We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and clean! with great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa de Avila - For Travellers
Ranked #3 of 104 Hotels in Arequipa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Living in Peru 2 years now, I am used to be cheated but there was NO SURPRISE at this hotel. The staff was useful, honest and tried to help as much as they could. They even warned me about the possible noise from construction next door if I planned to sleep in! They have hot shower with lots of pressure, the room are simple but clean and even have cable tv. The garden is haven in Arequipa and gives you a place to rest quiet in compay of the turtle who loves eating bananas! Will make it my home away from home whenever I come back to Arequipa!

Room Tip: Make sure you mention double bed as it is not the same as double room (ask for matriomonial queen or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mariehp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Manager at Casa de Avila - For Travellers, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

So good to know you enjoyed your staying! Just to mention you, construction next door from the hotel has finished. They are now painting and there is no noise comming from there. Sorry for the mistake about double and double bed. In Spanish "Doble", the translation for double, means two beds. So yes, if you want two beds, ask for TWIN, and if you want one bed for two, ask for Double, matrimonial, Queen or King. Thanks a lot

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (649)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

282 - 288 of 649 reviews

Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stayed in CASA DE AVILA for two nights and got a room in the upper floor. The room needs a little makeover as the color on the ceiling was comming down a little. The bathroom was OK but could be a little bit better in shape. The people working on the front desk are the best and this is why I have to give 5 points. They are such helpful and friendly people, they really do everything for you. We brought a bottle of vine from Germany to give to someone special during our trip. We left it here because one of the ladies was really the most friendly person I ever met.
The Hostal has a spanish school included so you can go there and learn spanish during your vacation - actually a very nice place to do that. They have a big garden where you can sit and relax. Unfortunately they do not have a pool.
WiFi reception was OK - once you have a connection the Internet speed was amazingly fast.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rgloeckn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

The great thing about Casa de Avila is its proximity to the centre of Arequipa. It's less than a 10 minute walk. However, the staff pointed out that just to the east of the hotel the neighbourhood is not so great and told us to avoid it (which we did). The walk to the centre of town was pleasant with a lot of little shops selling snacks and water.

The staff was very helpful. I realized I'd lost my ring after I checked out and they gave us access to our room so we could look for it. Our flight out of Arequipa was in the late afternoon and they stored our luggage after we've checked out.

Our room itself was small and narrow, but it still fit a wardrobe, a shower, a double bed, a TV, and a small desk. Our room was on the main floor looking into the courtyard. Although the room itself was a bit dark, the courtyard was beautiful. Lots of tables and chairs where you can sit and enjoy the sun (or look for the turtle). There seems to be a Spanish school in the hotel so sometimes there aren't any seats because the tutors and students would be having their lessons.

The hotel itself is bigger than I'd thought, with a second floor also filled with rooms. There was one morning where the breakfast area on the second floor was very full and the jams and bread were out, but the staff quickly replenished the supply. There are also 2 computers on the second floor with which you could check your email.

I had a very good stay and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoquaxTheKumquat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Owner at Casa de Avila - For Travellers, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Dear Guest. We appreciate your review and we feel happy to know you had a great time with us. Thats the main reason of our activity. I see you took the Standard Double room, a great rate and small but comfortable enough room. We also provide Superior, Queen and King size rooms around the garden. They are bigger, brighter and of course a little more expensive. But all share the view of the garden and the rest of the services.
We will be a little more careful on having enough chairs available for our guests.
Thanks and hope to see you again someday

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Very comfortable hotel, nice courtyard, friendly staff. Overall best hotel we stayed at during our trip in Peru. We were able to do laundry, they arranged for a day trip to Colca Canyon for us. Would recommend to friends. And there's a cute pet turtle that lives in the terrace area.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaniceHfx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

My friend and I stayed here for a few nights and absolutely loved it. The staff were incredibly friendly, helpful and just all around wonderful. Best customer service experience in Peru. They were always willing to help in any way possible. The room was very comfortable and large with a nice, clean bathroom. The courtyard is wonderful place to relax and have a beer and the breakfast had fresh juice, coffee, teas, bread, cheese and jam. It is a 5-10 minute walk to the Plaza de Armas, which is very convenient, and is just the right distance to be quiet in the evenings. Would definitely stay here if I go back. Wonderful stay and highly recommended!

Room Tip: Stayed in room 207 (I believe). It was at the very end of the hall and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Arequipa is not big so Casa de Avila's 10-15 min walk to the center is a better choice for me personally. It's also close to the market, which is really good.

The double bed is too small for two people, so we had to request an upgrade. The bed sheet and towels are very clean.

The garden is indeed nice. During our staying over there, it was quiet and peaceful. The staff are very friendly, nice and helpful.

Room Tip: If you or your buddy is taller than 5'7" then ask for a queen size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glabal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Manager at Casa de Avila - For Travellers, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Dear guest
Thank you very much for staying with us. And thanks for calling our attention to bed size. Actually adouble bed in Peru and our hotel is 55x79 inches. We understand your concern and starting today we will publish our bed size in all our advertisements so clients can decide which one fits their needs. We offer two alternatives: Queen (63x70 in) and King (71x79 in). Thanks again and sorry for any inconvinience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We returned from Peru and we had the pleasure of staying at Casa de Avila.
We only have words of thanks and gratitude to all those responsible for the hotel.
The hotel is a beautiful building located ten minutes walk from the Plaza de Armas. If you want, they warn you about a taxi downtown for 4 or 5 soles. The service is unbeatable. The rooms are beautiful, full of tasteful details. The breakfast is delicious: coffee or coca bread with jam, fruit, juice, eggs ... all prepared and served impeccably. We had hot water at all times and not at all bothered by the noise from the street (not busy, but safe).
In short, a beautiful hotel where it is best to try both the warm and impeccable service as the hotel itself, beautiful, downtown and really unique.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ROB520ASUTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
0.3 mi away
Los Tambos
Los Tambos
#2 of 104 in Arequipa
1,149 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique Villa Elisa
Hotel Boutique Villa Elisa
#1 of 104 in Arequipa
334 reviews
0.5 mi away
Las Torres de Ugarte
Las Torres de Ugarte
#8 of 104 in Arequipa
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Posada Nueva Espana
Posada Nueva Espana
#10 of 104 in Arequipa
287 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Hosteria
La Hosteria
#19 of 104 in Arequipa
303 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Avila - For Travellers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Avila - For Travellers

Address: Av San Martin 116 | Vallecito, Arequipa 00001, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 104 Hotels in Arequipa
Price Range: $42 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa de Avila - For Travellers 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de Avila is a beautiful yet affordable Mansion Hostel. With all private rooms circling the courtyard garden. An oasis of green and tranquility. A social room, book exchange library and cafeteria in the garden ar part of the facilities available. Our staff is always willing to help you with your needs. Friendly environment. Several kinds of rooms to fit your needs and budget. All with free WiFi, hot showers 24/7, linen and towels. Very clean. It s also headquarter of the famous Peruvian Cooking Experience, the best hands on activity in the city. We also host a Spanish School. And our tour operator sister company gives us the chance to offer you the best local tours with great prices and service. It’s a family owned business, which in Peru means we have a stronger compromise to serve as best as possible to our guests. Welcome, you are invited to our house! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Casa de Avila - For Travellers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing