We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect place to stay in Arequipa”
Review of Casablanca Hostal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casablanca Hostal
Ranked #31 of 178 Specialty Lodging in Arequipa
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A perfect place to stay in Arequipa”
Reviewed September 29, 2010

I stayed here for two months last year and could not wait to go back and visit. It is such a lovely little hotel with a perfect location and a great atmosphere. The rooms are homely and always clean and the cafe serves great food and smoothies. Definately recommend it, exceptional value for money and really friendly staff.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hlegge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    40
    7
    4
    3
See reviews for
13
43
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2010

Casablanca Hostal is literally just a block away from the main square (Plaza de Armas) in Arequipa, a fantastic location. As we requested, they sent a driver to pick us up from the airport.

The room was very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was fine, but nothing to write home about. Overall, I highly recommend a stay here if you're in Arequipa.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank euph222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2010

I absolutely adored Casablanca Hostal. Not only were the staff extremely accomodating when I wanted to move rooms ( the front rooms can be a bit noisy), but the beds were so comfortable and the place was a gorgeous. Lots of cool artwork, beautiful sillar architecture, with the domed ceilings. I felt like I was taking a step back into time. It was truly a refuge for me after a long day. The open area with many windows offers great views during breakfast, and also, there is a solarium to read and get some sun. It is a darling place with character. Oh yes, hot showers and cable TV in each room. It was only 65 soles a night, a steal, compared to other cities such as Cuzco, Puno, Lima, for what you get. Maria and all the rest of the staff were so kind. Helpful, but gave you your privacy. Free internet is included, though it is extremely slow.

In addition the hostal was very secure. You had to ring a bell to be let in by the staff.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2008

The price is more than 55 PEN a night. A very nice room, but do not stay in the front, that is, near the street if you want quiet. Additionally, I asked twice for the hot water to be turned on but it never happened. This was such a disappointment for an otherwise nice hotel. No hot water drove me away to another hotel, and upon leaving I had to ask for a discount due to the lack of it. Also, what a miserable breakfast: powered coffee, no fruit - only margarine, jam, and bread. This could be such a great hotel.

  • Liked — Location, cleanliness
  • Disliked — No hot water. Lousy breakfast.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank venicesarasota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 17, 2008

We absolutely loved Casablanca hotel and Erika.
She helped us from get medicine for my insect bites to buy bus tickets to the Colca canyon to arrange the river rafting. She is a young charming lady with shy smile. Thank you, Erika!
The hotel is decorated simply but with great taste. The location cannot be any better than that. We thought the price must have be a mistake.
When we came back from the Colca canyon, we felt so good like back home. We loved everything about the hotel.

  • Liked — Clean, big room
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank YayaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Level 6 Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2008

We only stayed two nights here, but I wish it had been more as it was one of the nicest lodgings we had in Peru. An absolutely stunning building, with the sillar architecture that Arequipa is famous for. It felt like we were stepping...or sleeping...back in time! Our room was enormous, yet not cavernous. Very cozy and decorated in a simple, modern style that worked exceptionally well with the architecture. Our bathroom, also, was enormous. No worries about tripping over your luggage here!

Rosendo checked us in and was an absolute gem our entire stay. Erica served us breakfast in the morning and was very helpful. Whatever these employees are being paid, it's not enough, because they are experts in hospitality.

Casablanca is very conveniently located right next to the main Plaza. At first we were concerned it would be a noisy stay because the Plaza is a very busy area and there is lots of traffic right outside the hostal. But the thick walls blocked all noise and we slept very well.

Highly recommended!

  • Liked — Everything: excellent location, value, hosts, and comfort
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank AlaskaJuju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2007

From initially booking the room to the check-out, Casablanca was by far the best lodging experience during our three weeks in South America. At the outset, Erica impressed us with her helpfulness and cheery disposition that we sensed even just through email correspondence. Upon arriving in Arequipa, she met us at the airport to pick us up for free, even though our flight had been delayed for 6 hours, and we didn't arrive until 10 pm on a Sunday. The hotel is situated mere steps from the Plaza de Armas at the most ideal location possible for a fraction of the price of the Sonesta. For $35/night, Erica checked us in to the most amazing room with a high vaulted ceiling and sky light, comfortable furniture, a large bathroom, and of course walls of the traditional white sillar. Before leaving my boyfriend and I to settle in the first night, she brought mate de coca to help us acclimate to the high altitude, a ritual that was repeated every night of our stay. The price of the room included free internet and a full breakfast of eggs, breads, tea, coffee, etc. in a charming nook of the hotel, where there is a rooftop patio to see the vistas of Arequipa. We also went for one night to the Colca Canyon, and Erica arranged the entire trip and stored the bulk of our luggage for us while we were on the excursion. The other two hotel staff were also friendly and incredibly helpful. All things considered, I cannot imagine a better hotel experience. We have never been so well attended at any hotel or hostel in the Americas or Europe, and we would recommend Casablanca without reservation to anyone traveling to Arequipa.

  • Liked — Location, service, quality of accommodation for the price
  • Disliked — I loved everything about the Casablanca!
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MeganVU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
0.3 mi away
La Casa de Melgar Hostal
La Casa de Melgar Hostal
#15 of 99 in Arequipa
391 reviews
0.0 mi away
Katari Hotel at Plaza de Armas
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casona Solar
Hotel Casona Solar
#3 of 173 in Arequipa
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hostal Solar
Hostal Solar
#7 of 173 in Arequipa
154 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Casa De Sillar
La Casa De Sillar
#12 of 178 in Arequipa
103 reviews
0.1 mi away
Catedral Arequipa
Catedral Arequipa
#24 of 178 in Arequipa
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casablanca Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casablanca Hostal

Property: Casablanca Hostal
Address: Bolognesi 104, Arequipa 054, Peru
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 178 Specialty Lodging in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casablanca Hostal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A spectacular colonial house made of white sillar, this charming, small hotel is one of the nicest in Peru and one of the best values, and perfectly located: on the Plaza de Armas (unless you've got a room facing the square and need total quiet). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Casablanca Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing