We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa de Avila - For Travellers
Ranked #3 of 102 Hotels in Arequipa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 2, 2013

I am so glad we choose Casa de Avila to stay in Arequipa. The staff was all so very kind, helpful, thoughtful...I can't say enough. The room was clean. The garden is lovely and gave the place such an international feel. It was peaceful. Filtered water is provided on the deck by the garden. Breakfast is a simple but good start to the day. They also offer a small menu for very little expense for those who want a bit more to eat. The whole place felt so safe...they lock the front gate come sundown and quickly let you in and out. The walk to the plaza is nothing. We walked our feet off. The staff arranged taxi's and even made us a small evening meal before we left to the bus station for an overnight bus to Huacachina. I found this to be a special place.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ttkcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Owner at Casa de Avila - For Travellers, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Thank you very much for your opinion. Our goal is to make you feel comfortable, safe and to enjoy your staying with us. And all of our staff is devoted to that. If we did it, we are very happy.
Hope your experience in Peru is unforgettable and we share part of those memories. Have a wonderful life and maybe see you again!
--

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (628)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

224 - 230 of 628 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2013

Charming place with nice rooms. Staff was always helpful, i can wait to visit Arequipa again and visit this place. The place is a short walk away from the plaza de armas, where you can visit a market, some tourist spots and restaurants to eat some good food.

Can't remember if they offered a breakfast but i had some good time resting in the yard after some day trips I did in Arequipa.

i would definitely go there again. Unfortunately, the place is not the best for party people, cause is very quiet and peaceful, and besides that u can learn some good spanish there, as there's a language schoool based there.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ricardoo404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

The rooms of Casa de Avila overlook the gorgeous courtyard garden which is also the home of Spanish School Arequipa where I was attending classes. All of the staff were amazing particularly the receptionists who actually took the time to get to know me and would often have a bit of a chat.
The place is kept exceptionally clean, breakfast is good quality with more than just the standard bread and jam and there is free wifi. It is only a short walk to Plaza de Armas. The hotel security is kept tight, especially at night.
The staff definitely made this place special for me!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sjd85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We were so happy to find this island of tranquility in downtown Arequipa. The hotel is well run by a group of charming young women who are friendly, helpful and efficient. The rooms may be small but they overlook a large garden which is a perfect place to relax or to take Spanish classes and cooking classes. We even spent a fun afternoon learning how to make a pisco sour. It is a safe, short walk to Plaza de Armas And when we return to Arequipa there is nowhere else we would want to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Casa de Avila turned out to be a wonderful, homey, old fashioned, courtyard hotel bathed in lovely sunlight, the time we lodged there, my family and I. Coming in from cool cloudy Lima, Arequipa's warmth and dryness felt therapeutic to us and we didn't mind that the town's lovely central plaza was a 15 minute walk away.

Our room, painted in friendly yellow, faced the sunny courtyard where you can sit and enjoy the day and where cooking classes are held in a small open kitchen although we didn't take part in these. Clean sheets, restful beds, a clean functional bathroom equipped with plenty of hot water helped our stay along with a second floor breakfast room which served us just fine.

The staff and kitchen employees were friendly helpful and attentive, and the price seemed quite reasonable; safe as can be too.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sinsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

The hotel was a great welcome for us staying in Peru. Room are decent, clean, with Wi-Fi. Beautiful garden seating area, and the Peruvian cooking experience was great! Service was excellent, I would come here again :)

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexchewy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Very quite and nice hotel. Clean rooms. Great gardens. Helpful and friendly Staff. It is close to main square. Rates are OK. The breakfast is basic but you can pay additional for more options. Ideal for families, couples or friends.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
0.5 mi away
Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel
0.5 mi away
Las Torres de Ugarte
Las Torres de Ugarte
#5 of 102 in Arequipa
523 reviews
0.3 mi away
Los Tambos
Los Tambos
#2 of 102 in Arequipa
1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique Villa Elisa
Hotel Boutique Villa Elisa
#1 of 102 in Arequipa
314 reviews
0.7 mi away
Posada Nueva Espana
Posada Nueva Espana
#10 of 102 in Arequipa
274 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Arequipa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Avila - For Travellers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Avila - For Travellers

Address: Av San Martin 116 | Vallecito, Arequipa 00001, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 102 Hotels in Arequipa
Price Range: $50 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa de Avila - For Travellers 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de Avila is a beautiful yet affordable Mansion Hostel. With all private rooms circling the courtyard garden. An oasis of green and tranquility. A social room, book exchange library and cafeteria in the garden ar part of the facilities available. Our staff is always willing to help you with your needs. Friendly environment. Several kinds of rooms to fit your needs and budget. All with free WiFi, hot showers 24/7, linen and towels. Very clean. It s also headquarter of the famous Peruvian Cooking Experience, the best hands on activity in the city. We also host a Spanish School. And our tour operator sister company gives us the chance to offer you the best local tours with great prices and service. It’s a family owned business, which in Peru means we have a stronger compromise to serve as best as possible to our guests. Welcome, you are invited to our house! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Casa de Avila - For Travellers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing