We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to downtown, but not too close”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa de Avila - For Travellers
Ranked #5 of 99 Hotels in Arequipa
Certificate of Excellence
MN
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Close to downtown, but not too close”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

This quiet hotel is close to downtown, but not too close. It's situated in a nice neighborhood, with numerous nice restaurants within walking distace. The courtyard is a nice place to relax, and visit friendly people from all over. They can also help arrange any tours that you'd like to do.

Room Tip: All rooms should be nice, ones on the second floor may be warmer in winter. If arriving early in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EBMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    195
    49
    10
    4
See reviews for
84
269
67
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sayville, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

My friend and I stayed in Casa de Avila on July 2013. This is a beautiful hotel. It has an amazing garden with tables, chairs, etc. where you can sit for tea, take Spanish lessons or a cooking class! This place has so much character! The ladies working at the reception are simply amazing. They were very helpful. They let us check in early because my friend wasn't feeling well and we arrived early. They also made her a chicken soup!!! The location is not too bad, it's about a 10-15 min. walk from Plaza Mayor (main square). The only problem we had was that they forgot to give my friend her laundry when we checked out. However, we called the hotel from the bus station and they sent it with a taxi driver, but my friend had to pay for the taxi. Overall, Casa de Avila was an amazing place and I highly recommend it! Thanks ladies for a great experience!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annye0620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Casa Avila was fantastic. I stayed there for 8 nights while also taking Spanish School in Arequipa. The staff was so incredibly friendly and always willing to help me with any questions I had. They all knew my name after my first day and greeted me with a big smile each time I returned to the hotel. My room was basic, but always very clean and very fair for the price. The garden is fantastic and it was great to have Spanish class out there and just to hang out there as well. I also loved the tortoise that hangs around the garden! Armando runs a fabulous place with a great vibe for a very good price. If you are in Arequipa for 1 night or 20, I would highly recommend staying at Casa de Avila. The Spanish school and Peruvian cooking experience are also fabulous!

Room Tip: Ask for a room off of the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julierebecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed here for three nights during our time in Peru, and it turned out to be my favorite place that we stayed. The rooms were clean, neat, and refreshed daily. I found the room to be very functional as it had enough furniture to really organize your travel belongings. It even had a small hook rack which is a small detail that I wish more hotels/hostels would have. The door lock is a bit skimpy, but I always felt safe in the hotel, the neighborhood, and Arequipa in general. Breakfast was basic, as in most budget accommodations around Peru. The courtyard was a nice place to relax after an afternoon exploring the city. We did get our laundry done here which was 6 soles per kilo, when outside in the city it is 3 soles per kilo, but you are paying for convenience. Ultimately, this was a great home base for exploring the city and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LovelyReverie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

My fiance and I really enjoyed our stay at Casa de Avila. The hotel staff was very friendly and the hotels garden area is a great place to relax. The room was clean and comfortable while not being too fancy. It was also fun to be in the atmosphere of the students studying either Spanish or cooking. I also really appreciated the strong cup of coffee in the morning whereas in other places we stayed the coffee was always a little bit weak. The hotel is a little bit further away from Plaza de Armas than many of the other tourist hotels but we enjoyed exploring Arequipa's wide streets and a short walk didn't bother us among the overall value that we felt Casa de Avila offered with the garden, clean rooms, and friendly staff. I recommend this hotel to other travelers.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatrickGault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

This hostel/hotel is very affordable and very adequate. The room was clean and functional. I was concerned about safety because the door didn't have a safety bolt and the window lock seemed old. It's also located in a neighborhood that is a little quieter at night so there's not a lot of people around. The people at the front desk were very helpful and provided us with a map. They also called us a cab for us to go to the airport.

The breakfast was the worst we had in Peru and frankly not worth waking up early for.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank lostinthesouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Very very nice place. Staff excellent. Comfortable, quiet, convenient, lovely garden grounds, very affordable. What more can a traveler want. Free Internet nice breakfast always someone on duty with a smile.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MLS_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
0.5 mi away
Las Torres de Ugarte
Las Torres de Ugarte
#8 of 99 in Arequipa
501 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel
0.3 mi away
Los Tambos
Los Tambos
#2 of 99 in Arequipa
1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Arequipa
0.7 mi away
Posada Nueva Espana
Posada Nueva Espana
#10 of 99 in Arequipa
266 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique Villa Elisa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Avila - For Travellers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Avila - For Travellers

Property: Casa de Avila - For Travellers
Address: Av San Martin 116 | Vallecito, Arequipa 00001, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 99 Hotels in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa de Avila - For Travellers 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de Avila is a beautiful yet affordable Mansion Hostel. With all private rooms circling the courtyard garden. An oasis of green and tranquility. A social room, book exchange library and cafeteria in the garden ar part of the facilities available. Our staff is always willing to help you with your needs. Friendly environment. Several kinds of rooms to fit your needs and budget. All with free WiFi, hot showers 24/7, linen and towels. Very clean. It s also headquarter of the famous Peruvian Cooking Experience, the best hands on activity in the city. We also host a Spanish School. And our tour operator sister company gives us the chance to offer you the best local tours with great prices and service. It’s a family owned business, which in Peru means we have a stronger compromise to serve as best as possible to our guests. Welcome, you are invited to our house! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Casa de Avila - For Travellers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing