We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casa de Avila - For Travellers
Nearby Hotels
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Los Tambos(Arequipa)
$99
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Benavides(Arequipa)
$60
$35
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
$60
$52
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
Posada Nueva Espana(Arequipa)
$48
$31
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$75
$53
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (662)
Filter reviews
662 results
Traveler rating
391
205
51
10
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
391
205
51
10
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspanish lessonscooking classcooking schoolbeautiful gardenperuvian cooking experiencecolca canyonlarge courtyardlovely place to relaxeggsread a bookshort walkbreadplenty of blanketsloved this hotelrelaxing stayevery morningfew blocks
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
248 - 253 of 662 reviews
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Overall this place is really fine, yummy breakfast, lovely garden and easy access to the touristic centre. But our room was hidden on the ground floor and i was SEVERALLY bitten by bed bugs, so hard I could not sleep. It's a pity because the hotel is nice. Maybe they should jyst change bed sheets more often

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emmafarne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Manager at Casa de Avila - For Travellers, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Dear Guest
We change sheets for EVERY NEW GUEST as a regular procedure. And we change them every other day if you stay longer than 2 days. We have our own laudry service and procedures for quality control.
I don´t doubt about you being bite, but you should be aware you and your couple visited some other cities and hotels before arriving, and bugs could have being brought by you in your luggage or clothe.
We have a special procedure for guests comming from Chivay and Puno, (rural areas). We can´t reject them but when they live, we check intenisvely all the room and covers, and if we suspect about them infecting any of our rooms, we fumigate it imediately.
A World Mining Convention has being held in Arequipa Set 15-20, and we were selected as an official Hotel for the event. As part of the requirements, authorities supervised EVERY ONE of our rooms (including 116, where you stayed) a week before that date. We did not receive any negative report. No bugs.
Sorry for the inconvinience, but I can answer firmly, those bites were not caused by anything located in the room before your arrival.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Ideal location, 10 minutes walk from the main plaza, this was a quiet hotel with beautiful gardens. We had arranged with the hotel for a taxi pick up from the airport, which although confirmed did not show! Luckily the staff at the makeshift airport (a tent!!! due to reconstruction work) called the hotel and a taxi arrived within 10minutes.

Staff were friendly and helpful, the room was clean and of a good standard. There was remedial work going on around the hotel, but this did not bother us.

We were unable to sample the breakfast due to an early start at 3.am for the Colca Canyon Tour (arranged by the hotel) but they did give us some bread rolls (a bit of cheese won't not have gone amiss)

We left our bags safely at the hotel for the 3 day/2 night tour

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stewandbex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Lovely hotel with excellent staff. Garden very beautiful and great for relaxing. Rooms clean with hot water, although our triple room was a little on the small side. Breakfast nothing special, but pretty standard for Peru. Excellent cookery course! Would be great if they had a place for checked out guests to shower (even at a small cost) - there are a lot of people who do excursions before taking a night bus/plane.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank CW_2844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

This quiet hotel is close to downtown, but not too close. It's situated in a nice neighborhood, with numerous nice restaurants within walking distace. The courtyard is a nice place to relax, and visit friendly people from all over. They can also help arrange any tours that you'd like to do.

Room Tip: All rooms should be nice, ones on the second floor may be warmer in winter. If arriving early in the morning by bus, you may need to wait a bit for your room.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EBMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

My friend and I stayed in Casa de Avila on July 2013. This is a beautiful hotel. It has an amazing garden with tables, chairs, etc. where you can sit for tea, take Spanish lessons or a cooking class! This place has so much character! The ladies working at the reception are simply amazing. They were very helpful. They let us check in early because my friend wasn't feeling well and we arrived early. They also made her a chicken soup!!! The location is not too bad, it's about a 10-15 min. walk from Plaza Mayor (main square). The only problem we had was that they forgot to give my friend her laundry when we checked out. However, we called the hotel from the bus station and they sent it with a taxi driver, but my friend had to pay for the taxi. Overall, Casa de Avila was an amazing place and I highly recommend it! Thanks ladies for a great experience!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annye0620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews