We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa de Avila - For Travellers
Ranked #5 of 101 Hotels in Arequipa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Read about this in trip advisor and looked at the reviews on here. The place totally amazed us. It was beautiful. The room was spacious and the bathroom was amazing. The colonial style of the hotel and the colours they use are just lovely. It really was like being in a monestry. Would definitely stay here again. Very convienient and the staff were friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poole104AhT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (607)
There are newer reviews for Casa de Avila - For Travellers
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

264 - 270 of 607 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here for a few nights to explore Arequipa and trek the Colca Canyon. We stayed in a matrimonial en suite room which was really comfortable and clean, with plenty of space to unpack and rearrange our stuff. The location is good, avoiding the worst of the traffic noise and incessant car horns that plague the areas in the centre of towns - a personal bugbear of Peru.

The breakfast was fairly standard for a Peru continental affair, though there was wholemeal bread on offer which was a pleasant surprise. The laundry service was really good value too. The staff were extremely helpful throughout and I recommend getting them to negotiate the taxi fares - they will ensure you pay the going fare, not the gringo fare!

The main plus for the Casa is the beautiful garden courtyard which is immaculately kept and a lovely place to relax. The language school seems busy too and can think of few better environments to learn Spanish. Overall it was a lovely stay and I would highly recommend staying there.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rickythepilchard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

I stayed in this charming hotel in beautiful Arequipa for six nights in October. The rooms look out to the lovely garden, where there are chairs and tables for relaxing. My room was very comfortable, the hot water was great, and the accompanying breakfast was very nice. If one wanted more than the continental buffet, such as eggs, there was a small extra charge, I think about $2.00.

It's in a good location, about four blocks from the center, and I felt okay about walking back at night, as there seemed to be security guards or police on every street.

The hotel was quiet, and I slept well.

The staff members were all pleasant and helpful. I recommend this hotel wholeheartedly.

Room Tip: There are a few rooms near the reception, but they don't overlook the garden.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaliforniaWoman42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

I stayed here for four nights at the end of August/start of September and it was my favourite place in Peru. The staff were incredibly friendly, the room was very clean and there was hot water. They arranged a tour of Colca Canyon for me and the bus to Puno without ripping me off. When I was in the canyon I stored my bags at the hotel, totally fine. Only downside was the internet on the computers was pretty slow. Also, very cheap, great location and lovely garden. Can't recommend this place enough.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul19_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We initially chose this place to stay as we were to attend the on site Spanish school (which is also fantastic). Upon arrival, the staff were really helpful and friendly. Within an hour or two, they knew our names and it really felt like home. The rooms are basic but have everything that you would need from a hot shower to a tv with over 100 channels. Outside is truly picturesque, a communal green complete with pet tortoise. The hotel also offers a number of affiliated tours and excursions. All of these offer huge value for money. We tried rafting, took a local tour, booked a canyon trek and attended the Andean cooking and pisco sour class. The owner Armando took us for a free tour of the city and invited us to join in and eat cake and listen to a mariachi band on his birthday. To summarise, I cant speak highly enough of this hotel . When we left ( a week later than planned) it was with heavy heart as we will miss the staff and all those that we met at Casa de Avila.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen_and_Dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

After staying in hostels throughout South America for most of our trip we decided to treat ourselves to something different and get a nicer hotel for the 4 days we were in Arequipa. It turned out to be no different than a hostel, with some hostels being better. The courtyard is nice but the rooms are average. We were there for 4 days and our room was not cleaned once. We emptied our own trash and had to ask for new towels and toilet paper. The breakfast is self serve which is nice and coffee is always available. While there is nothing terrible about this place, we just expected more.

Room Tip: The rooms have hardwood floors, if you are on the first floor, you will hear the person above you al...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erinandcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando E, Manager at Casa de Avila - For Travellers, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Dear guest, not having a positive opinion like the rest of our guests, calls our attention. Room service and towels are daily served. Except if you don't leave the room or don't leave the key (as stated in our policy). Yes, wood floors are kept from the original construction (1929) following a city rule that requires it. And in our room list you have several options to select, being the bigger the most expensive (king size bed). We apologize for the inconvenience and will correct procedures for not having another confusion with guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

if you are looking for place to feel comfortable, to relax, to be surrounded from a very kind and gentle staff you are right at this place. you can have a rest in the very nice garden, book a spanish or cookingclass, tours,... and feed the 40year old turtle...
i would come back any time!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viennesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
0.5 mi away
Las Torres de Ugarte
Las Torres de Ugarte
#8 of 101 in Arequipa
508 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel
0.3 mi away
Los Tambos
Los Tambos
#2 of 101 in Arequipa
1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Libertador Arequipa
Hotel Libertador Arequipa
#3 of 101 in Arequipa
838 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Arequipa
0.7 mi away
Posada Nueva Espana
Posada Nueva Espana
#10 of 101 in Arequipa
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Avila - For Travellers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Avila - For Travellers

Address: Av San Martin 116 | Vallecito, Arequipa 00001, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 101 Hotels in Arequipa
Price Range: $52 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa de Avila - For Travellers 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de Avila is a beautiful yet affordable Mansion Hostel. With all private rooms circling the courtyard garden. An oasis of green and tranquility. A social room, book exchange library and cafeteria in the garden ar part of the facilities available. Our staff is always willing to help you with your needs. Friendly environment. Several kinds of rooms to fit your needs and budget. All with free WiFi, hot showers 24/7, linen and towels. Very clean. It s also headquarter of the famous Peruvian Cooking Experience, the best hands on activity in the city. We also host a Spanish School. And our tour operator sister company gives us the chance to offer you the best local tours with great prices and service. It’s a family owned business, which in Peru means we have a stronger compromise to serve as best as possible to our guests. Welcome, you are invited to our house! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Casa de Avila - For Travellers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing