the rooms were clean, with beautiful gardens.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    165
    43
    7
    4
See reviews for
55
209
49
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Myself and 2 friends stayed at Casa De Avila for 8 nights in November. We stayed in one of the family rooms which was spacious, clean and comfortable. The hotel is about a 10 minute walk from the Plaza which was perfect for us since we found the Plaza quite busy and noisy so it was peaceful at the hotel. The garden is amazing, a great place to relax after breakfast before leaving to visit the City. Every morning we would go down to the garden to look for their pet turtle named Paka. The best part of our stay was the staff, so helpful and they would always greet us with a smile. They provided us with excellent information for tours to the Colca Canyon, City tours and El Misti. The breakfast was good but basic, bread with jams, cereal, cheese, delicious juice, coffee and tea. But you can order a la carte for a few soles (we loved the fried potatoes)! While my friends we're hiking in Colca Canyon, I enrolled in some spanish classes that I truly enjoyed. Our only regret is missing the cooking classes, I guess we'll have to go back!

We highly recommend this hotel in Arequipa! A huge thank you to the staff, particularly to Natalia, Raquel, Lucia and Milagros!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capelle aan den IJssel, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

The hotel is certainly not a luxory hotel, but it is great for you money you paid.

The hotel location is reasonably close to the center. Rooms are clean and the garden is beautiful( with a turtle pet it is extra fun).

The best is the service. The staffs are very helpful. They speak good english and always offer honest advices. I joined the cooking class organized by the hotel and it was great fun.

During my stay in Arequiba I got serious diarrihea from a restaraunt in the center. The hotel staff (Lady, also our chef for the cooking class) tried her best to help me, she got me some pills and hot coca tea that was supposed to help. Although my stiuation was a bit too heavy for the the pill she gave, I truely appreciate her effort.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bsgdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Owner at Casa de Avila - For Travellers, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your valuable opinion. I feel proud of my staff and think its the best value of the hotel. I see you gave us a great evaluation, but if you think we can improve, we will be pleased to receive your advise. Too bad to know about that stomach problem. I am reporting your case for statistical purposes, but will be good for you to publish the name of the place. Besides that, I hope your staying in Peru will be something to remember as a beautiful experience.
Thanks again and keep having a wonderful life!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palo alto, calif
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

I am so glad we choose Casa de Avila to stay in Arequipa. The staff was all so very kind, helpful, thoughtful...I can't say enough. The room was clean. The garden is lovely and gave the place such an international feel. It was peaceful. Filtered water is provided on the deck by the garden. Breakfast is a simple but good start to the day. They also offer a small menu for very little expense for those who want a bit more to eat. The whole place felt so safe...they lock the front gate come sundown and quickly let you in and out. The walk to the plaza is nothing. We walked our feet off. The staff arranged taxi's and even made us a small evening meal before we left to the bus station for an overnight bus to Huacachina. I found this to be a special place.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ttkcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Owner at Casa de Avila - For Travellers, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you very much for your opinion. Our goal is to make you feel comfortable, safe and to enjoy your staying with us. And all of our staff is devoted to that. If we did it, we are very happy.
Hope your experience in Peru is unforgettable and we share part of those memories. Have a wonderful life and maybe see you again!
--
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Charming place with nice rooms. Staff was always helpful, i can wait to visit Arequipa again and visit this place. The place is a short walk away from the plaza de armas, where you can visit a market, some tourist spots and restaurants to eat some good food.

Can't remember if they offered a breakfast but i had some good time resting in the yard after some day trips I did in Arequipa.

i would definitely go there again. Unfortunately, the place is not the best for party people, cause is very quiet and peaceful, and besides that u can learn some good spanish there, as there's a language schoool based there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ricardoo404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

The rooms of Casa de Avila overlook the gorgeous courtyard garden which is also the home of Spanish School Arequipa where I was attending classes. All of the staff were amazing particularly the receptionists who actually took the time to get to know me and would often have a bit of a chat.
The place is kept exceptionally clean, breakfast is good quality with more than just the standard bread and jam and there is free wifi. It is only a short walk to Plaza de Armas. The hotel security is kept tight, especially at night.
The staff definitely made this place special for me!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sjd85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Incline Village, Nevada
Level Contributor
102 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We were so happy to find this island of tranquility in downtown Arequipa. The hotel is well run by a group of charming young women who are friendly, helpful and efficient. The rooms may be small but they overlook a large garden which is a perfect place to relax or to take Spanish classes and cooking classes. We even spent a fun afternoon learning how to make a pisco sour. It is a safe, short walk to Plaza de Armas And when we return to Arequipa there is nowhere else we would want to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
0.5 mi away
Las Torres de Ugarte
Las Torres de Ugarte
#5 of 92 in Arequipa
4.5 of 5 stars 424 reviews
0.3 mi away
Los Tambos
Los Tambos
#1 of 92 in Arequipa
5.0 of 5 stars 890 reviews
0.7 mi away
Posada Nueva Espana
Posada Nueva Espana
#8 of 92 in Arequipa
4.5 of 5 stars 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel
1.0 mi away
Hotel Libertador Arequipa
Hotel Libertador Arequipa
#3 of 92 in Arequipa
4.5 of 5 stars 553 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Casona De Jerusalen Traveler's Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Avila - For Travellers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Avila - For Travellers

Property: Casa de Avila - For Travellers
Address: Av San Martin 116 | Vallecito, Arequipa 00001, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 92 Hotels in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa de Avila - For Travellers 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de Avila, for Travellers. An an oasis of green and tranquility located in the Historic Center of Arequipa. Recomended because its hospitality and friendly treatment with customers. The staff's mission is for you to enjoy your staying in Arequipa, the city built in volcanic stone. Walk ancestral streets, see its houses and churches with vaults and arches, and enjoy its climate and culture. Our breakfast is served in the Central Garden, an excellent way to start your day surrounded by gree and the permanent good climate of the city. We serve only fresh products from the region. For dinner and lunch you can also try delicious recipes prepared with love. We care to offer you a shower with hot water and enough pressure, the Internet functioning properly and cable service providing you fresh news. Do You need something extra? Early Check in? Luggage Keeping? Ask our staff and we will try to provide it. Whether traveling alone, as a couple, family or friends, Casa de Avila has an offer for you. Contact us to serve you as you deserve. And do not miss the deals available only if you book directly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotwire and Despegar.com so you can book your Casa de Avila - For Travellers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing